We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Omni Shoreham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the Omni Shoreham”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Omni Shoreham was the venue for the US Chamber of Commerce - Small Business Summit. This hotel is amazing! I had a very spacious king room. This is a full-service hotel with a top-notch restaurant, bar/lounge, nice outdoor pool for a city hotel, gift shop, jewelry store, and large fitness center. Staff was professional and very courteous. The location is great - close to the zoo, subway, and Georgetown. I would definitely consider staying here again, although it's $$$$. Includes free wifi access if you're an Omni Rewards member.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Many thanks for your complimentary review of The Omni Shoreham. We are delighted that the US Chamber meeting gave you the opportunity to experience our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    1,938
    676
    318
    168
See reviews for
1,656
1,189
270
2,823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We loved the Omni Shoreham from the moment we walked in to its spectacular lobby. We stayed in a classic suite which we found to be spacious and well furnished. There was plenty of hanging space in the walk in closet, which also contained a safe, although I think this was mounted a little high for ease of access if you are not tall- I certainly found it difficult to see inside. The bed was very comfortable, housekeeping very efficient and never intrusive and the room was spotlessly clean. A minor criticism is that the bathroom was a little on the small side, with limited storage for toiletries. Although a hairdryer is provided I wished I had taken my own, as there was no styling attachment.
We found the staff to be excellent 95% of the time, very professional, friendly and courteous and overall providing excellent service. We had breakfast in the hotel several times and thought the food quality and choice to be excellent and fair value for money, with a wide choice of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, and hot food. We tried the diner across the way and, even though breakfast at the Omni was twice the price, we thought the food and breakfast experience to be far more than twice as good, and definitely worth the extra! Although the standard of service was generally very high as I have said, I feel I have to mention the Hungarian lady who served us during breakfast --should any member of Omni customer relations read this review I must say we thought the standard of service she provided, and the pleasant, helpful, non intrusive way she looked after us to be exceptional--she is certainly a real asset to the hotel. We also had dinner at the hotel and, although the menu is a lttle limited, we enjoyed our meal and found the burgers to be especially good.
The hotel gardens are beautiful and provide a great place to relax if you feel like a break from the city, even though the hotel is very large we always found the gardens to be quiet and peaceful. The metro is about two minutes walk from the hotel and really convenient for sightseeing - if you're not familiar with how to operate the ticket machines I would recommend finding out before you go to buy your ticket--there are videos on youtube and the official metro site-- as we got hustled at Union Station when we were trying to work it ou!. To sum up, the Omni has so much going for it that we would not consider staying anywhere else on our next trip to Washington.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curioustravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We are grateful for your glowing review of The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We truly enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed your stay and will be happy to pass your compliments along to our associates. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Although the hotel is a little far out, the centre of Washington is easily accessible using the Metro (nearest station is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel). The hotel is quite spread out, our walk from Reception to our room was longer than the walk to the Metro(!) but it is very well appointed and the staff were very friendly. The "suitcase of games" advertised for child guests is perhaps slightly overstating the actual product, but the complementary milk and cookies were very well received by both my 12-year-old and my 16-year-old.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for your review of The Omni Shoreham. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the metro to make most of DC's attractions easily accessible. We hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited this Omni property on a sight-seeing trip with two of our sons and a nephew. The property however older was very nice and clean being recently renovated. We joined the Omni Select Guest program before the trip and were very pleased with the benefits. We received an email from Katie Stewart the Loyalty Ambassador offering assistance during our visit. When we checked in we had adjacent rooms but decided that adjoining ones would be better. One call to Katie and we were quickly moved to adjoining rooms. The restaurant was very nice but a little pricey especially traveling with the kids. There are several good restaurants close by. The gardens, lobby, pool area and rooms very elegant and the hammocks on the lawn were a nice touch. Even though the hotel is not right in downtown it is 1 ½ block from a Metro station. The trip to downtown on the Metro is only a few minutes. The staff from the parking attendants, bellman, desk clerks housekeeping staff and security (I forgot my room number) were super nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va_natives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed there for three nights just before and during Hurrican Irene. It is definitely great value for the price we paid. The room was large, breakfast buffet was sumptuous, gym was open 24 hours with great selection of equipment, good service etc. The location (about 1-2 miles from Dupont Circle) was very convenient with a great selection of good restaurants all around. Our only gripes were the noisy air conditioning system and the lack of an inroom bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We are glad your stay at the Omni Shoreham went well in spite of Irene's threat to the DC area. We are grateful for your review and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Washington D.C. The service, ambiance and location are all tops in my opinion. First of all it's an older hotel (1930s vintage) with a grand sweeping lobby, archways and chandeliers. So it looks like a place of elegance and importance, and it has hosted presidents, dignitaries and celebrities. Banners in the lobby show historic photos with stories about prominent visitors. The service is impeccable with everyone in the hotel. The location is great - close to the Woodley/Adams Morgan Metro. Your minutes from all the significant DC attractions but away from the extreme congestion of the city. There are many fun restaurants within walking distance. The neighborhood feels safe. We walked it at night with no apprehension (even at 12 midnight). It's also within walking distance of the National Zoo. Plus there is a pleasant swimming pool and courtyard for relaxing in the evening. We are a family with a 13-year-old son. The elegance of the hotel made an impression on our son. On a trip to DC, I would always choose the Omni Shoreham as my top choice.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable and elegant. Beds are the best I've had in a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for considering the Omni Shoreham as your top hotel choice in Washington, DC. We are thankful for your appreciation of our history and for all of your kind words. We are glad your family had a great stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Service really good. Near to metro. Has everything you need. Sign up for free stuff with select guest programme.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,028 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,430 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,026 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing