We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the rouge kimpton in Washington d. C.!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved the rouge kimpton in Washington d. C.!”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Rooms were very clean. Great service. A bit of a walk to the attractions but if your kids are old enough it is very worth it! Good neighborhood and quiet at night. They like kids and dogs and we got a night of free valet parking because we have a red car! You can ask for a pet free room if you want. Totally cool hotel with great decor and wine tasting for free in evening.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234567890000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    656
    205
    83
    36
See reviews for
392
586
153
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

this hotel is great!!! you must stay here! the only thing that bothered me is that the air conditioning was not very good. I stayed in the room with the king bed and bunk beds and it was very nice but had one small bathroom for four of us which didn't work well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfree98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear sfree98,

Thank you so much for the feedback, glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apology regarding AC issue in your, we will definitely address this. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please visit us again soon.

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Trying to book my trip was a bit of a hassle.I was trying to accomadate 4 ladies and be cost effective.The queen queen deluxe wasnt available and the front desk attendant assured me to make my reservation and call back and she would do everythong she could to accomadate us.And low and behold she did.I was able to check in extra early upon my arrival.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The decor of the hotel is beautiful.Its located in the heart of D.C surronded by so much.Cleanlinessot even an issue.They made me feel very secure.And we definitely enjoyed the wine reception that they do every day for an hr for their guest.The whole weekend my friends and I couldnt stop talking about Rouge.I highly recoomend it and Kimpton hotels as well.There AAA rates are great and their breakfast is a must.They also have a bar for late nights.Not only that rooms with bunk beds so it remains family oriented and its dog friendly!!!

Room Tip: Check rates online and its a lot cheaper if you pre-pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHenry50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
MsHenry50,

Thank you so much for a great review, I am very happy to know that we were able accommodate your request and you and your friends had fun at the Rouge and enjoyed the wine hour. Do not hesitate to contact us again on your future accommodation when you travel in DC. Thank you. Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, nc
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at Rouge, and were wowed by the terrific style, the wonderful staff, and the great dinner. But our stay in room 602 was marred by some sort of problem with the water heater. The water ran so hot that we could only turn it on slightly in the shower, which meant of course, a trickle from the shower head. If we turned it up enough to have a good flow of water, we got scalded. I hope that Hotel Rouge can fix this problem as it partly spoiled what was otherwise a completely delightful trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndtimecharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear 2ndtimecharm,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and most of all thank you for staying with us. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff exceeded your expectations. Please accept my apology regarding the hot water issue experienced, issue was resolved. Please visit us again soon.

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This extremely well located, exceptionally well serviced hotel is a nice discovery. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, neat and clean. Personnel is discrete, attentive and gentle. The price is better than any other hotel chain with a similar quality of service. I have stayed more than once here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mreyesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

From the moment you enter this hotel you feel very welcomed. It might be the ice cold water or the wine reception at night, this hotel wants the guests to feel pampered. Love the red theme that even after 5 days, did not get old. Had a very large room at the end of the 3rd floor that had a separate dressing area as well as bathroom. Very useful when you have a coworker you are staying with (especially if you are an early riser).
Twice I went on a morning run around the National Mall. This hotel is right down the street from the White House and the hotel front desk made sure I had a good running route. Immediately after I came back they greeted me with a couple of cold bottles of water (complimentary). After many runs at different hotels, this the first time I was ever asked, "How was your run?"...Nice touch!
On to breakfast. Nice area to hang out for coffee and pastries. Since I am trying to cut down the carbs, Teena, the wonderful hostess (i think, she was AMAZING) made sure I had a couple of eggs...every morning, even if she wasn't working, my eggs were ready. Great morning service, especially from Romina. Those two ladies are awesome! They made sure people were happy the entire visit!!! Teena also wants to get to know all her guests, through the wine reception.
So one complaint, Teena and Romina can't be there 24 hours. The bartender girl (luckily only worked one night during my stay) was extremely rude. Seemed to say she would be back to take my order, and it took forever. Not sure if it was due to me being female, since it seems the men at this establishment, that night, got service quickly. Long story short, when she asked if I wanted another drink (after I already ordered one 20 minutes beforehand and still did not receive it) I said no since her service was horrible. She became loud and defensive. Like I was the only person in the world that has ever said that! She should be used to it.
Besides that, I will stay at this hotel again. Would suggest if it if you have kids, no kids, pets, etc... it fits everyone. Also stay if you want to be close to the DC action, White House, National Mall, and a very short walk to DuPont Circle.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferdeanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were welcomed by both the Manager and assistant manger. Several emails from assistant manger to make sure we were happy. Our kids were giving backpacks with toys and water. Cookies and milk each night before bed. Kids loved the bunk beds! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsyfamily87105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan0117, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Gypsyfamily87105,

Very glad the family enjoyed the stay at Rouge Hotel and the staff exceeded your expectations. Please visit us again soon. Thank you so much for your business.


Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
1,266 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,063 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing