We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #69 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in Washington”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Sure, there are lots of great hotels in DC, but the Shoreham is unique, historic, and just downright interesting. Unlike the sleeper, modern hotels elsewhere, this one is in a neighborhood with good restaurants within a short walk and two blocks from the METRO. The rooms are large and have high ceilings. All of these things make it a bit like coming home at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckAndLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are glad you feel at home when staying at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. It is our pleasure to provide you with a unique hotel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,584
    2,005
    710
    343
    184
See reviews for
1,761
1,224
279
2,924
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

An elegant Washington hotel and very famous for it's Blue Room function room where the presidential inaugaural ball is always held, Lovely restaurant and reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review of The Omni Shoreham. We are thrilled that you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My fiancee and I hosted a party at the Omni Shoreham so some of her DC friends could meet some of our Philadelphia friends and family. We got the free use of a meeting room, on the condition that we spend a minimum amount on food and drink. Their event services staff were very friendly and competent, and everything went off without a hitch. Everyone agreed that the food (cheese and appetizer trays, passed hot and cold hors d'oeuvres) was delicious.

Of course we spent the night, before and after our party, and had a chance to explore the neighborhood and the city. The metro stop is nearby, so it was easy for us to get down to the mall for a hop-on hop-off bus tour of the museums, monuments, and memorials, the zoo (which is free!) is within easy walking distance, and there are a lot of really good restaurants in the area. Try the Lebanese Taverna, if you like middle eastern food. The hotel restaurant is quite pricey and there are so many other options, it makes more sense to go out.

Our room was lovely -- we asked for a room on a higher floor with a view of the park -- and comfortable. The hotel is very historic, having hosted many famous and important guests and events over the years, and things like the solid wood doors with brass and glass knobs made us feel like we were living in an era of opulence.

The grounds and lobby are lovely and will probably make you feel like you want to stay longer, or come back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openmouthedfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Omni reserved through the Priceline bid process. We paid less than half the rack rate, and were very glad not to have paid a dime more. The hotel location was perfect for us, as we were visiting family in Woodly Park, and used the close-by Metro frequently. We found the lobby and public spaces to be nice, and what you would expect for the area. The room was unfortunately quite a letdown. The towels and robes were worn out, The bathroom counter miniscule and the shelf over the toilet was not a good option for placing personal items. The internet service was non-existent the entire stay. Yes, it's a historic hotel, but the evidence of wear and tear in the rooms was neither quaint or charming.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank staceyag118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Your mention of our historic nature truly does play a part in the size of our bathrooms but there is no excuse for the towels and robes not to have been in good condition. We will remind our housekeeping team of the importance of inspecting all items before having them placed in the room. Please accept our apologies for this oversight and for the issues you experienced with wireless internet. We are making ongoing enhancements to our network but regret that it was not available for your use. Thank you for allowing us to understand where we have room for improvement and we hope we have a future opportunity to provide you with an experience that exceeds all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel has a beautiful dining room and the food is good. Staff is knowledgable and helpful. Large rooms and bathrooms. The best view from my room was the window in the bathroom which overlooked the large park behind the hotel. Although the room was very large, the placement of the bed was not very well thought out - right in front of the door which meant all hallway noise was all too present - especially when there was so much space to choose from . . .None of this is particularly problematic - just prevents a good hotel from being great.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the back overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. All insights are helpful to us and your comments about bed placement are useful as we make enhancements to the hotel. We believe every detail counts but are glad that overall you had a great stay. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel was perfect, staff very helpful. Great location, I became Omni select member, got free internet and drinks each morning. Also emailed select services before trip, they were great, we were given large room with lovely view.
Metro only very short walk. Very easy to use to get to all the sites.
Lots of great restaurants just across the road. Particularly City Diner which even had a gluten free menu, reasonable prices and great breakfasts.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrasemx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for recommending The Omni Shoreham on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Omni Shoreham is a grand hotel located in the Northwest corner of DC. The lobby is large and impressive and a fun place to sit and people watch. The clientele is a vast mix of high society, business people, and regular tourist. All are treated with the same courtesy by the hotel staff.

Our room was in the Parkview which is a section of hotel off to the far right looking towards the bridge and Rock Creek Park. It was a long walk to our room but the area was quiet at night. The room itself wasn’t large (rooms in the main hotel seem to be larger) but it was very well appointed and comfortable. It felt very clean and maid service was provided daily.

Within the hotel, food is very expensive. A cereal cup was $4 at the small lobby store. An easy alternative was to venture 5 minutes up the road to a small market to buy a box of cereal ($2.75) and a container of milk ($3.49). We requested a refrigerator so we could keep the breakfast items properly chilled. The fridge was delivered within 10 minutes and there was no extra charge. Robert’s Restaurant (located in the hotel) does provide a very nice breakfast buffet for $21. There are also some great local restaurants that offered nice fresh breakfasts.

The pool was open and heated and they provide the towels. The gardens were beautifully in bloom and there were multiple areas in which to sit and relax including a couch surrounding a firepit and some lovely hammocks to enjoy an afternoon nap if you are so inclined (I was).

The area of Woodley Park where the hotel is located provides some great shops (Local Market, CVS) and lots of different food choices for restaurants. It was nice to stay in a hotel that had some local ambiance rather than being locked in downtown near the Capitol where everything shuts down at 6pm. The National Zoo is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel and the Metro (subway) is only a 2 minute walk away. It was very easy to navigate. We purchased a $15 passcard and easily got around DC this way.

Parking at the hotel is valet only and expensive but if you fly in, they have shuttles to the two airports. A cab ride from Reagan National was $25 with tip.

I would most definitely stay at the Omni Shoreham again. We enjoyed everything about it, inside and out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything about your recent stay at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share what may your stay special and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,142 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
2,534 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing