We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, depending on room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel, depending on room”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Omni Shoreham is an interesting hotel. It was built in 1930, which generally is code for "get ready for weird odors, strange proportions, and zero soundproofing." (Ok, I guess I should be taken by the history, the unique accents, the grandness and whatnot, but I prioritize creature comforts first.) Ultimately we had a very good stay here.

Good stuff:
* If you find the right room, this place rocks. We spent 4 nights in 697, which which extremely private, quiet and spacious.
* The staff is excellent (front desk, valet, room service.)
* The rooms were nice, considering the age. (See photos.)
* The lobby feels "alive." There were several events going on, the restaurants were busy, etc. This is a good sign considering how deep into off-season we were.
* The neighborhood was really nice and safe. We took several walks in the area.
* The price was right. Shop GHA and Omni flash sales for good last-minute prices.

Bad stuff:
* The first room we had (in the middle of the hotel) was noisy. Really noisy. If you get this sort of thing, ask to be moved, because habituation doesn't improve your mood.
* Our light in the closet of the first room randomly turned on and off when the door was closed. Google auto-complete reveals that there is some haunting mystique to this hotel (for the Ghost suite only), but our first room had the same symptom. Boo!

Overall, I'd totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If you don't get it, ask again. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,402
    1,909
    663
    307
    160
See reviews for
1,621
1,177
265
2,777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

on our first visit to the wonderful Capital City, my wife and I were very impressed with the Omni Shoreham. the Hotel was impressive- excellent room,lovely lobby and gardens. Very convenient for the subway to Washington and ideal location for eating out at night. The staff were very friendly. In all,the hotel offered true value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukangiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My stay at the hotel was of a business nature. While the staff at the hotel were very hospitable, the quality of the room had a lot to be desired. The bathroom was gross, the room drafty and not an overall good experience. The first morning, I showered with a hand towel because they left NO washcloths and had to open the window to vent the steam from showering which makes for a cold experience in December. For a hotel who once hosted the Presidential Inaugural Ball, I am truly disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Saberina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Saberina B,

I was disappointed to read about the state of your bathroom and our oversight regarding towels. There is no excuse and I'm truly sorry that we missed the mark. Please know that your comments are valuable to us and will be shared with our housekeeping and engineering teams. Your confidence in our hotel is important to us and I truly hope we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that meets all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
nholmes@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern MD, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Hotel was decorated for the Holidays and quite lovely. My favorite thing was the bed...so comfortable. The bathroom was freezing and with the marble tile, the cold temperature made it worse. So slippers are in order. Also we could very clearly hear the guest room next to us showering...a bit weird. Otherwise our stay was really nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chacarra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Omni Shoreham and were very pleased. The hotel lobby was elegant and beautifully decorated for the holidays. We were given a corner room that was also very beautiful. The concierge, Scott Nichols was very accomodating and gave us suggestions to make our next stay even better! He granted a late check out without question. Pointer for people looking to stay for the first time - sign up for the Select Guest program ahead of time. Doing so will enable you to receive free wireless internet as well as morning beverage service. The beverage service allows you to leave an order slip on your door for either coffee, tea, juice or soda and it will be delivered at a predetermined time. It was a really nice touch! The lounge is very cozy and a really nice place to sit and enjoy a nightcap. It was a great weekend trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank flyerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It is a beautiful hotel, full with history and many details that will leave you astonish! The service is excellent! I loved staying at this hotel. Is very relaxing and it is close to all the fun places in Washington DC!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank VANESSA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We got a great rate, better than a Courtyard, and stayed in a luxury hotel. Christmas decorations were beautiful. All the staff but the concierge were extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was well appointed. On line check in meant our room was ready at 1 p.m. when we arrived.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ann46881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing