We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
sanghju
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is a great hotel with a rich history. Marred by noisy neigbors on saturday night, and an old elevator system. Valet service for your car is great, but the bellhops were just there, not really helpful. Other than that the food is amazing. The pool is great! The hotel looks amazing in the lobby and the garden out back is really great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Sang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,340
    1,885
    644
    302
    154
See reviews for
1,583
1,161
263
2,723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Grand hotel with superb accomodations. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool, gym, spectacular grounds. We are a family of four and stayed in a regular room with two queen beds - plenty of room for us all. Friendly, attentive staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood of DC - just 15 min from downtown area. The National Zoo is about a 10 to 15 minute walk up Connecticut Avenue. We also ate in several restaurants that were in short walking distance to the hotel. Breakfast at Robert's located in the hotel lobby was great. The staff here is top notch! We had an awesome visit at the Omni Shoreham!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nice, the location is great, but the service is appalling. The front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. It was absolutely not worth the expense. I attended a conference at the Marriott Wardman Park next door, and the conference attendees staying there said the Marriott was great. I recommend you stay there if you have the option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Good Afternoon "Abigail C"-

We really appreciate your feedback in your TripAdvisor review.

I would like to express my deepest apologizes for the lack of service you were provided at check in. Our Front Desk staff is known for being very friendly. I am very sorry that you did not experience this exceptional service.

We strive to provide flawless service for all of our guests. I am sorry that we fell short during your visit.

I will address the issue you experienced at check in with my team. We will use your feedback as a way to train our staff on how we can provide better service for our guests.

Your business is important to us. When you are ready to book your next visit with us, please reach out to me directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay with us.

Thank you,
Amanda Burroughs
Director, Front Office Operations
Omni Shoreham Hotel
(202) 756-5209
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is excellent for long term travel. The rooms are large and comfy. The hotel is near a Metro station and easily accessible to the rest of the city. They have a coffee and sandwich bar for people on the go. Perfect for business or family travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

All public spaces were nice. The room was showing a bit of wear and tear but I guess that's what happens to a hotel room where there is such high traffic. The hallways echo all sound and the doors to the rooms do not block any of it. As long as your neighbors are conciencious of sound, it's not a problem. However, those who come up late at night in groups and make a lot of noise can be heard a mile down the hall. Also, couples fighting down the hall all night can be heard as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dainan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Shoreham is exactly as billed. An older, classic DC iconic hotel. The lobby is huge and smells wonderful every time you walk inside. The room was very nice. We had a suite which had a nice living room area and a very comfortable bedroom. The bed was extremely comfy and I slept like a baby in spite of the occasional metro area noise..sirens, etc. pool area looked great and like it was an oasis surrounded by meteo DC.

Hotel staff were pleasant but the concierge seemed slightly irked to be working on a Saturday. She was a bit short tempered with us and others in line.

My only real concerns are safety related. First, our room wasn't ready when we arrived and upon our return we were told that our key was in a rack on the wall which is accessible to anyone.. "just grab it from the wall rack" we were told. Our name, room number, and actual keys were there for the taking. No hotel staff were "guarding" these keys. Not happy about that. The other security slip was that on our second night the door key had a glitch and didn't work. We came down to request a new key and received one without being asked for ID. Come on folks. That should be hotel desk clerk 101... Request ID before issuing a key. Hopefully mgmt will see this review and implement some changes.

Other than the grumpy concierge and the security issues we had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel with the caveat about security.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank morganinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The building is lovely, the pool
Is lovely most of the staff are lovely and helpful. Then as mentioned so often before we have cause to speak to the front desk staff and it takes a plummet. The room request on booking was not given we were ignored no explanation or apology and the hotel did not appear busy so I guess I'm just lucky to have been able to fly over and stay and should be grateful. Amenities available where not explained as the lady just wanted us to move on, no customer care. When certain entitlements where discovered and pointed out a shrug of shoulder and Virgin Holiday where blamed for not telling them. All these small issues can be over looked with an apology or a smile but we get nothing.

The room all though not what was book was clean and comfortable. The hotel
Has a good location and is near metro $3 each way to Union station which is a short walk to Capitol Hill or a $15 can ride, shop restaurants nearby are nice and serve breakfast lunch and dinner. Nice pool and gardens lovely concierge lovely door staff, lovely pool staff so I would recommend the hotel but with a word of warning

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing