We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical Omni stay......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Central California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your typical Omni stay......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying, the Omni Shoreham is beautiful property, in a very convenient location to metro line. Such easy access to all major city destinations. Aside from these attributes, I was disappointed for the first time in an Omni property. I felt as if staff was courteous, but nothing exceptional. The housekeeping was horrific. Never have I placed four sets of towels/wash clothes on the floor (post use) to return after housekeeping & find those same used linens draped over the shower rod & across the towel bars. The most appalling part of this demonstration is the it was performed three of our five night stay. Yuck!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kywahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,253
    1,836
    618
    293
    147
See reviews for
1,504
1,134
260
2,657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crompond, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is an historic hotel with large rooms which is rare for older hotels. I've stayed at this hotel many times and always enjoy it. The staff is extremely friendly, the room clean and the food good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great time at the Omni Shoreham. The room was elegant, the hotel had great amenities, and the grounds are beautiful. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, hammocks to relax in, fire pit to sit around in the evening! Hotel is in walking distance to the national zoo and many delicious restaurants. We took advantage of the splash package which included, parking, breakfast at Robert's restaurant, morning beverage in room, and discount at the pool cafe. They even give children a backpack and milk and cookies at bedtime on the first night! We had wonderful service during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My brothers and I met in D.C. for a quick family holiday. Our children range in ages from 7 -14 years old. Everyone had a fantastic time and we all LOVED the Shoreham! The check in staff were very accommodating and gladly gave one of us our room early as we had to change flights at the last minute and we got to the hotel much earlier than expected. The staff was so friendly and accommodating in a most genuine way. The hotel is located very close to the Metro and there were great resturants near by to appeal to us all. The pool was great fun for the children after a long day of sightseeing and we could not have been more pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank susanlD3104XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pretty Hotel. Historical Rooms. Small bathroom. No counters to put medicines or makeup on. Lovely lobby. We were able to meet and talk often. The elevators were too small and too few. Check-in went very smoothly and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 643fernef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The rooms were very clean, and the hotel overall was beautiful and in a very nice quiet area of the city (Woodley Park). The metro station is within two blocks of the hotel (3 stops to metro center) and the zoo is a short 10-15 minute walk away. Parking is not included and runs about $41 a night, but we were able to find a reasonable rate that included valet parking and breakfast. The pool area was clean and excellent to cool off in at the end of the day (open till 10). In room WiFi is not included and is an extra charge

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I typically stay at smaller, boutique hotels when I'm in DC and generally prefer newer, more modern hotels, so I was a bit hesitant about staying at the classic Omni Shoreham. The moment I got there, though, all that changed.

You immediately get the sense that you're in a place with a long, illustrious history but one that has kept up with the modern trends and conveniences. The hotel actually feels more like a classy resort than the spectacularly located, big city, in-town hotel that it is. It's a pleasant oasis in the middle of DC. You can retreat to the comforts of the Omni, after a long, hard day, but if you'd like, you can step outside and, just at your doorstep, you'll find a trendy neighborhood with numerous dining and drinking options. If you want to explore other parts of DC, a metro station is a few steps away.

My room was relatively spacious and quite comfortable. The Omni might lack the modern feel of newer, more trendy hotels, but it certainly doesn't fall short in terms of necessary amenities. It reminds me of an older home in a nice neighborhood, whose owners have invested heavily in ensuring that it remains as modern as possible, in spite of the structural constraints caused by the home's age.

The restaurant was very good, as well (but expensive). There are a number of cafes and gift shops. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I definitely recommend this hotel for any group, including business travelers, families, solo travelers, or even large groups of friends.

Room Tip: Register for their loyalty program and you'll immediately receive free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing