We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni is Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Love visiting Omni Hotels, and being a part of their Select Guest program. Always welcoming, and comfortable - do yourself a favor and stay here! I was very happy with the location as well as the room I stayed in while here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,561 - 4,567 of 7,187 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited for both business and weekend fun. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The concierge recommended a couple of cool local restaurants, as well as cheerfully provided me with some after hours printing services. We enjoyed Sunday brunch room service, which wasn't particularly spectacular, but satisfying none-the-less. The mattress and linens were the most comfortable I have enjoyed in awhile and I slept very well here. I also love the history and the architecture. The old world grand scale provided a lovely backdrop for our stay. They definitely need to update the windows, as I could feel the cold March air coming through, but a fluffy bathroom towel rolled up at the sill was a fine trick. My friend parked a car in their lot for two nights, which allowed us to walk to nearby DuPont Circle and then we pressed on in our walking shoes to Georgetown. We had a lovely time and I would return here anytime I am in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phloxMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Of the three US hotels I visited on this trip, the Omni Shoreham was my least favourite. Unlike the other two, I'm sure the Shoreham would be classified as 'luxurious', and I could simply say that it wasn't my cup of tea (literally, see below) and leave it at that. You don't get the feeling that the proprietors and managers take pride in their hotel. For one thing, the Shoreham is somewhat overpriced as most things in DC tend to be. For these rates I would expect more hospitality. Surely you could eg afford to offer free wifi in the rooms without forcing your guests to join a loyalty programme. As a satisfied customer I should want to join because my visit was so pleasurable, not be forced to join in exchange for a very basic service. The building itself is quite nice, from the 1930s I would imagine, and central DC is easily accessible by Metro. The vast lobby and dining room look like a scene from 'The Shining'. At least some effort has been made to decorate the rather spacious rooms to honour the architecture. There are expensively framed sepia photographs of DC on the walls, the kind of prints you find in airline magazines. But once again, at these prices you could afford to support your local artists and get some original art instead. The coffee making facilities were rudimentary, and there weren't enough bags of black tea to serve both inhabitants of the room. Saving on tea bags is probably not a viable model in the hospitality business. The fan of the antiquated air conditioning unit was very noisy. But the most ridiculous feature of all was an empty space in the room nearly the size of a small student flat that for some incomprehensible reason they had decided to decorate with a huge and ugly treadmill. I'm sure they have space for a gym somewhere in this big hotel. I'm told that the conferencing facilities are good. The concierge was priceless. He loved his home town and gave tips and advice to visitors accordingly. If only the hotel proprietors and managers had even half his love for their own establishment, then things could look much better.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We arrived to a disorganized valet service and hesitantly handed our keys over. In entering our room, we found dried urine on the toilet seat. Had to call twice and walk down to the front desk to get help. We never heard from a manager, no offer to change rooms-nothing. We checked out and let them know the problem. They "fixed" the situation with free parking??The main service of a hotel is to provide a clean room! Paying for a dirty hotel room isnt rectified with free parking. Got our car from the valet-back seat was flipped down, no explanation why. Emailed management and response dropped off. Worst. Service. Ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkermabon, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Kryshanna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of the details of your stay through TripAdivsor. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with the cleanliness of your guest bathroom, valet services and promptness of management to rectify the situation in a timely manner. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate department heads for remediation.

As a well respected luxury property in the District, it is our goal to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. I am embarrassed to hear that we have fallen short of this standard. It is crucial for us to absorb your feedback so that we can make the appropriate corrections to strengthen our service standards.

We certainly would like to make this up to you. I ask that you contact me directly so that I can manage your next reservation to ensure you receive an appropriate and upgraded accommodation.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Brooke Romm
LID-Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Omni Shoreham has many very good features - its location is good, rooms are generous and have everything one would require. Yet, it does feel very dated and is a bit tired in some areas - especially the décor. I would have rated the hotel very good had it not been for the wifi charges (which I think should come as standard) and the fact that my room was incredibly cold even with the heating on (leaky windows).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our room was on the 2nd floor. It is big and clean. The building itself is an antique. So sound-proof system is not that good. We could hear people talking in the hallway from the room. And I bet our kids were probably heard by half of the guests there! LOL!
The hotel is located at a convennient place for dinning and grocery shopping. The valet parking is alittle over-priced: $42; but it is very covennient and safe.
If there was a microwave in the room, it would have made our stay even better since we had a toddler, who only drinks warm milk.
Plus it is fun to know there were so many celebrities lived there! I wouldn't mind returning at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestRachae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel is beautiful, great area, close to metro, sights and restaurants. Check in was a bit of a hassle so if you are going on business make sure you have a business credit card in your name because even with a credit card authorization, it was still an issue. Be careful with the valet service because they moved our car from one spot to another for no reason and they could not tell us why they moved it. Also, don't expect timely service for the room. Never stayed in a hotel before where they want to clean your room at 6:30pm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
2,630 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,318 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,238 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £65 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing