We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Old hotel with some very beautiful rooms but not modern if that's your thing. Definitely musty too. Front desk staff not helpful with a billing issue! Frustrating to have to follow up via Omni after check out. If you're in DC to play tourist this hotel is not convenient to anything but the zoo and a subway stop. Keep in mind in addition to such an expensive room you'll be paying out for travel around town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,053 - 4,059 of 7,194 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well this is truly a very fine hotel. As it has been the location of many presidential inaugural ball, you feel part of history while entering the hotel. Lots of foreign dignitaries and celebrities chose this hotel while visiting Washington. It's a 45 minute walk from the White House but if you prefer the subway there is a stop near by that will take you downtown in just 5 to 10 minutes. My room turned out to be a "classic suite". The suite was very spacious with two queen size beds, a separate sitting area with a desk and lots of storage room. The bathroom was well sized with a tub/shower and lots of goodies (soaps, mouthwash, cotton balls, lotions etc.). An added bonus was the balcony from which I had a wonderful view on the gardens of this hotel. Surely the decorations of the hotel and the suites are a bit outdated. Lots of silk curtains and wallpaper with flower prints, ornate furniture etc. But it's like visiting your grandparents home. It's not your choice of decor, it might be a little worn, but it's a welcoming feel. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and although it was expensive it was quit an experience. Have never seen such an array of breakfast items. Eggs "any style" are made to order. We sat out on the terrace and enjoyed not only the food but also the view. Are there no downsides to this hotel? Well maybe one. The valet parking was outrageously expensive. So if you come by car it would be well worth checking out less expensive parking opportunities.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Classic Suite".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While the oldness of the main areas are charming, the guest rooms and bathrooms are very dated. Our room had a sizable walk-in closet that was damp and musty and the carpet outside the closet in the roomwas also damp. The bathroom had a tiny pedestal sink which could barely hold a small bar of soap. Tile work was old and crumbly. Gigantic AC blocked the window. Staff was nice. Coffee shop excessively overpriced and food was expired.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Executive Assistant to the General Manager/Hotel Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Beth C,

Thank you for your comment. We apologize that your room did not exceed your expectation. Being an old building, our room configurations has not been changed to restore the history of the building. Our team takes pride with maintaining the hotels look and history. I agree that our staff are one of the most friendliest hotel staff in Washington DC. It appears that they love what they do which I to serve our guests.

We do an inventory of our food items daily and make sure that everything in the coffee shop is not past the expiry date. I am sorry that we miss one item, we certainly do not want our guest walk out of our coffee shop with an expired item.
We hope that you will still visit us in the future for a more perfect stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything that we could be of assistance in the future.

Sincerely,
Hubert Billod-Morel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I love staying at the Omni Shoreham. It is a big, old fancy hotel. The beds are comfy, great neighborhood, with close access to the Metro. I'm a select guest and those front desk girls gave me such a hard time getting coffee delivered. We had to keep calling down to the front desk for towels, glasses, shampoo. The manager was calm and understood our concerns. Staff need to understand there are plenty of other places to stay in DC.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank quiltessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Executive Assistant to the General Manager/Hotel Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Quiltessa,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience from your last visit with us. Thank you for been a loyal Select Guest member with Omni and we would like to continue serving you beyond your expectations. We having no excuse for not having your amenities on time and we will make sure this is not happening again.

We looking forward to have you back with us in the future. We will make sure that we will deliver top notch Omni standard.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Chua
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is very large and we stayed during a convention that had the hotel booked to capacity. The staff was wonderful. They handled check-in very quickly despite the amount of people checking in at once. They were obviously prepared for a full house and didn't let it stop them from top notch service. Rooms were large and comfortable, they are old but updated. Bathroom was on the small side, but done nicely. I liked having the small refrigerator in the room, especially since we were traveling with our 2 and 6 year old. The grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed the outdoor pool. Workout room was a little small but as a runner I loved running around the neighbohood rather than being inside. The location is pretty good. The area seemed residential but had restaurants and shops with walking distance. The zoo is just a few blocks away. If you are doing the sights you were a good walk away from the mall, museums, White House, etc. The metro was across the street though. Very comfortable family stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and had a large room. The door was thin and I thought we may hear a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For a very modest price, I had the privilege of staying at a fantastic hotel. The room was clean and large and quiet and comfortable, all the staff were friendly and helpful, and the concierge was especially helpful and encouraging. The only concern was the elevators - they were small, and they were always crowded. Once or twice, I decided to take the stairs. But otherwise, I loved it. The next time I come to Washington, I am definitely staying at the Omni Shoreham!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was huge and had a huge cupboard plus a powder room type room as well, but the bathroom was tiny. Barely any space to put toiletries and even get changed. The beds were comfy and the pool area was nice. From the small balcony from our room you had a lovely view of the greenery around and you could see the Washington monument in the distance. Location wasn't great as there wasn't too much in walking distance but other than that it wasn't too bad.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
2,633 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,240 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing