We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start on our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights. This classic hotel is situated at the outskirts of central D.C., however it is close to the metro station (red line). Taxis can get you into much of central D.C. in under 10 minutes. Although the hotel is from the 1930s, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Our only complaint is the bathroom which was tiny! There is a pool area at the hotel, however it is very crowded. We had signed up to the Select Guest programme before our stay. This is free, and by giving your email address you qualify for free wifi, a daily newspaper and a free drink delivered to your room every morning. Also you can qualify for free nights if staying for 10 nights plus within a year. The elevators are very small and old, but this was not a problem for us staying at the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We are glad you stay at the Omni Shoreham was a positive kickoff for your vacation. Thank you for all of your kind words and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,680 - 5,686 of 7,198 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I just got back from our first trip to DC, and stayed at the Omni Shoreham for three nights. We absolutely loved the hotel. Check-in was a breeze, I was stunned by the enormity of the hotel from the outside, yet the intimate feel from the lobby. It was a very quick walk to the metro (although this metro station has the steepest, scariest escalator that I saw in DC, be aware!) Our room was large and airy with a nice view of the pool. We used the pool each day (the weather was extremely hot and humid and we did A LOT of walking), and it was not overly crowded despite the hotel looking pretty full. The only downfall was the elevator situation. I don’t mind taking the stairs (good workout), and our room was only on floor 2…. but I can see how this would be a problem for people with kids, or elderly, or basically anyone that stayed above floor 2! The elevators were extremely slow and only held 4-5 adults, we never had the patience to wait past the five plus minutes that it took.... and the stairs were small and windy, might be difficlt for some. Would it prevent me from staying here again? Absolutely not, we will most definitely be back, we really enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: go low, you may be taking the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel during your first visit to Washington, DC. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and also appreciate your comments regarding the elevators. Although we are glad the speed didn't detract from your stay we do understand how it could be difficult for some. The elevators are original to the hotel and have carried an impressive number of people with historic significance. If you or any of our guests ever have a concern we are happy to work with you to make sure that you are in a room that requires less reliance on the elevators for access. Thank you again for sharing on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at the Omni for three days while attending a conference at the Wardman Park Marriott. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The lobby is huge, gorgeous, opulent and breathtaking. Check in was incredibly quick and professional. My room was huge and very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable...almost too comfortable:-) The bathroom is a bit on the small side but that wasn't a problem for me. My safe wasn't working when I arrived but one quick call to the front desk and it was taken care of in no time. There are lots of nice restaurants to eat at within a short walking distance. The Adams Morgan district is a nice stroll away and the National Zoo is less than a 10 minute walk.

I ate at both the hotel restaurant and the lounge. The service in the lounge was great and the food was tasty. I had one issue with this hotel and that was the restaurant. About half way through my lunch I noticed there was a fly in my wine...blech! So I informed the server who whisked the glass away without even asking me if I wanted another (which I didn't) however about 5 minutes later she comes back with another glass of wine which I didn't/couldn't drink. At the very least I expected the wine to be taken off the bill but it wasn't. Other than that issue, I really have no complaints about this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12lifeisahighway34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Omni Shoreham on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great stay but apologize that we didn't address the issue with your wine differently. If you return, please do not hesitate to let one of our managers know if any concerns arise so that we can make sure they are addressed to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was my first time staying at the Shoreham, but I doubt that it will be my last. It's a little further away from the main part of D.C. but the Metro is nearby so it's just a quick ride to the Capitol. The lobby is very nice as is the restaurant and the hotel bar. The room was nice, but not quite as luxurious as others that I've stayed in while in town. But the relaxed atmosphere more than makes up for it. The room was very clean and had all of the normal amenities. The bathroom was a little on the small size, but that really didn't matter much to me. The meeting rooms were nice and large and had all of the normal amenities that one would need or expect in order to hold large gatherings. We had about 100 people for a 2 day conference and it went off without a hitch. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room that I had didn't have much of a view of any kind. My window looked down into the mech...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We are glad your conference went without a hitch and we appreciate your glowing recommendation of the Omni Shoreham. We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just come back from our 2nd trip to the Omni. Staff very helpful, courteous & friendly. We were given the same room as last trip, in the new part of the hotel by the gardens. Very peaceful grounds, you would never think you were so close to DC. Restaurants and Metro within a 5 minute walk so easy to get into Grand Union station for access to the monuments etc.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel faces a busy road so if you want peace and quiet ask for the new part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutherlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for returning to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you had another great stay and we are also looking forward to your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Had great visit here - had wonderful corner room which was HUGE - close to the tube/tram but away from the centre so lovely and quiet - very friendly informative staff - lovely walk nearby in the park

Room Tip: Our corner room was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We will be back. When we arrived our kids were given a goody bag and when we returned from dinner cookies and milk had been delivered for them. Exceptional staff that is very attentive. One block to the Metro makes this a great place to stay with the family while visiting the sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We are thrilled to hear that you plan to return to the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are glad you had a great stay and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
2,633 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,241 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £77 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing