We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay was a great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay was a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Everything about this hotel is well-planned and accommodating. The rooms are large & comfortable, the location is very convenient to the attractions on and near the Mall as well as Georgetown, the staff could not be any more helpful, and the cost is very modest. We loved it and will certainly stay here again.

Green Features: The eco-friendly practices are yet another plus in my book.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freda_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Freda_C_T. I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday in DC and thank you for choosing the Rouge! We hope that you will come back to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    638
    201
    77
    35
See reviews for
381
577
152
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our room and our friends' room were both spacious and comfortable with great beds. The hotel staff, from reception to restaurant to housekeeping, is very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We especially enjoyed the daily Happy Hour after returning from museums and walking the mall. We look forward to staying again at the Rouge on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear William T. Thank you for your review. Being “outstanding” is a great compliment and we thank you for noticing all the things we do to make sure our guests feel comfortable and well cared for! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Really great hotel - my teenagers loved it. The rooms were really large, and we were in an adjoining one as requested. The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and it was in a great location - especially the eateries on P street

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosev21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Rosev21. I am so pleased that enjoyed your visit and thank you for choosing the Rouge to stay during your family holiday to DC. Thank you for telling other travelers about your great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

You may get to like the eccentric décor; perhaps not the rather slow elevator.
Good location: 15-20 minute walk to the White House, just around the corner from a bus station and eateries/bars on P Street, 10+ minutes to the nearest metro station north of Dupont Circle.
Very accommodating staff. Daily Happy Hour is a nice gesture. Decent, reasonably priced continental breakfast.
Spacious room, excellent mattress & bedding. Bathroom is too small (hence *** room rating).
Complementary WiFi, good reception in public areas, but our 10th floor room was mostly out of range, and wired connection proved useless.
I preferred nighttime street parking and daytime close-by $13/day garage over the hotel's $42/day car park.

Room Tip: Try the WiFi / wired connection before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neta_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Neta_Amit. Thank you for recommending the Rouge and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a good value! I am sorry that the wireless access was poor from your room. We are increasing our bandwidth this month to accommodate the need for better and faster service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is in a ideal position for visiting the city only a 5min walk from the White House and 10 to 15minutes to the Museum area, the hotel room was clean on arrival and we found the area to be quiet, I would recomeend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear David M. I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday in DC and at the Rouge. Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel obviously takes pride in its seductive vibe, from the bright red walls to the leopard-print bath robes. My room was clean and spacious, but I was puzzled because there was a HUGE mirror in front of a door. It was too heavy to be moved, but somewhat strange. Also, the bathroom was a bit small. Other than that, this was a nice, clean hotel. The bed was very comfortable, but the room wasn't super relaxing because of the vibrant colors in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear stephibaby. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We do take pride in our uniqueness and love to hear when people are pleasantly surprised by our cool and comfortable vibe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a one night stay and picked this hotel because they take dogs, any size, and are they are aloud to stay in the room if you go out. Of course, this is only if your dog doesn't bark, whine, or eat furniture.
To be honest, the hotel is worn looking. the hallway light shades on our floor (9) were either, cracked, broken, or had holes in them ( not a good impression on arrival). Trim around doors at elevators and doors were banged, dented, or cracked.
The room was a nice size and the tv and ipod cradle worked nicely. The shower was a plus with the type of shampoo and body gels they use-nice!
Nice furnishings throughout, just looked a little worn and could use a nice cleaning.
The hotel is nice and great for a one night stay that doesn't blow your budget. Especially if you are traveling with a pet. Parking is very expensive though-$50 and we had to wait almost 20 minutes to get the car-even when it wasn't busy. There is really no where else to park, but ask for options.
Check in was easy, but I am always put off by male staff that do not where ties. I gives a sloppy impression. Neglect? Also my impression of the hotel. A lot was just neglected or thought to be not be important.
One more thing, the cleaning staff were very, very nice.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: I believe they made every attempt to bring attention to this and what they were doing. Was nice to see.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWyllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear TWyllie. Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel – pets and all! I am sorry that you found us to be in bad repair. Thankfully, we are updating the corridors and elevators this year to match our newly renovated rooms and lobby so please come back and take a look next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing