We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Columbia MD, US
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I met 2 former high school friends here for a long weekend in May. We each had our own rooms and each was delighted. The hotel is lovely, the rooms very large and well appointed with lovely linens, a very modern bathroom, flat screen tv and minibar/refrigerator. Each room was configured a little differently, but all were wonderful. Both the reservation process and check-in were friendly and efficient. Everyone was super helpful.

The hotel is not located right downtown, but is near the intersection of Connecticut Ave. and Calvert Street. There is a metro stop about 1 block away, on the Red Line. Restaurants line both sides of the street. You can chose your cusinne--from Afghan to Italian and everything in between. The area is safe and vibrant . We enjoyed the outdoor cafes and people-watching, and the downtown area with museums and monuments was just a quick metro ride away. Although we didn't visit it, the National Zoo is also in the neighborhood.

We thought the hotel restaurant prices were a bit high, so we opted for the local cafes for breakfast and dinners.

One friend drove her car and parked it at the hotel lot, which I think was about $28 a day.

I really recommend this hotel. It's huge and does a lot of conventions and business meetings, but was perfect for 3 women friends as well. My next visit will be to take my husband there for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
What a delight for us to hear that you and your friends were able to enjoy such a wonderful weekend at the Omni Shoreham. We will look forward to you returning with your husband and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make that stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,340
    1,885
    645
    303
    154
See reviews for
1,584
1,161
263
2,724
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

The hotel looks great from the outside and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well maintained.
Robert's Resturant is a great place to endulge in various cuisines.

  • Liked — Luxurious Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drkssagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your meals in Robert's restaurant. We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham for 4 nights in May, 2009. It is a large, lovely hotel, with a grand entrance and warm, welcoming staff. We had a king bed room, which was large and the bed was very comfortable. There is a bed turndown service each night. The bathroom wasn't large, but large enough with a shelf to store toiletry items. The swimming pool area is very pretty, and the pool is large. Join the Omni Loyalty Programme online, which is free, an you get free WIFI and 2 free drinks each morning at a time of your choosing, along with a newspaper.The hotel isn't in the heart of the heart of the city's attractions, but you are a very short walk from Woodley Park subway and within 15 minutes you are at The Mall. It is 3 stops to Metro Central, where you either change lines for 2 more stops, or walk to wherever you are going, we did it both ways and it was easy. By the way, Woodley Park Station has the longest escalator I have every seen, there is a lift if that bothers you. There are many shops and restaurants next to the station, we ate at Medaterra ( recommend the Hummus entree ) and Open City, both of which were great. We loved the area, it was very safe and everything you need is there. We didn't eat at the hotel, but there is a restaurant and the prices didnt look too bad, there is also a deli for sandwiches and snacks, and a gift shop also. Valet parking is $28 a day, there is some street parking but you can't count on it, especially during the week. We loved The Omni, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
We are appreciative of your gracious review of the Omni Shoreham. It sounds as if you were able to take advantage of our lovely neighborhood and our easy access to all of the local attraction. We hope that on your next trip to Washington, DC we will be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We travel yearly to DC and it was the first time at this hotel. We stayed here due to its proximity to the park and Adams Morgan. Pros: Great neighborhood. Great view of the park from the room. Huge closets. Comfy bed. The flowers in the lobby were beautiful and the robes and evian water were a nice touch. Cons: I left the first room because it smelled of "baby diapers," and they immediately gave us a new room, but the 2nd room smelled similarly. I assumed that it must have been their cleaning supplies as the room was spotless. After much investigation, I discovered the "baby powderish" smell in the AC filter. I suspect that they sprayed some scented substance on the filter. Hopefully they will desist using this product as it smelled like a nursery or a nursing home: a very negative association of spoiled diapers that permeated the room and tainted my whole experience of the hotel. Good thing I like the neighborhood, because I avoided the room. Shame as I am sure it would have been a perfectly, charming room otherwise. The elevator bell could be easily heard in our room which disturbed our morning sleep--seems easy to fix by disabling the bells as no one should need a bell to tell them the elevator arrived--the sight and the sound of the door opening should suffice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpinozasLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your priceless comments regarding your stay at  the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We would like you to know that we take your feedback very seriously and share every comment with our management and staff. Please know that your particular comment was used in our daily meetings to highlight our successes and those areas that need greater attention. We appreciated the positive feed back about our historic and beautiful property, thank you! Please accept our sincerest apologies for the smell in your room. We had the engineers inspect a new filter and a used one and confirmed that filters can be the source of the smell and we are looking closer into the issue. We are glad that we were able to move you to another room to alleviate the problem. As to the elevator chime, we are working with our Director of Engineering to reduce the volume of the arrival bell on the elevators.  Thank you again for assisting us in providing a better product. It is because of guest’s insightfulness and effort to provide feedback that we can continue to be a top rated luxury property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Upon arrival at the Omni Shoreham a hotel employee met us at the taxi, handed me a luggage ticket & stated "you can check in & I will bring your luggage to your room". I left him with the luggage believeing he would retrieve everything from the taxi cab's trunk. He brought the bags to our room & placed them against a wall. Within seconds, I noticed my black carry-on was missing. I immediately opened the door to ask about the bag, but he was already gone. At this time, I contacted the front desk & informed the hotel employee of my situation. I informed her that I was sure the bag was left in the trunk of the taxi. I was placed on hold several times as the employee told me she was talking to her supervisor & making documentation in the computer of my loss. She finally returned to the phone and told me the hotel would call the taxi commission & report the incident on my behalf. After numerous attempts to work through this unfortunate occurence with the hotel & the taxi commission using the suggested protocol for the lost items, I have received no satisfaction in expecting to retrieve my bag which was left in the trunk of a Fairway cab by the hotel's employee. I believe the hotel is libel for my loss due to the fact the hotel employee gave me a card & established he was responsible for the luggage at the hotel & failed to remove the bag from the taxi. I also believe if the hotel had reacted responsibly my bag might have been retrieved in a shorter given time period. I realize a piece of luggage may seem insignificant to some people, but inside that bag was videos & pictures on cameras that are priceless to my family & I. Money my family had saved for this experience, and medications I as a cancer patient rely on daily. Perhaps I would feel better about my washington D.C experience if there seemed to be any concern or care on behalf of the hotel instead of attempts to either bully or pacify me until I give up on recovery of the contents of my lost luggage.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Up to this point, the Omni Hotel is the most beautiful hotel that I've ever stayed at! The beds were plushy and comfortable - morning room service was fantastic. The building is old and you get the feel of that when you're in your room, but the rooms still felt comfortable and clean. In the warmer months, walking distance isn't an issue at all, but you do have to walk a bit to the subway entrances. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
We are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

The Omni Shoreham was great to stay at. Quite good rates for such a plush hotel. The rooms were large and well equipped with really comfortable beds with brand new mattresses, down pillows, large LCD TV's, small fridge, marble bathroom etc. The service was friendly, although they did make an error with the bill which they immediately corrected. I would happily stay there again. My only problem was not with the hotel or the surrounding area (which had plenty of shops and good restaurants and cafes and convenience stores), but the fact that the Metro station (Woodley Park/Adams Morgan) is so deep it takes a few minutes to ride the escalator to the platform. This can get annoying if it has to be done often. However, the DC circulator, for $1 per ride, can take you into DC quite efficiently and leaves just nearby, as does the hop-on/hop-off bus..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roddlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2009
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham. It is always a pleasure for us to hear from a guest that enjoyed their stay with us. If you do return and are hesitant to use the escalators at the Woodley Park Metro there is an elevator about a half a block up Connecticut Avenue that can be used as an alternative. If you are back in D.C. again we hope you will once again choose to stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing