We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice rooms”
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed here for five nights in September 2009. It's a beautiful hotel and we had a nice room. It's right across the road from the trolley tour stop too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedShoesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,521
    1,971
    692
    330
    178
See reviews for
1,716
1,203
273
2,874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Great experience! The location was close to the metro and reasonably priced restaurants. The beds were heavenly. I wish we had more time to enjoy the gorgeous pool and grounds. Fireflies abound in the evening and were a treat to watch. The Shoreham is a beautiful historic hotel that is so comfortable and elegant I would rate it 5 star!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at the Omni Shoreham with our two teen grandsons for four nights. We chose the Zoo package which was well worth the extra considering the appetites of two teens and the WONDERFUL breakfast buffet that was included in the deal as well as free valet parking. We used the metro, one block away, for our transportation so the car sat snugly in the lot until our departure. The metro ride to the monuments was about 20-- 30 minutes including a transfer at Metro City stop. We also rode the double decker tour bus which stopped one block from the hotel. Sitting on top was fun for all of us and the bus stopped at all of the popular sights including Arlington. The boys (as well as my husband and I) were very impressed with the elegance of the hotel, the pool, exercise room and the little amenities such as milk and cookies in room and plenty of linens, pillows, etc. It is a beautiful old hotel and the room was certainly clean and adequate though we noticed a couple of minor needed repairs (leaky tub faucet, wall trim end cap missing). The small refrigerator in our room was barely cool so our water bottles were not kept as cold as we would have liked. The service was great except when we were leaving and waited almost a half hour for our car to be brought up. Other than the "free" breakfast we found the prices in the restaurant to be prohibitive. However there were several reasonable neighborhood restaurants close by that offered a variety of decent ethnic as well as traditonal American food. There is even a Baskin-Robbins nearby!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

we stayed 5 nights in early june 2010

bullet points

2 min walk to metro giving swift access to the centre

big comfortable rooms

beautiful grounds in the hotel

10 minute walk to the zoo

great bar / retaurant literally just opposite the hotel which is much cheaper than the hotel and was open 0600 - 0200

bottom line is whilst we did not eat or drink at (actually I did buy a 2 teas at the starbucks concession and paid well over the odds, so if you need a coffee walk across the street to the bar / restaurant mentioned above it cost much less) the hotel it ticked all the boxes for a comfortable and convenient base for us. we would stay here again

only downside was having to pay $10 for 15 minutes on the internet which I needed to use and resented A) having to pay for and B) having to pay so much for

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We were upgraded (as a Priority Club member) to a gorgeous and large room overlooking the bridge. The room had a formal look, which we liked, and was freshly re-decorated. Everything was great our first night, but the second night we could hear noisy folks across the hall and in the hallway banging doors, laughing, crying, and more. The entry door had large gaps that let in both light from the hallway and obviously sound. Too bad that the acoustics were so bad...bring ear plugs!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K.Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day. Last year, we stayed at the JW Marriot. We did not like that hotel and found there was no real reason to stay so near the mall. At night, it is dead. If you stay at the Shoreham, you can take the metro or a cab to the mall and return here for dinner. The Shoreham is a GREAT place to stay with kids. It is near Rock Creek Park and The National Zoo. In addition, the pool is only 3½ feet deep. They also have 2 whirlpools. The only thing that we did not like was the usual hunt for beach chairs. The pool guy said that they were ordering more and I suppose they just weren't prepared for such a hot weekend so early in the season. However, I really do think there should be a better system in place then running to the pool at 6am to reserve a chair!!!!! Perhaps have as many chairs as you have adult guests. Anyway, we eventually found chairs and enjoyed lounging by the pool and being served drinks and food by the bar staff. The gym is Great with several different pieces of equipment.

I've heard others complain about the high price of food in the hotel. The Shoreham is near many nice restaurants. But, if you find the price of food high or are on a budget, there is a McDonald's across the street and a Johnny Rockets about 2 minutes away by car. There is also a CVS across the street where you can pick up soda and snacks. One thing we really liked about the Shoreham is that they have regular refrigerators. What a great idea! They do not have those disgraceful, despicable "minibars" of which the hospitality industry should be absolutely ashamed. Especially the idiots who decided that every item in it should be on a device to monitor and charge anyone who merely lifts an item to examine it. Boo!
Oh, and yes the bathroom was small but they have curved shower bars which gives you a little more room. I wish more hotels would have hand-held showers which would make it easier to shower in small bathrooms.
So to sum up: Shoreham is a beautiful, elegant hotel. The people who work there are very nice and always willing to help. Stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE-ZEE-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The gardens are beautiful, the area surrounding the hotel is full of nice little restaurants and it is a minute to the subway - fantastic location! My husband and I loved this hotel. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. Robert's restaurant served delicious food by lovely staff - a very nice experience each time we ate there. The valet parking was somewhat expensive at US$28 per night. The hotel was full of magnificent long stemmed roses. Our morning beverage was delivered on time and with style. Staying at the Omni Shoreham was a wonderful experience and one I would certainly love to repeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesshortliveitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing