We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Washington
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We usually enjoy Park Hyatt Hotels, especially in Europe and Asia.

This hotel is washington has a tremendous restaurant - one lf the best in town - , a very nice lobby, comfortable rooms even if the architect has never uses a dressing considering the lack of space of the ones in the rooms, average corrido decoration. It is OK, low key for a Park Hyatt compared to Paris or Beijing.

BUT: the "spa" is juste a real, deep pain/shame. Imagine that to access it...you need to cross the hotel on floor 3, the use the horrible emergency stalrs to go one level up ! It is absurd. You feel like you are in a 2stars hotel.

This said, service is impeccable, front desk and concierge as helpful as dedicated.

Last point: valet parking at 40 USD per night is outrageous.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HISKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear HISKANDER,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. While I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our guestrooms and cuisine at Blue Duck Tavern, it is disappointing to hear that our spa room did not meet your expectations. The spa room is located in our adjacent Guest House, which can be accessed on the 3rd floor, as you mention, but also has a private entrance off the lobby. I do wish that our team had made you aware, and for that, please accept my sincerest apologies. We hope that you continue to patron the Park Hyatt brand, and will look to return again to our hotel, should your travels bring you back to Washington.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    318
    94
    52
    28
See reviews for
389
482
107
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Walking distance to Georgetown. Very pretty and kept well. Friendly attentive staff that aim to please. The restaurant in the hotel Blue Duck is excellent! Fantastic Food and service

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank srh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Dusty comforter and pillows. You would think after asking them to wash everything with hot water because my daughter and myself suffer with allergies they would find a comforter and pillows that were clean. We came back to the room to find a comforter that had coffee stains and pillows still dusty. They also said they would change chair covers and vacuum the room to accommodate our allergies. We came back to the room to find chairs with food particles on them, floor unvacuumed and a dirty coffee bar with a dirty glass. After asking them to help us with our allergies was that a joke? they came back to clean and brought us wine and chocolates. We don't drink wine but a clean comforter and fresh pillows would had suffice. I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and try the bed one more night. My daughter woke up at 5am with bad allergies while I had doubled on Claritin which did not help. Sleeping on the clean bed according to them made my allergies bad and felt better only after I took a shower. We went to a different hotel the next morning. The restaurant and the in room dining staff were great. I don't know whether the housekeeping didn't care to double check on a high end customer or it's because a lot of their cleaning staff doesn't speak English; perhaps the supervisors tell them to clean something but they don't fully understand. What should they do? the supervisors should follow through when they promise to do something to make sure the room is as expected after the cleaning staff finishes the room. They also need to wash all their linens and comforters with hot water. Some of the towels smell mildew hot water and clorox works wonders.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattDC, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Katerina W,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that unfortunately, it was not a favorable visit due to opportunities with our housekeeping department. Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to create a welcoming experience for you and your daughter. We always strive to provide our guests with a memorable stay, and clearly this was not the case. I have passed your comments along to our rooms division management team for further review.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Loved this hotel, the staff, and the rooms!... for sure will try to stay here next visit to DC. I came for a wedding with some friends and we were really enjoying the weekend and the hotel accommodations

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The property and room were outstanding, very swank but understated, with a spa-like modern decor. Not stuffy at all. They upgraded us to a premier room without us asking, which was very large and completely beautiful, although I am sure the basic rooms are excellent too. The bathroom was huge with slate floors, and an open rain-shower in addition to the tub. There was a great open storage cabinet in the bathroom as well, a really nice idea. Service was perfect, including the milk and cookies they brought for our kids at bedtime. Nice indoor pool and gym. Overall a fantastic hotel and well worth the very reasonable $299 they charged per night; it really felt like a far more expensive place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeandThelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown nj, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We held our daughters wedding reception at the Park Hyatt. We had a block of room for our guest. The hotel was very accommodating . The rooms were large , comfortable and clean. The lounge We held our daughter's wedding reception at the Park Hyatt. We had a block of rooms for our guest. The hotel was very accommodating to all our needs. We enjoyed the food in room service, the lounge , and the excellent food from the Blue Duck Tavern for our reception and morning after breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall, we loved this hotel's location, ambiance, and amenities. It is a short walk to downtown Georgetown, the Kennedy Center, and has easy access to Rock Creek Park. The hotel itself has an awesome modern decor, which extends to the rooms. Our room (on the 10th floor) was spacious, exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. Extra perks: Nespresso machine in the room, a flat-panel TV that swung out from the wall, great bathroom (and delicious-smelling toiletries) and adorable dog amenities. The package we booked also included breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, which was a real treat. They offer either a very nice buffet, or a la carte, and there is a lovely outdoor seating area, which we took advantage of. We enjoyed this hotel immensely, and that is despite a rocky start. We had a bit of a delay checking-in, getting seated at breakfast the first morning, and with the dog amenities, which we had pre-ordered for our pooch. My husband said something to the manager and he instantly made it right, waiving the dog fee and ensuring that we were seated promptly the next morning. We are already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLawNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Washington

Property: Park Hyatt Washington
Address: 1201 24th Street NW, (at the intersection of 24th & M Streets NW), Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Washington, located in the fashionable West End Georgetown neighborhood of the nation's capital, combines sophisticated modernism with classic American style. With its Tea Cellar offering rare and vintage tea selections, intimate Spa Room offering an array of services and treatments, redesigned flexible event and meeting space, and celebrated Blue Duck Tavern restaurant, Park Hyatt Washington offers guests a unique experience in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Hotel Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing