We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificence marred by workmanship”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel tries to be the epitome of excellence, and I really wanted to give it a top rating. The elegant decor with real Shaker furniture and accessories, the full bathtub, European glassware by Bodum and Schott, and quality toiletries were all wonderful and luxurious. The numerous staff ensured quick and professional service. Their black attire was understated, but made it a tad confusing to immediately identify them apart from the guests. The restaurant was fantastic. So it was disappointing, given that no expense was spared in the quality of the materials, that the workmanship on the construction was terrible, at least in my room. One of the faucet handles on my sink was installed backwards, so that it opened when turning right instead of left. Worse, the shower did too, even though the water was still hotter to the left -- that means that the water gets hotter when turning the shower OFF -- definitely a code violation. I experienced quite a bit of confusion trying to figure it out at first, and a brief moment of panic when I thought I didn't know how to shut off the water -- the handle actually overshoots the off point and opens the valve again. The sink faucets were also installed so close to the back wall that I pinched my fingers against the mirror when operating them. And don't look too closely at the tiling and wallpaper in the bathroom -- it again showed noticeably poor workmanship. It's a pity about such obvious problems. On the whole, though, this really was a splendid hotel, and I'd certainly give it another go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Andromeda07,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. While I am happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time at the hotel and Blue Duck Tavern, I am rather disappointed to hear the opportunities experienced in your guestroom. I have already shared your comments with our Director of Engineering, who will see to it that sink faucets are corrected immediately. Please do feel free to contact me directly when making your next reservation with us.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here for our anniversary weekend. We were immediately helped when we arrived. The staff was wonderful and very courteous. We reserved a King room with a stone bath and it was amazing! Like others have said, its upscale with a contemporary feel. There was a sitting room with a moon shaped desk and comfortable desk chair. Across from the desk was two swivel single chairs that faced the TV. The TV was situated on a swing door so it rotated to the bedroom as well. The King bed was very comfortable and the bedding was very inviting as well. The bathroom is the best part of the room. It has a deep stone bath and open stone shower with two delightful spa rain showerheads. The towels and robes were very large and soft! The location is in excellent proximity to metro, many restaurants and bars. On the third floor they have a very inviting pool and Jacuzzi as well with comfortable lounge chairs for reading or relaxing! We are visiting this location again in March. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Jessica S,

Happy belated anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. It is wonderful to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your special weekend at the hotel. It sounds like a truly nice stay. I understand you are returning again soon, so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Large soft towels. You expect that in a luxury hotel. There are no larger, softer, nor luxurious towels than at this Park Hyatt. Like everything else here, it is a cut above the expected.

The Park Hyatt is upscale luxury with a contemporary feel - not the antiquated feel that one gets in some hotels in this category.

Another nice thing about this hotel is that is houses one of the top restaurants in the city. Hint: they have a selection of twenty or so domestic artisan cheeses that can be pair with various Charcuterie. For me that can make a very fine dinner.

The service from the exquisitely attired staff is exceptional. When one comes down to the lobby for breakfast you need not ramble around to find the restaurant. The charming and beautiful Tita welcomes you at the elevator landing and guides you to your table. A nice little extra touch.

I stay at Park Hyatt when I can. They are all exceptional. This one is among the very best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 2 nights with our two teenagers. Their double was spacious and well-appointed, and our premier deluxe king was very spacious and comfortable, with a large seating area and a half-moon desk. The furnishings were modern and elegant, with nice amenities in the rooms. The location was excellent for proximity to Georgetown- a short cab ride- in the Foggy Bottom area. The restaurant - Blue Duck Tavern- was a highlight, both for the gourmet breakfasts and a fantastic dinner, as well as the farm to table philosophy and the beautiful space. This is NOT a typical hotel restaurant. Overall service was not only helpful, but pleasant. When we needed a taxi and one was not immediately available, the driver took us in the hotel courtesy sedan to our Georgetown destination. The pool was smaller than it appeared in the photos, but it was a nice space with a hot tub as well. Of note, we had a family plan discount rate which made the second room much less expensive, and which I could not get via Expedia, but did by calling the hotel directly. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank demetrios212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear demetrios212,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read how much you and your family enjoyed your visit - from the convenience of our Family Plan rate to the cuisine of Blue Duck Tavern. It sounds like a wonderful trip to DC was had by all. We thank you again, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I visit DC once or twice a year and this continues to be the benchmark. Wonderful staff and concierge, fantastic rooms, on-site complimentary bikes, tea cellar, Le Labo toiletries, Geneva sound systems. I could go on but it would get exhausting. DC is an underrated city itself but to be honest half the reason I go is to stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear JereF1,

Wow! Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding our hotel. We certainly appreciate your loyalty and patronage when visiting the nation's capital and for your making us your hotel of choice. Please be sure to say hello on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I were looking for a short weekend getaway in Georgetown for the weekend of Valentines Day. We were a bit surprised to see that the hotel was a few blocks away from Georgetown but it wasn't a huge deal. The hotel was amazing from start to finish. Excellent service, amazing accommodations,overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyraR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, General Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear KyraR19,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for Valentine's Day. I am happy to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your getaway, including the service of our team. We hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Davidson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in mid December. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy this beautiful city. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge who gave us great tips on museums to visit and sights worth visiting. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms and large with great amenities provided. We were travelling with teenage daughters who shared an inter leading room which to was very comfortable. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and found they had a good selection of choices. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,173 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,284 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Address: 1201 24th St NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £192 - £652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing