We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I didn’t travel with family, but this hotel hits the mark if you are going to bring yours. It’s close by to the zoo and the outdoor pool area has plenty of room to roam.

The property is spacious and so are the rooms (the largest room I have stayed in during my visits to DC). The front desk staff was a pleasure to interact with upon my welcome and departure.

It is nice that there is a metro stop fairly close, as I didn’t feel like I was too far away from the many activities to do elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharksfansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,863 - 4,869 of 7,292 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Not a long cab ride from National Airport. Many restaurants with a vast variety of cuisines around the hotel and within walking distance. Hotel has been refurbished and the rooms still could use a little more "love". The rooms were clean and quiet. Even though the rooms around me were non-smoking the people next door were smoking on the balcony and the smell came right into my room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Omni Shoreham is a historic gem in the city. It's convenient, elegant and luxurious! As soon as you set foot in the lobby you'll be transported back in time to an era far away from the frenetic pace that defines modern day life, yet the hotel has every modern amenity you could ask for. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank TallulahBkhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Omni Shoreham is an interesting hotel. It was built in 1930, which generally is code for "get ready for weird odors, strange proportions, and zero soundproofing." (Ok, I guess I should be taken by the history, the unique accents, the grandness and whatnot, but I prioritize creature comforts first.) Ultimately we had a very good stay here.

Good stuff:
* If you find the right room, this place rocks. We spent 4 nights in 697, which which extremely private, quiet and spacious.
* The staff is excellent (front desk, valet, room service.)
* The rooms were nice, considering the age. (See photos.)
* The lobby feels "alive." There were several events going on, the restaurants were busy, etc. This is a good sign considering how deep into off-season we were.
* The neighborhood was really nice and safe. We took several walks in the area.
* The price was right. Shop GHA and Omni flash sales for good last-minute prices.

Bad stuff:
* The first room we had (in the middle of the hotel) was noisy. Really noisy. If you get this sort of thing, ask to be moved, because habituation doesn't improve your mood.
* Our light in the closet of the first room randomly turned on and off when the door was closed. Google auto-complete reveals that there is some haunting mystique to this hotel (for the Ghost suite only), but our first room had the same symptom. Boo!

Overall, I'd totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If you don't get it, ask again. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

on our first visit to the wonderful Capital City, my wife and I were very impressed with the Omni Shoreham. the Hotel was impressive- excellent room,lovely lobby and gardens. Very convenient for the subway to Washington and ideal location for eating out at night. The staff were very friendly. In all,the hotel offered true value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukangiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My stay at the hotel was of a business nature. While the staff at the hotel were very hospitable, the quality of the room had a lot to be desired. The bathroom was gross, the room drafty and not an overall good experience. The first morning, I showered with a hand towel because they left NO washcloths and had to open the window to vent the steam from showering which makes for a cold experience in December. For a hotel who once hosted the Presidential Inaugural Ball, I am truly disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Saberina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Saberina B,

I was disappointed to read about the state of your bathroom and our oversight regarding towels. There is no excuse and I'm truly sorry that we missed the mark. Please know that your comments are valuable to us and will be shared with our housekeeping and engineering teams. Your confidence in our hotel is important to us and I truly hope we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that meets all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

Nicole Holmes
Loyalty Manager
nholmes@omnihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Hotel was decorated for the Holidays and quite lovely. My favorite thing was the bed...so comfortable. The bathroom was freezing and with the marble tile, the cold temperature made it worse. So slippers are in order. Also we could very clearly hear the guest room next to us showering...a bit weird. Otherwise our stay was really nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chacarra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
2,647 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
329 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,277 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing