We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Shoreham- old world elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #77 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The OMNI was an excellent experience for our family. The hotel has a beautiful interior, and our room was great. We had a large closet and a dressing area. We used the Zoo package rate, so parking and breakfast was included. The breakfast was great every morning. The staff was always friendly and helpful,and we enjoyed the neighborhood and its close proximity to the metro. Our entire family enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,705 - 4,711 of 7,170 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at the Omni in Washington, D.C. over the Christmas holidays. The room was comfortable and pleasant, staff friendly and courteous, and restaurant elegant and spacious. The hotel also has a wonderful location, close to the metro and lots of fun little restaurants. Had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel is very nice, historic and good location near zoo. Don't accept the room near the elevator if they give it to you. Way too loud. Valet parking may get a screw in your tire. Don't use it. And when you speak to them about it, as nice as they sound, they will not call back. Sunday brunch is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I just love this hotel. Spacious rooms, gracious decor, real closets -- with padded hangers for sweaters! -- and such a grand feel. I imagine I'm a 1930s movie star every time I stay here. Yet it never feels "dated"; more like a classic that never goes out of style. The hotel also has just enough modern amenities for today's traveler, including WiFi (free if you're an Omni Select member), room safes large enough for laptops, an ambient music channel for working/relaxing, etc. My only quibble is the early and inflexible cancellation deadline of 2pm day of arrival, which left people with cancelled evening flights due to Winter Storm Hercules paying for rooms they did not occupy. This is such a service glitch in an otherwise fine hotel.

With that policy caveat, the Omni Shoreham is a gracious hotel and such an oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We attended the New Year's Ball and stayed overnight. It was a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, probably the best I've encountered in a while (and I travel a lot, domestically and internationally) especially considering it was a major holiday when many of them perhaps wished to be elsewhere. The hotel is very pretty--inside. Outside, the building is just a brown non-descript structure. (It's DC, not Las Vegas!) The elevators on the West side are small, but that just speaks of the historic nature of the building. The room was clean and tastefully decorated, although I noticed a few spots in which the wallpaper was peeling away from the wall. The bathroom is a bit small too, but again, that is to be expected in a hotel built in the 1930's. Everything (within the room and in the common areas) was well stocked and comfortably arranged. The hallways were quiet at all times (I feared they wouldn't be...with such a huge NYE celebration downstairs...) and we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of a Metro station and just off major highways. The New Year's Ball was very well planned and managed. I assume the catering was provided by the hotel, and I have to say, the food was surprisingly good, especially the superbly roasted leg of lamb, a treat I did not expect at such a huge event! There were many meatless options too, all tasty, and I appreciated the "international cuisine" flair. The "open bar" options were...open bar quality: plentiful, well stocked, well serviced, just not top shelf, of course. After having a couple of "free" drinks, we walked to the hotel bar to have a proper drink. Cocktails were reasonably priced and well-crafted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Iraida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've stayed at motels for the same quality but a much cheaper price. I had a two double beds in my room. The comforters were really nice but the light shines too brightly in the room and can't be blocked out with curtains. There's only a sheer curtain to "block" out the sunlight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent hotel accomd. good service, good personal attitudes, excellent food, excellent service, very friendly...lots of restaurants and facilities within the immediate area...zoo not far, parking is expensive but there is also the street

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 142 in Washington DC
2,619 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#43 of 142 in Washington DC
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
1,277 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £62 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing