We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at the Omni Shoreham - Would definitely stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Estherville, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay at the Omni Shoreham - Would definitely stay again.”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We recently spent 7 nights at the Omni Shoreham. It was a first trip to D.C. for both of us and we decided we chose the best possible hotel for us. The hotel itself is beautiful - the lobby is very impressive with its columns and chandeliers - and the hotel grounds are a peaceful retreat from the bustle of downtown. When I made our reservations (booked directly through the hotel) I requested a quiet room with a park view, balcony and two queen beds. We got exactly the room we wanted. It was spacious, clean and the view from our balcony included the Washington Monoment. We took advantage of the "Linger Longer" rate available when we booked the reservation and two of the nights were free. I also recommend joining the Omni rewards program. We received free beverage service each morning and that helped with the budget. Each member of the Omni staff we encountered could not have been more pleasant or helpful. They are a great advertisement for the hotel. The Woodley Park/Zoo Metro stop is only 1/2 a block away and we used it every day to travel to the Mall, Smithsonian, Arlington, etc. While we never ate at the hotel restaurant, we can recommend two of the neighborhood restaurants. Open City has a great menu, it is kind of noisy, but the food was worth it. And Murphys of D.C. was great for a quieter meal and a cold beer. I am sure we will be back to Washington D.C. sometime in the future. Six days is not enough to see everything the capital has to offer. I am also sure that when we return, the Omni will once again be our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Omni Shoreham on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your week with us and are especially proud to hear how well you were attended to by our associates. We enjoyed reading your view and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,450
    1,941
    677
    319
    169
See reviews for
1,662
1,189
270
2,825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Omni is gorgeous when you walk in, and located at a great metro stop surrounded by excellent restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and checked us in early with no problems. The rooms look very nice, but we couldn't ignore the musty smell. That was chalked up to being an old hotel, in our book, though.

We were there on a very busy weekend, and there seemed to be at least a couple of wedding parties. Some guests were partying in a room down the hall from us. Around midnight, it got louder, and we heard security knock on the door and ask them to keep quiet. At 1:30, it sounded like the Jersey Shore cast were having a great time; we called security, who came, knocked their door, and let the party go on. 3, 4, 5 AM, we wake up to "Bobby" trying to start a fight with "Mikey" in the hallway, whooping and hollering, and general drunken stupidity.

The doors on the room offer virtually no sound protection. We were awake all night, as certainly the rest of the floor was. I can't understand why such a nice hotel, having received numerous complaints, wouldn't kick the troublemakers out or call the police.

At $250/night, in a "classy" hotel, guests should expect at least a few hours to sleep, but not that night. Management should have dealt with the problems.

Still, a beautiful hotel in a nice location.

Other notes: "Business center" computers did not work properly, so no boarding passes. Rooms are nice but compact--this was expected, though. Very nice products in bathroom. Bed reasonably comfortable. Not many elevators, but stairs easy to access. Bell staff very helpful and friendly, other staff extremely friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackLandKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
We apologize that you were not able to enjoy your stay due to the other guests activity on your sleeping room floor. It is always our desire that all guests are accommodating and professional to other guests but in this case that was not the situation. We always aim to be vigilant when responding to guest noise complaints and in the future we will take appropriate action to respond accordingly. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you will return for a quieter more restful stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We recently stayed at the Omni for a friend's wedding. Having previously explained to their loyalty abassador that I was also meeting my daughter and son-in-law who reside on the West Coast and had not seen for quite a while, she seemed to go out of her way to make the stay special. The room overlooked the beautiful gardens. We were even able to see the wedding rehearsal. The service the entire weeked was wonderful. Beverages of our choice were delivered to our room each morning with no charge as a Select member. We had turn down service each evening. The food for both the reception and dinnner was delicious! The location near the metro was excellent. There are many different types of restaurants located within just a few blocks. A wonderful trip!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
It was a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your weekend at The Omni Shoreham Hotel and that our Loyalty Ambassador was able to add some special touches during your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our time sightseeing and visiting the Smithsonian Museums etc. If you are there for sightseeing, get on a double-decker bus first and do the full route so you know what to go back to see. The train into DC was quick and direct. We were not impressed with the gentleman who checked us into the Omni Shoreham. He was quite surly and didn't smile or give us welcoming feel. BUT everyone else we encountered were lovely and polite, particularly the lady in the cafe (where we got our coffee each morning). The hotel is old, you have to remember that when booking. Our room was nicely appointed but we found the bedding quite hard - we woke with sore necks and aching backs each day and we don't usually have trouble with either. Anyway, I'm not so sure I would stay there again considering the high price we paid. Although, because we are from Australia, we probably paid more than normal as we don't always have the inside information on cheap rates when travelling overseas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
We are glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We would be remiss if we didn't acknowledge that you did have an issue at check in and with our bedding. If you do have the opportunity to return to The Omni Shoreham we encourage you to immediately let us know any issues you experience so that we may have the opportunity to make improvements to your stay while you are with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope for the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

After a fairly hectic trip to DC this fine room restored our sanity. There was no need to be fearful of a long wait for room service or that our wake-up call would go forgotten. We'll be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LearningCurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
We are delighted that your room at The Omni Shoreham provided you with respite from a hectic trip. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

What a place! My wife and I recently stayed at the Omni. She attended a convention, and I just tagged along. This was one of my favorite places that I've stayed at. It's an older hotel, which adds to the charm. The grounds were beautiful, as was the lobby. I ate lunch at their restaurant, and throughly enjoyed it. We passed on the buffet breakfast...think it was about $20, and was probably worth it, but didn't feel like stuffing ourselves before taking off on the metro. The service was second to none, with the concierge really standing out. I've never gone on a trip and not rented a car, but with everything I read about DC, I decided not to rent. The metro was a block away from the hotel, and would take you just about anywhere you wanted to go for sightseeing...it was great! Would definitely return to this hotel if in DC again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Many thanks for your complimentary review of The Omni Shoreham. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I had a great stay. I was able to check in early in the morning. The lobby is elegant, but welcoming. The room was large and well decorated. The bed was super. The Shoreham is a huge hotel, but appears to be run efficiently. All employees were friendly. I enjoyed the gardens. The hotel is located one block from the metro in a nice residential area.

Good restaurants are close. I had an excellent meal at Medaterra.

I stayed at three diffent hotels during this trip to D.C., and the Shoreham has it all. I can't imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
We are pleased to read that the Omni Shoreham topped the other DC hotels you stayed in during your trip. We always enjoy hearing positive feedback from our guests and we thank you for sharing your experience online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,031 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,432 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,032 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing