We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a 9 day break in the USA with my wife and 2 daughters (26,20). We stayed in Washington for the first 3 days (fri-sun) and the hotel was just perfect. The rooms were spacious and well presented in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful ( British Airways lost our baggage) especially Scott, the senior concierge who helped us chase down our luggage. It costs between $15 -$20 for a taxi ride down to the Mall where lots of the historic attractions are located. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice and plentiful supply. The hotel has a rich history and has hosted many a famous visitor. I am looking forward to my next trip to DC and this will be the first hotel I will look up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westbub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,197 - 4,203 of 7,192 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a short family vacation in DC. This is a huge hotel and everything is first class including a super pool. There are irritants - No free WiFi in the room and the supposed free connection available in the lobby is frustrating slow to the point that it is a waste of time. Just about to jump in the shower on the first morning and no Shampoo in the room. 20 minutes passed before one was provided. Overall though, this is a top class spot to stay and I'd come back for sure. It is close to everything and has a great park at the back for walking/jogging if one desires.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from traffic and got one on the east side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is a great example of an older hotel that can be even better than a new hotel because it is kept nice and managed well. All of the history here is interesting and the quality of the service is top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank righteous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wasn't too impressed when we arrived, not the most attractive hotel from the outside, but it does have an impressive lobby. If you are asked if you want a double or twin, take the twin ! The double we went to was a horrid corner room, which was more like a cupboard. When I asked to be moved the man on reception was more than accommodating and gave us a room with a balcony . Downsides, long bland corridors on the room floors, bland decor in both rooms, our larger room was great but had a massive empty area which was screaming for a sofa. All the staff were very good, but we had one funny incident . For those of us who had no idea, the Beatles stayed there for there very first American concert! Which is displayed in windows on the front entrance and in the ground floor lobbies leading into both wings and they recently had a 50th anniversary celebration . My husband said to the waitress In the drinks lounge "so the Beatles stayed here then"? "Who? Sorry I've never heard I'd them". My husband replied " the Beatles!! One of the most famous bands in the world!". " No sorry, I've never heard of them, it was my day off yesterday and we are a very busy hotel". Priceless, you really couldn't make that up, although, staff training might have been amiss, as it would appear that most famous people and presidents alike have stayed there since it was built , and are blazoned pretty much everywhere on the ground floor, some people really do just go to work! Excellent location from the subway takes you straight into the centre of DC and very cheap. And there are a cluster of restaurants across the street, we'll worth a visit. Great choice and a must visit dunkin donuts. The pool area was really nice and the gardens, we didn't use the pool, only staying two nights we only discovered the gardens on the day we were leaving. Would probably stay there again

Room Tip: For a better room ask for a twin with balcony, the one we had did look out over the front, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelleandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here with our two young boys, both under 10 years old, on a recent 4-day getaway to Washington, D.C. The hotel was part of a hotel/airfare package, and was incredibly affordable. The hotel is located in a great spot, just off the Woodley Park metro stop and just a few blocks from the National Zoo (we walked there twice during the stay!). Plus there are many restaurants within a block, as well as a CVS for supplies. The room was clean and extremely quiet, with a fridge and microwave, and the pool was terrific. It was wonderful coming back to the beautiful lobby at the end of a long, hot day at the zoo or in the city! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Keep the shades closed to help the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upstate_NewYorker_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just stayed at the Omni Shoreham hotel for 4 days with twin 8 year olds. Great outdoor pool open late until 10pm. This is the reason I chose it. They swam every night after our day of sight seeing and museums. It is a bit off the beaten track from downtown D.C. but a quick metro ride (2 stops) and lovely area with lots of restaurants. My only negative is that I wish it was closer to the city and that the elevators were renovated. They are older and slow. Very old world charm to hotel similar to Waldorf Astoria in NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I got this on a 24-hour deal: deluxe king size room normally $169 per night, reduced to $99. Dubious, I booked anyway. Was blown away by stunning lobby etc but suspected my room would be a broom cupboard. Not at all. It was luxurious with more than I could have wished for. Spacious, most comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, and a balcony. Staff can't do enough for you, grounds beautiful, pool fantastic even with waiter service, never too busy, just a treat all round. Location perfect, just 3minute walk to metro, great local bars and restaurants. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I was in 504 E. Couldn't fault it. Not all rooms have a balcony so if you want one, ask - but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
2,632 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,323 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing