We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of reservations - check your credit card”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Called 800 number to make a reservation for upcoming December event. Agent said there were rooms available. Gave information to book and hold reservation. Then agent said room no longer available. He said reservation couldn't be made. I recently received my American Express bill. Fortunately, I checked it and found a charge for nearly $1100 that I didn't recognize. 2 hours later after a number if calls, I found that the reservation agent had billed my credit card despite telling me he couldn't make the reservation . As a further note- even had he made the reservation it was not supposed to be pre- paid and the amount quoted would have only been about half of what was put on my credit card. Would never make a reservation with this chain again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank iove2travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear "love2travel55,"

Thank you very much for your time. I am sorry to learn of this very concerning situation. The moment we received your feedback via TripAdvisor we tried to contact you for more information but have not, as of yet, heard back from you. We have scoured our recent reservation and accounting records and, without much other information, cannot see any such activity as described in your review. I sincerely hope you will contact us and allow us the opportunity to resolve this. We would not charge a guest under the circumstance you describe.

Thank you.

Tom Kermabon
Hotel Manager
(202) 756-5102

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,904 - 4,910 of 7,284 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Superb staff and total quality amenities. The location was great and very close to numerous restaurants that are just a short walking distance away. The organization of the staff made a conference at this hotel a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I attended a wedding here in the late-1980s, and the property had definitely "faded." This old hotel has been beautifully renovated by Omni. Service was warm and friendly at front desk, valet parking, housekeeping, and in the restaurant, where we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet.

The room was elegantly decorated, comfortable, spacious, and quiet.

The location is perfect for a couple of reasons: it's in the city, but not in the busiest part, so it's easy to drive to; and, the Woodley Park Metro stop is just steps from the front door, providing easy connection to Dupont Circle and the Mall area on the Red Line.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwmsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Loved every aspect of it: grand lobby, big rooms, exceptional food and service, reasonable rent except for parking. The car was retrieved promptly but $42/day for too high. Would definitely return there on my next trip to DC

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank UMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Omni Shoreham. It is a huge hotel with a glamorous past. The rooms are big and comfortable. We stayed there twice. Once we had connecting rooms. Both rooms were extra big. They had walk-in closets. The bathrooms were not cramped. On another occasion we had a family suite and it was wonderful. Separate dining room and living room arrangement was beautiful. We loved the walk-in closets in the family suite. This is the perfect hotel for an extended stay. The room with the pool view was really nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Every time we asked for something they took care of it right away. We ordered room service, the portions were very generous and the food was delicious....The beautifully landscaped back yard, and the flower beds around the driveway were noteworthy. Valet parking was efficient. Wi-fi worked great. Best of all, the location is unbeatable! Since parking is difficult in D.C., we preferred walking. There are many good restaurants nearby the hotel...You can find a few small convenience stores and a CVS pharmacy within walking distance. Omni Hotel is located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood. It is close to many attractions...Highly recommended!...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hacer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Four-night conference stay. Every aspect of the stay was great. Staff was efficient and friendly. Room was great. Bed was very comfortable. Easy access to the subway. Lots of great restaurants and shops within a short walk. Would likely stay here for a long weekend fun visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbwayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Omni is a great place to stay when visiting Washington DC. There are restaurants within walking distance and the metro is one block away. The breakfast buffet was delicious and there is a lot of variety to choose from. The fitness center was great and the outdoor pool looked nice but is was closed due to the season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Erwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
2,646 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing