We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here. Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved staying here. Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you love funky decor and excellent service, you'll love this place. In keeping with the name ther is red everywhere the hotel clerk was very accommodating when I arrived for an early check-in. My room wasn't ready but he switched me to another room. He apologized because it was smaller. My room was huge! I loved the art on the wall, the eclectic but attractive and comfortable furniture and the exceptionally well stocked mini bar. It was pouring all day and night so I decided to stay in for dinner. The pineapple glazed slow cooked ribs were excellent and a bargain. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Judy B. Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! I am so glad that you loved us and that your experience was so great! Our new menu in the Lounge is excellent and the short ribs are amazing, I agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Rouge. Stayed 3 nights over the final weekend of the Cherry Blossom Festival. Rooms are huge, clean and well-appointed, enjoyed the funky red retro themed decor throughout. Become a Kimpton In Touch member on-line before you go, and with your membership number at check in, you'll get free wifi and a $10 voucher for the bar or in-room mini-bar. There's a safe in the room, which is always nice to have. Friendly customer service at the front desk, at check in and any other time we had questions. All staff we encountered made us feel welcome. The location is great, in a quiet, almost residential neighbourhood. About a 20 minute walk to White House, 30+ to Washington Monument and war memorials, etc.. Especially enjoyed the wine hour each day, a great way to relax between sight-seeing and heading out for dinner. Suggest you park at 1616 P St. N.W. for $30 a day rather than pay valet parking rate (a 5 minute walk from hotel). There was some confusion at check-out due to their advance purchase system, but my concerns were handled promptly and professionally by Harald Han, the Front Office Manager, in e-mail correspondence after we left. Lots of restaurants nearby on P Street and north on 14th within walking distance. Would definitely recommend Hotel Rouge to others and would return ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunda Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kunda Park. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I am also pleased that you enjoyed the perks that come with being a Kimpton InTouch member including a $10 minibar credit and free internet! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The rooms were great. The rest of the hotel seemed like it was cheaply remodeled to give it a facelift. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were great. The service was wonderful. The location was a little out of the way from the main sites. It was walkable however, a very long walk. If I had to do it over again, I would stay maybe in Georgetown or some other neighborhood with a little more character.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ballardtravel. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Rouge and for the valuable feedback! I am pleased that you found us to be fun and our service excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were welcomed so warmly in DC, (this past weekend, Easter, a busy time) by Darius,Danielle, Rachel, and Chase. We were traveling with our Lab, and honestly they all acted like our appearance made their day. These were young, bright, lively people, and they went out of their way to make sure we two retirees and our dog were well taken care of, gave us many useful tips, and just generally were beyond helpful. Upon arrival, our room was upgraded to a larger one, and it was beautiful and comfortable. I know part of why we enjoyed our first trip to DC was staying in Hotel Rouge, lovely area, and what a bargain! 100$ ( I made the reservation ahead, and was so pleased with the cost.) Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: They upgraded us upon arrival for no addtional cost.
See more room tips
Green Features: water reminders, reusing towels, glass and ceramic for coffee,green certified.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sandy L. Believe it! Thank you for letting other travelers know about your great experience at the Rouge! I am pleased that you enjoyed our friendly atmosphere and upgraded room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our first time in a Kimpton, it won't be the last. A lovely hotel, front of house staff were excellent and the happy hour (complimentary glass of wine) went down very well at the end of a long day. Our booking also gave us a complimentary continental breakfast which was most welcome and there was a good choice. The room was lovely, nice and clean, spacious and very well decorated in the signature 'rouge' colour. The bed was super comfy and even though we were next to the car park it was generally very quiet. It's well worth signing up on line to be a Kimpton 'in touch' member as this gives you complimentary wi-fi and $10 off your mini bar bill. Said mini bar is very well stocked so we took advantage of this. The room service also was excellent; we had a lovely meal in room two nights running as we were too tired to go out!
It is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station but not too bad. Cabs are always near by so getting about not a problem. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear LauraJLane. Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on providing a unique experience as well as a clean, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere so we thank you for noticing! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Rouge is a good choice in DC. It's close to lots of great new restaurants on 14th Street, as well as sites of interest downtown. It looks like a club/lounge on the outside, which is off-putting, but the rooms are fairly large and nice.

My complaints:
1. The gym is abysmal. It's as if it was an afterthought. 2 treadmills (one of which didn't work), and 2 old ellipticals with some free weights, shoved in the basement next to the employee staff room, with no AC. Awful!
2. The bathroom is pretty small.
3. The "happy hour" wine they offer is also terrible. I don't think it's just a problem related to this location - I stayed at a Kimpton in San Francisco as well and the wine was bad there too...and if it's bad right near wine country, you know you're in trouble!

Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear travelbugNY7. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms and great location! Our rooms and lobby were recently renovated, and our hallways will be done very soon! We do have a smaller sized gym, but we are partners with a larger gym around the corner for guests who need more space and variety when they work out. Thanks again for commenting on your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinsburg, ohio
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed at most of the kimptons in DC- this one falls right in the middle. Location is great- rooms were clean and spacious. We were in room 416- seemed to be in a corner and had extra space- very nice! The breakfast- no so great- but ours was included for $1 extra- can't complain too much, fresh fruit was nice. For the price and location this Kimpton is a great choice- if you want to spend a bit more, do the Donovan House- if you are on a budget the Helix would be the downgrade in the neighborhood. One real nice touch is the Free night of parking for red cars- loved that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Pauliepalmz. Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback about your visit. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Rouge and found us to be a great value. We have heard a lot of feedback about our breakfast options and are currently working to upgrade and improve the look and quality. Thank you again for being a Kimpton fan and for letting other travelers know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing