We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #22 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Hard to find what could be (done) better. Fantastic experience from start to finish (at a price)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetitsPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHW-DOR, Director of Rooms at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you very much for your comment! We're glad to hear that you had a fantastic experience and we will continuously strive to provide the best service.
We hope to see you back with us soon!

Cornelia Samara
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,621 - 1,627 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

Great hotel rooms with very comfortable beds. The front desk was very polite and offered a complimentary upgrade! Always nice to receive little perks like this especially for business travels.

Service was excellent and the staff even dropped a message to apologize to the guests when the daily newspaper was unavailable for one day.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hands down, the best part of this hotel was the excellent service we received. Everyone from the doorman to reception was pleasant and accommodating. We had a standard king room which was comforable with a roomy bathroom. Didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. It's expensive and was a splurge for us, but I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here for an event recently, and just have to say that this hotel has the best service, hands down, that I have ever experienced in any big city. The decor of the rooms (we stayed in the Park Suite) is absolutely stunning, and the bathrooms are amazing! The lobby is beautiful, and the Blue Duck Tavern has absolutely amazing food. This hotel is modern without being uncomfortable, and I think overall just an amazing place to stay.

Pros: Location (border of Georgetown), Service service service, Food, Decor
Cons: on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likestotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHW-DOR, Director of Rooms at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

We're glad to hear that you had an amazing experience! Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.

Cornelia Samara
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I have to begin this review by saying that you are reading the review of the pickiest person on the planet. If there is a flaw to be found, I will find it and trust me, I will complain. With that said, I had the most amazing experience at the Park Hyatt Washington and would gladly stay there again and again. The service was wonderful. The desk and door attendants remembered our names and always had smiles on their faces. We called ahead for a fan and it was in our room without having to ask again. They allowed us to check in hours early and check out hours late in order to accommodate our flight schedule. The room was spotless and the beds were really comfortable.

As for distance from the city, it couldn't have been in a more perfect place for us. We wanted to be close walking distance but without being in the touristy areas of town. It was a 10 minute walk to Georgetown one direction, 10 minutes the other to Dupont for amazing restaurants in both directions. The White House was about a 15 minute walk away one direction and the Lincoln Memorial was 15 minutes in another. The furthest walk was the Capitol Building at about 40 minutes, but there is a courtesy car available at the hotel so that you do not have to walk if you don't want to.

The ONLY complaint I had was the noise level in the morning. Our room faced the street (overlooking the Fairmont) and at about 6 AM, the street traffic woke us up. However, we had limited time to explore the city so we took those opportunities to wake up early and get breakfast. If you're looking for a hotel that you can sleep in all day without noise, this probably isn't it, but I highly doubt you'll find a hotel in DC without that street traffic unless you stayed in a boutique hotel in one of the residential districts.

We felt a bit under-dressed at the hotel since everyone was in business attire, but not enough to make us feel uncomfortable. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly that we never felt out of place.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend the hotel and DC!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHW-DOR, Director of Rooms at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for your kind comments! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay & that you were well taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Haven't stayed at a proper 5 star hotel for a while, and this one lived up to the rating. Staffs were very professional, friendly, and helpful from check in to booking restaurants and giving directions. The room was spacious, modern, and spotless clean. However, the TV was not working properly on 2 occasions, but was fixed promptly. The water pressure in the showers was very very weak... Breakfast was expensive, but nice. The hotel is at an intersection where there are 3 major hotels, on many occasions, there are some police convoys escorting VIPs arriving/leaving with sirens, not the hotel's fault, but a bit annoying. Its a short walk to Foggy Bottom metro station. And they provided a free transfer to Union Station with the hotel car. There were minor glitches, but overall, a true 5 star property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Park Hyatt exceeded our expectations in every way. Truly a 5-star experience....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#17 of 142 in Washington DC
1,225 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,935 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £210 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing