We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, 1 hour 45 min just to get bags to room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service, 1 hour 45 min just to get bags to room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in for the price. We couldn't even get someone at the front desk to tell us where the end of the line was to check in. It took an hour and 45 minutes to get our bags to our rooms because they have to be brought by bell hops - there are only two elevators per wing, each fits no more than 4 people and can't accommodate luggage - so you can't even bring it up yourself. We used the stairs most of the time we were there - but these are single file. We had no bath towels in our room, and dried our son with hand towels. We called to the desk and asked if someone could leave some by the door as we were putting our son to bed - an hour later when we were all asleep, someone pounded on our door from housekeeping to bring them waking us all up despite the privacy sign and the instructions to the front desk. This is just a few of the problems we experienced. We started asking how long they expected for everything - and the front desk repeatedly said to us either "right away" which was always at least 45 min to an hour, or "I don't know". The hotel is beautiful for an aging hotel, but the service made this a terrible stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,340
    1,885
    644
    302
    154
See reviews for
1,583
1,161
263
2,723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I really don't understand the point of room requests, when they are completely ignored. I understand that they are not guaranteed, but when you book more than four months beforehand on the hotel's website, and then emailed your requests, you expect that they will be able to help you out, at least partially.

I requested a quiet room on the east side, and was given a room directly above the largest air-conditioning system I have ever seen (on the roof of the conference centre), on the road side in the west wing. I asked two different people if I could change rooms, and each time was told, in an insincere way that they were sorry and that the hotel was fully booked. So, on this occasion, asking didn’t help.

I also asked for two rooms near one another (because we were a family travelling together), and was originally given two rooms on different floors, but this was only changed after I insisted they fix this.

The hotel itself is fine. Very old school luxurious, with a beautiful, but always busy, foyer that was full of people. It is in a nice part of town, away from the hustle and bustle, so that’s something positive.

But I simply think that a hotel should do its best to accommodate guests, particularly in a competitive environment (but maybe they know that DC is very competitive when it comes to hotels).

The staff seem exhausted and mostly uninterested.

I definitely wouldn’t stay here again. It is just too big to be personal or personable.

Room Tip: They are unlikely to help you out with your room requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tribalinsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

you have the best service so far and i love the service of your staff very friendly and very polite they all talk you with repect as if the know you before and when ever i visit Washington i will always stay in your hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

By far my families experience at the Omni Hotel has been the best experience. The staff very friendly, hospitable and polite. We enjoyed our stay, the room was spacious. The bathroom was beautiful and clean. The only time I had a concern was when enough towels were not left for my family to use. The cleaning department immediately responded and send towels. Great service overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Madalyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice breakfast with a lot of fruit and berries. The hotel is value for money, but food and drinks are fairly high priced. Nice pool. I had an upgraded room and you could get a coffee, tea, juice or diet coke at your door in the morning. The rooms were big. The subway was right across the street and also a few restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0nicaN0rway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel was a very nice property. The few minor issues would not stop me from staying here again. The spa service is wonderful. The room service dining was the best I have ever experienced. This trip was for a convention so the price was negotiated and much lower than the standard price. However, I would consider staying again at the standard price. I also like being a select guest member (no cost to me) so I can get free internet service and in room beverage in the morning. Would stay again at this property or another Omni Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was an excellent place to stay while in the D.C. area. The staff were excellent, the rooms were clean and quiet. It is a hotel rich in history, yet has all of the modern conveniences we needed. We wholeheartedly recommend this as a hotel in the D.C. area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank richardcV4341TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing