We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel Experience Worthy Of Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from a quick 2 night stay at The Park Hyatt Washington over July 4th. From the moment of arrival out front to check out everything was top notch. Every staff person was outstanding and incredibly accomodating. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are well stocked with complimentary bottled water and plentiful and luxurious toiletries. The toiletries were restocked even though hardly used. This is a pet peeve of mine at so many hotels. Our last experience with the Hyatt brand was at the Andaz 5th Avenue in NYC and was an awful experience. The Park Hyatt Washington has restored our faith in the Hyatt brand. We usually stay closer to the Dupont Circle area which is more convenient to our son's apt but we will probably return to the Park Hyatt instead.
We had breakfast included in our plan and the restaurant staff, especially the manager, was so nice and accomodating. We will try it for dinner on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of the hotel on 24th street and although on a higher floor we still heard q...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear tammilip,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of our property. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us and how wonderful you were treated by our staff. I will be sure to pass along your valued feedback and will let the team know how they helped "restore your faith in Hyatt." We hope to welcome you back during your next visit with your son.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

A wonderful hotel that is hard to fault. Lovely location in Washington, central but on a quiet road, ensuring quiet nights away from traffic! Despite being a big hotel the staff aim to give you a personalised and unique stay! Staff are ALL very friendly, helpful and knowledgable, nothing is too much trouble for them. The decor throughout the hotel is lovely, of a high standard and well maintained. Anyone else out there that likes to use the gym.... The gym is a very good size for the size of hotel and well equiped. The bar is very good and serves a varied selection of drinks and snacks. If there was only one thing I would warn of it is that the hotel resteraunt is fantastic and is one of the most acclaimed resteraunts in Washington. Naturally, this comes at a price. If you want something a little more relaxed to eat then you are not far away from Georgetown with plenty to offer including lots of brilliant resteraunts both expensive and inexpensive.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel overlooking the road but as it is a quiet road at night it w...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Georgina K,

Thank you sharing your recent experience at Park Hyatt Washington. We appreciate your generous comments and value your feedback of our staff. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay, from the service to the decor to our fitness facilities. Should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Park Hyatt. I choose this hotel based on the great reviews by others who have stayed here and the current Free Time promotion that was being offered by the Hyatt. We stayed in a Park Parlor suite and it was perfect for my husband, 14 year old son and me; having an extra room, TV and bathroom for our son worked out terrific. We enjoyed the room so much that the view of the air handler was not an issue for us, but certainly may be for others! The location is within walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Georgetown, a few blocks from the metro and a short cab ride from the monuments and museums. The bathroom was amazing and spa-like ~ the best touch was the bath salts for the tub. I have to say this is the first time I have ever indulged in a bath at a hotel, but the bath salts, robe and slippers were just too good to pass up. Breakfast was included in our rate and was exceptional from the service to the food! One of the most memorable parts of our stay was using the complimentary bikes. I'm sure most guests are not aware of them, or may be reluctant to use them, but we were able to see so much in a few hours ~ we rode along the waterfront over the Arlington Bridge to the cemetery and to see Iwo Jima then back along some dirt biking paths and eventually thru Georgetown University. I totally recommend making use of the bikes!! Thank You Park Hyatt for making our stay a pleasant and relaxing one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gotorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear gotorado,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us, including our limestone soaking tub and complimentary bicycles. The bicycles are a great way to explore the city. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital.

Best,
Renee Sharrow
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband, son and I met my dad and stepmother for a three day stay at the Park Hyatt. Initially we were a little concerned at check in because the room they gave us for 3 people was a room with only 2 twin beds (!) and no room for a roll away. After discussing the problem with the front desk we were upgraded to a lovely mini-suite. The mini-suite had a sitting area, bedroom area and large bathroom. There were interesting touches throughout that maximized the space. One example was the t.v. on a rotating axis so that it could be turned to face the sitting area or bedroom. There was also a sliding full length mirror that served as the bathroom door.
The decor was very calm and neutral with an emphasis on folk art objects.

The bathroom had a large but strange shower. It had one of those rain shower heads located directly above the bather. There was also another hose-type shower head that could be used instead of or in addition to the overhead one. The weird thing was that there is no curtain or door so you are kind of hanging out in the middle of the floor taking a shower. For more modest people sharing the room with someone, this would mean that the other person wouldn't be able to get ready in the bathroom without seeing a full frontal view of the person showering. The other thing about this set up is it left the floor quite slick and one should take care not to slip. The bath was deep and nice and had a jar of bath salts for added luxury.
The bathroom had very nice toiletries (made in Canada, not tested on animals, nice smelling) and also included items not normally provided, such as mini-toothpastes and complimentary bottled water.

The hotel has a great restaurant called The Blue Duck Tavern that served an innovative menu of farm to table, organic foods. Our package included breakfast with our rate and it was excellent. The french toast was the best I have ever had.

My husband and son used the pool and said it was nice but not exceptional. My husband enjoyed the work out room and had a similar response.

My dad and stepmother had a similar mini-suite and it was equally as nice as ours. The view for both rooms was underwhelming-- essentially we looked into the windows of the Fairmont Hotel across the street. The rooms were light and quiet, so the lack of view was not a big problem for us.

The hotel staff was professional and solicitous. They were great, particularly when resolving the room issue. The restaurant staff was also very good.

My son loved the benches in the elevators.

Parking was expensive, but I think that is often the case in DC. Also, the prices at the spa was prohibitively expensive ($168 plus tip for a mani and pedi) so I didn't book there.

Overall, a great experience. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was also in a convenient/ safe area of DC.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a great stay - service was friendly by everyone and extremely helpful. The room was comfortable without it feeling too hotelly. Breakfast at the Blue Duck was always good, great selection of food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelladybug2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear travelladybug2007,

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is nice to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, including our helpful service. I will be sure to share with your comments with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincere Regards,
Ratna Steden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just got back back from a long weekend in DC. First trip there and really enjoyed our stay. Staff is wonderful, complimentary breakfast is very good, and the deluxe room we had was very comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. In fact first night home in my own bed, did not sleep as well!! Great vacation!! We will definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that we helped make your first visit to DC a memorable one. Our Hyatt Grand Beds, which you enjoyed so much, are actually available for sale by visiting www.hyattathome.com. We hope to welcome back to Park Hyatt Washington and the nation's capital again soon.

Sincere Regards,
Ratna Steden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Admittedly I have only stayed in this hotel as a business traveller but it really is a top class hotel. Professional and friendly staff, fantastic rooms, excellent breakfast and all staff is extremely helpful. There is nothing they will not help out with and they sincerely try to accommodate all requests. Would definitely stay here on a private trip as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Kharro,

Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us, especially our helpful staff and your breakfast at Blue Duck Tavern. We look forward to welcoming you back - this time on personal visit to DC!

Sincere Regards,
Ratna Steden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,177 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £193 - £653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing