We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Historic, but poor quality rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Historic, but poor quality rooms”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

They no longer seem to pay attention to the details beyond the lobby area. Bathroom was very small and not very clean. The room had ceiling paint that was peeling. Nice mini fridge and safe. Not a good chair at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nittany1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,521
    1,971
    692
    330
    178
See reviews for
1,716
1,203
273
2,874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is difficult to find a decent place to stay in the Washington DC area that is close enough to the attractions but far away enough for affordability. A friend recommended the Omni Shoreham and it was a lovely place to reside while touring the nation's capital. The rooms are spacious and perfect for a family of four. My son and daughter are too old to sleep in the same bed but not old enough to have a separate room. The mini suite has queen size beds (for my 6'3'' husband) and a sizable pull out sofa for one of the kids. Every night they delivered milk and gigantic chocolate chip cookies. My children loved the pool and it is shallow enough for even my youngest to play in comfortably. We dined at the hotel restaurant once but it was pricey so we took turns trying different eateries in the surrounding Adams-Morgan area. However, the breakfast buffet was excellent and ate that every morning. The coffee was strong (just how we like it), the selection was excellent and even the berries for the oatmeal were extremely fresh. The price is quite high but it fortified us for a morning of sight seeing. the subway is one block away but be warned: the escalator to get down to the platform is EXTREMELY steep, long and deep. I dreaded it everyday. Proper etiquette means to keep to the right as you stand on it as the left is used for regulars who walk down in a hurry. The attendants are quite helpful in learning how to pay for and navigate the system - don't be afraid to ask. It's the perfect location for the zoo which is free.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the pool and it was a great view. Also, the Omni occassionally has weekend de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseYRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Driving up I was not impressed, it looked like an old apartment building but once you encounter the polite bellman and the GRANDIOSE lobby you will realize where you are. Fit for kings and VIPs the chandeliers abound and the view into the park is heavenly!!! You must at least have a coffee on the patio and overlook the vast fountains and grounds. The Breakfast buffet was perfect, with a vast selection and an absolutely beautiful grand dining room. The lobby has lots of formal sitting room. As you enter the old school elevators you should know what to expect in your room...come on Omni, tired and probably use "antique" as an excuse these rooms should be updated. Bathrooms were tiny, barely can fit two people at a time but the closet was huge and there was a large dressing area...inefficient use of space. I expect better from the rooms, but the Omni select guest perks and the vast and beautiful grounds made up for it.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prissywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a grand hotel, perfect if you want to be outside of the city action, but less than ideal if you want to be near the sites of DC. I have stayed hear several times, however, I and have always been impressed by the atmosphere and hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Travelled there in June 2014 with my family of four and really enjoyed our stay. The location is in a very safe neighborhood and close (literally a block or two) to a variety restaurants including local ethnic fare, fast food, and sit down dining. If you've never been to DC there is no one central location you can stay and be within walking distance to all the sites. The major attractions are spread out all over the city, the public transportation system is excellent in DC but with that said bring some comfortable shoes as you will be doing a lot of standing and walking even if you plan to take advantage of the transport.

Pros - The day we arrived we had just missed POTUS by a couple of hours as he was at the hotel making a speech. How cool is that?

The large lobby is classically decorated and has a stately if not slightly dated feel. The front desk was prompt and friendly, check in was quick but not rushed.

The room was incredibly spacious, complete with a full walk in closet, and a separate powder room leading to the bath. A comfortable arm chair, and a desk with plenty of outlets for all those gadgets complete the room. We had a view that overlooked the pool area which was nice.

The pool area was well maintained with a free form pool, large spa, and ample seating. It was nice to have multiple seating choices with beach style lounge chairs for the sun worshipers (my wife and teenage daughter) and umbrella covered tables and chairs for those not chasing a tan (my son and I). Large beach style towels are available for use at the pool entrance.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly and professional.

Cons - staying in a high rent area like this is bound to be expensive and I expected that but in my humble opinion the food and drink prices were almost laughably high and out of touch with price point of the room. Mind you my only experience with the food service was at the pool bar / restaurant where one would expect to pay a premium but $4.50 cans of soda and $19.00 burgers is a bit over the top.

Overall, great building, great staff, and extremely comfortable beds. Great location close to public transportation and numerous off site dining options. My advice stay here and enjoy the facilities but take a brief walk for your meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duns1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My stay at the Omni Shoreham was nice. It was my second stay. The privileges as a member (free to sign up and receive) are excellent, but you may have to remind someone to some items to your room. I was able to check in early both stays. My second room was missing a nightstand - probably wouldn't bother someone who is staying alone but you don't realize how much you miss something like that until it's gone. The beds are always super comfy. The elevators are not for you if you are claustrophobic; they are dark, small, and without air temperature control. The hotel is close to Adams Morgan and there are many shopping/dining areas nearby. The metro station is a block away as well. I enjoy the Omni in general - the guest member services make it feel very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We brought our five year old granddaughter for a visit to DC. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and honestly we could not have asked for better! A quick walk to the zoo. Taxis always lined up and ready for anywhere else you'd like to go. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing