We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Great hotel, great service, great value (at least I had a great deal and I assume there are others occasionally), huge room, comfortable beds. Negatives? Maid knocked on our door at 8:30am to clean the room....what's up with that? So remember to put your do not disturb sign up. As with most nice hotels, the amenities drive the price up considerably, so if you are looking to save, there are plenty of great places to eat within walking distance. Required valet cost $28/day, very costly and would have driven me away from the hotel if I didn't have a great room rate. I don't know if there is nearby alternative parking. Metro station is very close by also.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,409
    1,914
    663
    307
    160
See reviews for
1,623
1,177
266
2,786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

No worries here. This hotel is beautiful, clean and the service is great. The gardens are lovely and room service was punctual. Be sure to sign up for their Select Guest program so you get the free Wi-Fi and free coffee. The location was good, but it cost us approximately $10 each way (taxi) to get to the National Mall. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We found a great deal online and took advantage of it after reading many online reviews. Glad we did - the lobby is beautiful and the rooms were very clean. The only drawbacks were we never really did have COLD water in the room - it always seemed luke warm (even when we left it running). And, this location is a little out of the way from the city sites but is very convenient to the metro. The front desk staff was very pleasant, friendly and efficient and the concierge was always helpful. He even walked us to our room. We will stay again and you should too! You will not be sorry!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopperlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The hotel is very nice. The front desk staff could not have been nicer when I checked in. I signed up for the Select Guest program and it was totally worth it. Free coffee delivered in the morning (and you can order a really delicious blueberry muffin to be delivered also for only $2.95 extra), newspaper and internet. My room was very nice and the housekeeping service was very good also. My neighbors were a tiny bit loud in the halls (talking really loud, calling out to each other down the call and slamming their doors), but that is true most places and was no worse at the Omni. The elevators tends to be very crowded, but the riders are mostly jovial and make room for you. I ate one crab salad meal at the restaurant and it was really delicious. The fitness center was spotless and had surprisingly nice equipment and plenty of it. The Metro stop right across the street makes it so easy to get around and there are a lot of great restaurants in walking distance also. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We got a great deal on such a nice historic hotel, so we went for it. My wife, myself and another couple stayed here over the 4th of July weekend to enjoy the holiday festivities and we really enjoyed it. The hotel's lobby was beautiful with yellow roses everywhere and crystal chandeliers brightening every room. We were graciously checked in by BJ late at night and he put us in some huge rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were spacious and every amenity was there, including complimentary water upon arrival and drinks every morning waiting at the doorstep.
We stayed for 3 nights and each day the service throughout the hotel staff was wonderful, minus the concierge. We called multiple times for everyday requests, including calling for a taxi, printing of boarding passes, and even food accommodations nearby or even in the hotel. They were always short with us and continued to offer ways we could do everything ourselves. I was under the impression the concierge desk was to help in the areas we were lacking knowledge...but not in this case. But I don't want to focus on this blemish. The rest of the hotel was very nice. The pool was nice, could use some deeper ends of the pool, or maybe a bit larger pool/spa area in the future. The metro was very accessible and right next to a McDonald's and CVS Pharmacy for some quick easy food or bottled water. Management was always visible and always greeting us upon departure or arrival and doormen/valet were very helpful in local hints on transportation/food.
I would put this hotel on any top-list of hotels to frequent, especially at the rate that we got. We have no problems staying here the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannykessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Omni Shoreham provides an excellent level of accommodation and service. The front desk is well organised, a welcome e mail with hints and tips was sent prior to arrival.Upon arrival we were obviously expected and enjoyed a very swift painless check in procedure and were reminded of the benefits of their Select Guest programme. Do join this programme , its free , offers free internet access and daily delivery of free morning beverages,
The room ,a standard King size ,was extremely large , enjoyed excellent garden views and views toward the Washington monument. Standards of cleanliness and decor were excellent and we particularly enjoyed the 42 inch TV , the walk in wardrobe , fridge and refreshment facilities,
Whilst the hotel is more than 1 mile away from the City Centre it nevertheless enjoys an excellent position, the Metro is approximately 200 yards away as is the stop for the Circulator bus. Trolley Tours stop outside the hotel.
The hotel has immaculate gardens a gym and an outdoor pool that has a poolside bar and snack shop and its a welcoming place to return to relax at the end of a busy sightseeing day.
The quality of the food served in Roberts restaurant was of a high standard and whilst not cheap was worth the money. A bar is open from 4 pm to the early hours and serves bar meals. There is also a cafe for most of the day. Should you wish to eat outside there are several bars restaurants and cafes in short walking distance.
The hotel seems to be well staffed and everyone we encountered was helpful and pleased to be serviing us. The Omni Shoreham was an excellent choice for us and is thoroughly recommended,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

While not as impressive on the exterior, the Omni Shoreham opens up to a gorgeous lobby and breathtaking gardens. We read previous reviews complaining of room/ bathroom size but were pleasantly surprised with our lovely, spacious room and bathroom which had a perfect view of the gardens in the back, as well as a view of the Washington Monument--ultimately we had the best view of the fireworks on 4th of July from the comfort of our room!

We had room service for breakfast one morning (a bit expensive for us; typical of most hotel prices) which was excellent. Other mornings though, we saved and (made it early) to the Open City diner, which was delicious (though the wait can otherwise be a bit brutal, unless you're willing to sit in direct sunlight on a hot summer day). We of course joined the Select Guest program and had morning beverages served as well as WSJ delivered. The hot chocolate is decadent (with cream and marshmallows on the side). Free wifi perks also worth it, as well as late check out (3pm).

As others mentioned, only problem is the elevators (or lack thereof). Only 2 per wing, very tiny and characteristic of an old, historical property--just makes going and up and down a bit difficult, particularly if you're on one of the upper floors.

Would certainly come back though--a very lovely and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing