We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grown Up Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #23 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grown Up Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

My husband and I used the hotel as home base during a Labor Day weekend stay in DC. Turned out to be the perfect grown-up paradise!
We liked the location (edge of DC, cusp of Georgetown), the room (we were upgraded to king suite) was well designed and spacious but not big per se.
The overall vibe of the place was perfect for a couple seeking refuge from cookie cutter business hotels: calm, elegant and welcoming.
We did not eat there, but hear the Blue Duck Tavern restaurant is excellent.
The service was generally very good.
Concierge service was the weak link. The concierge seemed either too new to DC to know any good eating spots - or too busy to call back.
That notwithstanding, it was an excellent weekend pick for DC.

  • Liked — elegant space
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    318
    94
    52
    28
See reviews for
389
481
107
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Was looking forward to staying in renovated hotel but highly disappointed. Renovated suite too dark, no kids menus, wheelchair/stroller exits into an alley (there used to be a ramp out the front door, but no more.). Outgoing phone calls from room overpriced ($19.63 for 6 second call) but turns out there was a phone problem from my room. Great doormen, lots of front office and coffee shop staff who seemed confused most of time. Stayed previously with kids and it was wonderful pre-renovation - maybe they are trying to only attract business people now.

  • Liked — Could walk to Georgetown
  • Disliked — Suite room too dark
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrollermomHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

We have choosen this hotel for our 4 nights stay in Washington D.C. based on reviews on "Tripadvisor" and room advice on "TripKick" and made the booking via the hotel site, section "special offers". During the period of our stay (July 23 to 27), there was a time limited 25% off promotion with a 14 days firm advance booking. As our schedule was set, this was convenient to us.

Upon confirmation of booking, e-concierge offered various incrementals. We have chosen two restaurant visits, the in-house Blue Duck Tavern and the nearby Filomena, which were confirmed by return.

After a delayed late night Amtrak arrival from NYC and a half hour line for a cab at Union Station watching pouring the rain, we were happy to be expected by reception and that the room we had asked for was still available. It was already midnight, but the room was so immaculate that we took out our pocket Canon for a few non flash shoots.

Our stay was as expected: a very pleasant, spacious room with a Zen bath and shower experience, friendly staff, nice meals and drinks and a check-out as smooth as the check-in. A special mention for the Japanese receptionist that proposed to email us the answer to a very secondary question she would have to investigate as well as for the lounge waitresses that were very welcoming during breakfast and cocktails.

Some reviewers criticized the fact that the dressing is in the bathroom. We found it on the contrary interesting to get dressed up in accordance with the progress in the bathroom, however, it did bother us that there is no door to the toilet section. We think that a smoked glass door could easily be fixed to provide the necessary privacy.

Another point to mention is that there is no minibar price list that allows you to know items and prices. Strange enough, there is no white wine on offer!

We found the room temperature too low for us, but were not able to regulate it.

Lastly, our long awaited experience at Blue Duck Tavern was a bit neutral in the sense that all the plates served to us were very delicate and tasty, but the portions were rather samplers (especially if you are a vegetarian or tempted by the only vegetarian entree: 4 pieces of ravioli). Also, the introduction of the chef de service was unusual to us: "are you familiar with the menu?" followed by a rather sharp : "Yes or no?". His final words "welcome to Blue Duck" were all but convincing. Let us say that the exception confirms the rule and we enjoyed the interaction with all other members of the team.

  • Liked — The Zen experience
  • Disliked — The Blue Duck chef de service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellersfromswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed at the Park Hyatt DC over the July 4th weekend, we thought the hotel was wonderful! It was our first trip with our 7 month old daughter. We got the Park King Deluxe room- over 600 square feet- lots of room, the bathroom was great with the rainfall shower and soaking tub. The staff was beyond nice and so very helpful. DC is a great city, we can't wait to go back. This hotel is in a great location and a 5 minute walk to Georgetown- You can't go wrong with this luxury hotel!

  • Liked — Pure Luxury
  • Disliked — We had to go home
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

Wonderful place to stay - the staff is great, very very helpful and the hotel is amazing! We stayed there with our 7 month old daughter and got a Park Deluxe Room - great room with kids- their space and our space! Two bathrooms! The rainfall shower was great!

If you can, book a package with breakfast ( like AAA or their Awaken) package! Their breakfasts are great, but over the top expensive unless you have a package. My husband & I got breakfast and it was $98... Good thing we had it included, and this was just a normal breakfast!

Overall, this hotel is great, nicer than the Ritz, etc.. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Pure Luxury! We didn't want to come home!
  • Disliked — We had to come home!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLT19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Park Hyatt Washington. I took my family to D.C. to celebrate the Fourth of July. All four of us left D.C. suitably impressed with the PHW.

When the four of us travel together we always book two connecting rooms. Sometimes this works out smoothly and sometimes it doesn't. We arrived at the hotel at 9:15 am having asked for early check-in but not really expecting anything that early in the day. The front desk explained that our children's room was ready but apologized that our room, we had booked a Park Deluxe King, was still occupied. No problem! We were happy to have a room to put our luggage into rather than just leave it in storage. The four of us piled into the kids' room, a Park Twin (with two twin beds), at 9:30 am and then proceeded out of the hotel to explore the city. When we arrived back at the hotel later that afternoon we were told that our second room was ready. Did I say room? What I meant to say was suite! My husband and I had been upgraded to a Park Suite which connected to our children's room. This suite was amazing! It was over 1,000 square feet and had a living room, a study, a bedroom, and two bathrooms! This combination of suite and connecting room is now our gold standard in family travel. It will be hard to beat.

Location, Location, Location! On our last family trip to D.C. we stayed at the St. Regis and were rather disappointed in the location. Yes, it is close to the White House and the Metro but at night that area was pretty dead and there weren't many choices when it came to restaurants, except for Olives, which is excellent. We decided that on our next visit we would stay in or near Georgetown, which has a fun vibe and doesn't close down after six p.m. We picked the Park Hyatt Washington because we are familiar with the Park Hyatt brand, it is very close to Georgetown (which is two blocks away), and has easy access to the Metro (Foggy Bottom-GWU) about four-five blocks away. We chose the PHW over the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton Georgetown because these two hotels have no close access to the Metro and the PHW had the best deals of all three. We were very happy with our decision. The Metro station was less than a ten minute walk, all of it through a pleasant residential/hotel area. Georgetown is also about a ten to twenty minute walk, depending of your destination. Our kids love Pizzeria Paradiso, and I am a big fan of Dean & Deluca, both took about fifteen minutes to walk to from the PHW. The bellmen/doormen at the hotel are particularly helpful and welcoming. They provided us with bottles of water when we returned after a long day of walking around the Mall and also had plenty of umbrellas available when it looked like rain was a possibility.

We were fortunate that our hotel rate included breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast menu was varied and had something for everyone. The continental breakfast had a nice layout of pastries, (the cherry coffee cake with cardamom streusel is something that all four of us are going through withdrawal from this morning), fruit, cereal, and the like. The staff in the restaurant were all very helpful and the service was excellent. The four of us celebrated the Fourth of July with dinner at the Blue Duck Tavern, the Park Hyatt Washington's acclaimed restaurant. I was a bit trepidatious because not all hotel restaurants live up to their hype. I can think of a few Park Hyatt hotel restaurants that have been a disappointment in the past. Needless to say our meal at the Blue Duck Tavern was delicious. We ordered a number of entrees and side dishes for all four of us to share. Our dessert plates were almost licked clean. Before I forget, talking about food got me thinking about the PHW concierge. This hotel's concierge service is impeccable. They were able to get us reservations and any other information that we requested in a timely manner. If anything needed extra research or time they were quick to give me a call as soon as the information was obtained.

All in all, we would highly recommend the Park Hyatt Washington to everyone, be they leisure or business travelers. The hotel itself, its staff, its restaurant, and its location are all unbeatable if you are traveling to D.C. We will be staying there next time we are in D.C.

  • Liked — The hotel's accommodations, service, food, and location
  • Disliked — The only negative was that the bathrooms do not have any place to hang towels.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Renaissancemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

I stayed here in June 2008 with the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts program. My wife and I were upgraded to a park suite, which was a great room. Huge walk-in closet, a large walk-in shower, separate bedroom, dining area, and den with a half bath, flat screen TV and plenty of seating. We were visiting my brothers and the room was perfect for entertaining.

We had an American Continental breakfast with our room package; it was served buffet style and had a lot of options, though more fresh fruit and maybe some simple toast would have been nice.

The pool area was small but nice; they didn't have any lounge chairs, only normal chairs (and about 20 of them), which would have been nice to relax in. Also no showers that I saw to rinse off before getting in the water. The gym was very nicely equipped for a hotel gym w/ TV's, dumbbells, a nice cable machine and most of the other weight machines you would expect.

The staff was very helpful and not overly stuffy. They had plenty of umbrellas at the front door when it rained, and were very quick to respond to requests for ice or an ironing board.

Overall, a great stay, especially for anyone looking for a less stuffy but still 5 star alternative to the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons nearby.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing