We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegantly Subtle and Accomodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Elegantly Subtle and Accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I have had two extended stays at the Park Hyatt for business in their Premiere Park Deluxe. I like this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The Premiere Park Deluxe room is a good space for work and sleep as there is a separate area apart from the bedroom with a desk and comfy chairs. Ethernet is free, wi-fi is charged at appx $10 a day, however, if the ethernet cable (provided) does not work--wi-fi connection may be given free.

The room is very comfortable, black out drapes, large comfy bed. The bathroom area is exceptional with the stone-like tile, the soak tub (bath salts provided) adjacent to the overhead "rain" shower-head, and a separate detachable shower head.

There is a gym on the premise, small but more than adequate, with new equipment, treadmills, ellipticals, recumbant and normal bikes as well as free weights, weight machines, swiss balls, medicine balls, and a pully machine, and a single bench. The pool is indoors, medium size (not big enough for laps) and a large jacuzzi.

The "spa" looks like small locked room --- this hotel does not really have a spa facility.

There tea room and blue duck look nice but I didn't go. There is no bar atmosphere. You can get drinks in a room that looks more like a breakfast area.

The decor is a modern shaker style--charming, elegenatly subtle and tasteful.

The location is about 5 minutes from Georgetown shopping and 5 minutes from the Foggy Bottom metro station.

There is room service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dateleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    313
    89
    51
    27
See reviews for
379
473
105
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My wife and I stayed there for a quick visit to Washington DC in May.We were very happy with the service and the size of our suite. The bathroom is huge with large soaking tub and no barrier open shower. The only thing I don't like is the luggage closet is also in the bathroom.The room is spacious with big windows.Staff are friendly and attentive.We did not have dinner there, but their breakfast were very good with great choices..
The location is quite convenient too for site-seeing, most of the memorial is just a short taxi ride. One morning we even walk back from Franklin memorial in less than 1/2 an hour after getting there by taxi.
We would stay there again next time visiting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here for a short, but memorable, extended weekend trip. I hadn't visited DC since I was a kid and wanted to stay somewhere luxurious and yet outside of the Capitol Hill hubbub. This is the perfect retreat for those who don't mind the short walk (30-45 minutes; 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station) to the more popular sights and museums.

We were automatically upgraded to a tremendous suite with an extra half-bathroom and sitting area. A generous, "American-style" breakfast is included with any AAA membership. The hotel is located just a couple blocks away from Georgetown's superb shopping district-- a charming stretch of shops and eateries, with rustic views of the nearby river and canal. We also fell in love with nearby Embassy Row, riding bikes (provided by the hotel) to explore the district's gorgeous townhouses. Dinner at the hotel's Blue Duck Tavern was especially tasty, though I'd recommend sharing side dishes and appetizers rather than limiting yourself to the less interesting main courses.

The staff was incredibly gracious, and the accomodations were magnificent. The look and feel of the hotel is sumptuous without being overbearing. (There is also a well-equipped fitness center and pool/jacuzzi area, but I'll have to check out those amenities on my next trip.) My only kvetch is that house cars are only available on weekdays. I understand that many visitors leave DC on the weekends, but can't a five-star establishment afford to keep at least one housecar on hand for weekend guests? This issue aside, I won't be straying from the Park Hyatt on any of my future trips to DC.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We recently had 2 weeks here and it was a great place to stay. The room was comfortable especially the bed and bathroom. And it was spotless. However the breakfast service left a disappointing edge. Still not something that would prevent me from recommending this lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. And the Blue Duck Tavern is a great restaurant. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woozal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHW-DOR, Director Of Rooms at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Woozal27,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to be your home for two weeks. Its good to know that you felt comfortable as that is really our aim. I am concerned to hear about your disappointment with the breakfast service though. If you have a moment, I would very much appreciate it if you email me the details of your experience. The feedback would most certainly be used to evaluate & improve our operational procedures. You can email me directly at cornelia.samara@hyatt.com. Many thanks for taking the time to write this note.

Warmest Regards,
Cornelia Samara
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Park Hyatt is a wonderful, luxurious and very stylish hotel, in a good DC location. Service staff are very helfpul and friendly. The only reason why I withhold one star in my rating is the breakfast. First: The tables are rather small and not very comfortable. Secondly: I'm the kind of guy who appreciates an opulent breakfast buffet with lots of options to choose from and something different to try each day. The Hyatt offers a rather slim buffet (top-notch-quality food indeed, everything organic, good bread, etc.) and a menu to order from.
Nevertheless: I would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank German_RedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights and had a fabulous time. All staff were very accommodating and we were very taken care of. Very upscale yet comfortable. We used the bikes on site to tour all of the sights on the national mall and Arlington Cemetery. The concierge made dinner reservations for us, and provided Holocaust Museum tickets. The rooms were modern and large, the bathroom was the size of an average hotel room. (King deluxe room). We will be back, and will try out other Hyatt's around the world as a result.

One down side. The hot tub was luke warm, major bummer after a waking tour of the city, however we did have a large deep bathtub in the room which was put to use.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSmallState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is ideal for business people, singles and couples looking for high end accommodations near Georgetown or GWU, or who have plans downtown but don't want to stay there. The area is very young and hip, but much quieter than Capitol Hill or other areas of DC. The hotel is a 4.5 star in my opinion - the facility and amenities are excellent but they just miss 5 star level. The Blue Duck Tavern is an excellent place to eat and really no more expensive than similar places nearby even though it is several cuts above. The Park Hyatt is far superior to the Westin right across the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookingToChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing