We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Innovative hotel”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a good size room with 2 queen beds for 3 nights. The beds and beddings are very comfortable, one of the best sleeps I had outside my own bed. Bold decorations in the hotel. No coffee/tea in the room but you can get them at the reception in the morning. A short walk the White House and other monuments. There was free wine hour 5-6pm. Happy to enjoy that after a day of sight seeing. Saw the free bikes poster in the lift and decided to use it after a full day of walking. A great way to see the Capitol as it is the furthers from the other monuments. Came back around lunch and was pleasantly greeted by free pizza and Bloody Mary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HT1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear HT1024. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! I am so pleased that you were able to take advantage of all the extra perks we offer such as our complimentary wine reception, bike rental and weekend pizza and bloody mary’s. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    649
    205
    83
    36
See reviews for
387
586
153
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Rouge for our wedding and honeymoon. The hotel gave us a wonderful amenity for our wedding that made your special day even more special. The room was very clean, the mini-bar well stocked and the bed so comfy. The complimentary shower products were awesome and the bathrobes were so yummy. They welcomed our pups and provided them with a special welcome. The customer service was impeccable. We were blocks from DuPont Circle and walking distance to The White House for our tour. We highly recommend this hotel and we will be back on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Karen L. We are tickled that we made your honeymoon even more memorable! We love special occasions and thank you so much for choosing the Rouge to celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First couple of contacts with the hotel were not impressive. Wanted to change our reservation called the hotel directly told them I wanted to change a reservation - transferred the call to reservations and the line was pure static....hung up called back explained the bad connection and was transferred again to the same crap line...after the 3rd attempt I talked to the manager who basically told me to call reservations directly and that cured it. I was able to change the dates and keep the room we wanted.

We were in room 714 - relatively quiet at the end of the hall. This is one of the rooms with a bunk bed which is why I picked this hotel. Can't stand sharing a double bed with a 9 year old that turns into a starfish when we sleep together. Son is no better for the husband, flailing limbs and loud snores. So the bed away from our bed is appreciated. The room was large and clean. The bathroom is small. It would be better is the sink was separate from the shower/toilet so people could wash hands or brush teeth when the shower is in use. Oh and why does the shampoo smell like pine sol?

I joined the Kimpton Club to get the mini bar coupon, free breakfast and wifi. We also got a parking discount for having an electric car. Breakfast was OK if you aren't a big breakfast person.....fruit, yogurt, cereal, and carbs.....no bacon or eggs unless you order from the menu. We are not big breakfast people so not an issue.

The location was OK, not great. About a 15 minute walk to the back of the White House - 10 minutes to the Dupont Circle Metro Station. We walked a lot which is typical for DC the neighborhood seemed safe enough. There are a few embassies near the hotel but not the bulk of them have to travel past dupont circle to see a lot of them.

Overall it was a very good hotel for us given the bunk bed situation. I would try another Kimpton Hotel.

Room Tip: 714 has a king bed and a bunk bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Parking discount for hybrids/electric cars - very cool.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear brice2. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Rouge. I am sorry for the bumpy start! We did have issues with our phones for a few days – the static was horrible, I agree! It has been fixed but took a bit longer than we would have liked. I am pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations but disappointed to hear that we didn’t live up to your full satisfaction! Your review comments are very valuable and we thank you for your thorough and candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at hotel Rouge. It was convenient to two fun areas: DuPont circle and 14th street. The staff was friendly and their recommendations for restaurants and attractions were spot-on. Our room was very large (king) which was lovely. All in all it was a great stay. It is 4-5 blocks to the nearest metro, but the walk is pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mary N. Sounds like we are a perfect match! Thank you for telling other travelers about your experience. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had stayed in a Kimpton Hotel in Washington DC previously and whilst the decor at the Rouge was not quite to our taste we were not in the least disappointed with our choice this time. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. All our interactions with the staff were pleasant and when we had a particular request the staff were extremely helpful. The walk into the city centre was easy and took around 15 minutes at a comfortable pace. We will deliberately look for Kimpton hotels for other city stays.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear JoyB. Thank you for being a fan of Hotel Rouge and Kimpton Hotels! I love to hear that your experience at Rouge prompted you to seek out other Kimpton Hotels during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

<rooms are very spacious, a two double bed room has lots of space. you sleep very well and you have enought space to seat and eat in the room. there is one whole foods near by, you can shop there and eat in the room. beds are comfortable, clean room...all you look for in a room. staff is nice very friendly, the only downside is being a bit far from city centre (20min walking) but it is a nice walk + the breakfast...nothing special there.

Room Tip: rooms facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvangLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear silvangLisbon. Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am so happy that you found us to be a great value and enjoyed our location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Upon checking in, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The lobby was buzzing with activity due to the wine hour, even still the staff was very attentive to us during the check out process. We got exactly the room we requested, which was clean and comfortable. The décor throughout the hotel was awesome, very trendy and modern. We loved the feel of the building and would highly recommend this to anyone visiting DC. It is within walking distance to a lot of great bars and restaurants on P St and 14th St as well as the metro station.

Green Features: I think it is great that the hotel suggests that you keep your towels throughout your stay to save on water. I also love the idea of the stationary shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers in the shower. this saves on plastic from the tiny bottles most hotels offer.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Alli W I am pleased you enjoyed Hotel Rogue’s great service, stylish & modern atmosphere and location. Thank you for telling other travelers about your good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,029 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing