We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an Amazing Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Hotel!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

As a family we stayed here for 3 nights in July 10 and all I can say is "WOW". I walked into the hotel and it was beautiful. The staff were all polite and very professional. The rooms were large and sooooo comfortable. It is in an excellent location and staying there makes you seel so special. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anza61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,316
    1,875
    642
    300
    154
See reviews for
1,569
1,158
263
2,704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I spend most of my traveling and live out of hotels, hence I can provide a fair comparison to the other hotels in DC.
Having heard great reviews about Omni on this site, I booked a room at Omni. I signed up as a loyalty member before, to receive the free goodies - free coffee and internet :-(

Pros
Decent Gym
Starbucks in the lobby
Close to train station

Cons
Inexperienced staff - Fairly rude, if asked to make adjustments (Most of them are only a few months old)
Front Office Manager (Chinese Lady) , refuses to talk to guests, and tries to appear very busy
Bathroom is very small . It even smelled horrible when I got there.
Two slow elevators for a fairly large hotel - I had to wait 10 minutes during rush hours. Had to climb stairs several times.
Very expensive room service, for the quality offered

It might be a family vacation kind of a hotel, but as a business traveler I did not find it appealing, and will not return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalmTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Spouse and I just stayed here for four nights. Picked hotel based on reviews and rate. Because we got a good AAA rate, we were afraid that we would be stuck in a small room with no view. Wrong. Check-in was no problem, and the lobby area is SO beautiful. We
had a corner room on the 6th floor, overlooking the gardens and pool. Large room area, king bed, bathroom with separate tub and shower. Elegant and beautiful. The room was laid out well, corner chair for reading, desk area, large entertainment center with large TV, small fridge and coffee maker, and a closet with a safe. Staff was always friendly and service was impeccable. Surrounding area was busy, but lots of restaurants nearby, including a CVS for incidentals. We walked to the zoo, and took the metro everywhere else. Found the metro easy to use, and fast and efficient. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great location, beautiful accomodations, and great staff. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Loved everything about this hotel - truly a lovely place to stay. Our room was enormous and the breakfast buffet was the most impressive I've seen. I rated the service low as we were charged for long distance and local calls that we did not make - we surmise that a staff member accessed our room, while we were at the zoo and used our phone, so beware. The charges were made, while we were gone and security was supposed to check the door to see which key was used, but they didn't show by the time we needed to check out. The charges were refunded.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scannella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed for 5 nights from 25/7/10 and were very impressed by the standard of service and size of room and amenities. The pool area is clean and well maintained though there is a lack of shade when the sun gets hot! We used the Super Shuttle service from Dulles Airport which we pre-booked and this was also an excellent choice for our first time visit to Washington. We used the Metro daily and found this to be a cheap and safe way of getting around the sights. Loved the City and all it had to offer and can't wait to make a return trip, 5 days was not enough for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Great hotel. We has some issues with the checkin and the location was a little further out than we had hoped. This said, staff were friendly and the metro is very close. The hotel was beautiful and has superb leisure facilities inc outdoor pool. All round great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brydie2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for four days and we would return if we were ever in Washington DC. The hotels close proximity to the Metro was one of the main reasons. It is located right across the street. It is too far from most attractions to walk (except the zoo) so the Metro was needed. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood and there are many restuarants located across street so you dont have to go far after walking all day. We never ate at the hotel so I cant say how the food was taste wise but other guests stated that it was on the expensive side so if you are on a budget I would look across street for eating. The staff at the hotel was super nice and friendly and always had a smile!! I would also enroll in their Select Guest program prior to your arrival and you can do that online. It gets you free newspaper daily, up to four morning beverages per day brought to your room, free Wi-Fi, etc. Nice fitness room and spa. The only complaint that I would have about this hotel was something that another reviewer had commented on was that our room did have an unual odor to it. It wasnt anything over powering but it was like a "musty" odor. Maybe a dehumidifier would help. Well it wasnt enough of an issue for us to complain but if you are super sensitive you may want to be moved to another room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,919 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
1,346 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
1,985 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing