We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #71 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the hotel from Saturday to Sunday. My first impression was quite good because of the beautiful lobby with a very classical touch. Our room was spacious with a gigantic bed which was very comfortable. Unfortunately the bathroom had a very unpleasant surprise for us. Above your head in the bathtub there was a filthy and very dusty vent. As I was showering I even swallowed some of that dust because it fell down on me. Disgusting!!! I told the hotel management and all I got was a "oh we are very sorry". You should be expecting something like a free breakfast or drink on the house. Very disappointed! Not coming back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,886 - 3,892 of 7,042 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

A friend recommended this hotel to me and my family for a D.C. vacation. It is conveniently located near the Metro, as well as family-friendly dining places. The pool was nice. The rooms were clean and beautiful. The breakfast buffet was awesome as well!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for two nights. Room was basic but nice. Comfy beds and pillows. Lobby is vast and elegant and feels like it could be the setting for a dance number in an old movie. I also thought the pool/patio/exercise areas were nice, although the pool is very shallow. Front desk staff was very kind and personable. The only negative was that the room smelled like feet and could use some airing out/freshening up. Oh, and a six-year-old staying in the room next door surprised us by opening the suite connector door, which wasn't locked. Luckily we realized this when we were in the room and locked it on our side.

Room Tip: I think the elevator congestion situation on the east side (where I stayed) might be better than on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank owlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we departed our stay was amazing. The hotel and the it's properties are beautiful, comfortable and welcoming. The staff are amazing and accommodating. A wonderful family vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Generally good hotel but overpriced and thinks it is better than it

Nice pool area

My main gripe is service, we came back after being out all day at 5pm to find maid had not cleaned room. I ask reception and they said they would be straight on it. Our sons room two doors away had been sorted so we chilled out there for over an hour and no sign of the maid.

I went down again to the conceiage and he passed me onto to the manager , who's attitude was well we have been busy! They know how many rooms they have to clean but I was made to feel as if I was asking too much and being difficult. Therefore marked down on overall attitude to customers

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Executive Assistant to the General Manager/Hotel Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Scott C,

We appreciate that you have shared your comments; First of all we would like to apologize that your room did not receive cleaning service when you arrive and you had to wait. This is certainly not to the usual high standard of service that we deliver to our guests. We would like you to know that we are taking action and rest assure that this disappointing issue has been addressed to our staff. We hope to welcome you again at the Shoreham to experience the true Omni experience.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Chua
Executive Assistant to Hubert Billod-Morel / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for a 2 day conference and 6 additional days to visit this amazing place. Everything about our stay at Omni Shoreham was excellent. Of most importance is that it is 1/2 block from the metro which gets you anywhere you want to go in DC. There are also some excellent restaurants in the ara. We plan on returning!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was skeptical about staying at the Omni because of the mixed reviews. I am very picky about hotels, but this was an awesome hotel. The hotel is clean and very updated. We also loved the huge pool and hot tub. We stayed on the second floor and took the stairs instead of the elevator. Our room overlooked the pool and it was a great view. It is very close to the metro, Mcdonalds, Dunkin Donuts, CVS.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 142 in Washington DC
2,593 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,246 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £65 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing