We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #76 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoyed the Rouge. Great location, close to airport, wonderful staff. The complimentary wine and appetizers, were a great way to end our all day walks before dinner. Bed was comfy, room was older but nice, for the amount of time we were there. A great Whole Foods around the corner, if you want to bring wine and dinner back for the evening, which we did once. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IngsBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear IngsBayou Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Rouge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well situated for the convention centre for a business conference. Excellent touch wine and nibbles on coming back between 5-6pm…just hit the spot before settling down to more working in my room. Room was a great size and sofa was comfortable and big - I even fell asleep on it before waking up and going to the big bed which was also comfy. Staff are helpful, Darius in particular gave some good recommendations for restaurants and the front desk tell you of what's in the vicinity. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I need to be in DC again.

Room Tip: nothing in particular to add
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchconnection01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear frenchconnection01. We are so excited that you chose the Rouge during your recent visit to DC and that you will return during your next visit! Looks like we are a perfect match and we are so pleased to have a new fan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, couldn't fault the room and location, 10 minutes walk to the White House. Unfortunately the rest didn't match. No problem with hotel theme but decor needs serious refurb to continue this theme. Odd paint splashes on room doors seemed very strange. Our deal included continental breakfast, would not bother with this as I've seen a better choice in a cheap B&B. As for Bar Rouge, no draught beer available for the 3 nights of our stay and by the last night even bottle beers were of short supply. Good place if you are just looking for a nice room to put your head down after a long day sightseeing

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewj496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear andrewj496. Thank you for staying with us and for the valuable feedback. Fortunately, we are in the process of updating our hotel. The splash of paint on your door is part of the door project that is ongoing and precedes our corridor and elevator upgrade. I am sorry that it looked out of place, but we didn’t want to keep people from staying at our wonderful hotel just because of a splash of paint. I am sorry that the breakfast was not to your liking, we have enhanced the offerings recently to include more than just pastry and fruit for the continental and now include cereal, yogurt and a wider variety of breads. Although we don’t have draft beer, we do have a lot of great choices. That being said, there is always room for improvement and we will look into adding draft beer to our bar menu. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I came down from Philly by train last weekend for an overnight stay to see Frank Caliendo at the DC Improv. We wanted a clean, comfortable but inexpensive hotel in walking distance from the club and the metro. The Rouge delivered! For $120 (+ taxes), we got a spacious room (albeit with a tiny bathroom) appointed with Euro modern decor and a comfy King size bed. We received a complimentary glass of very good wine that evening, and for $1 extra, a good continental breakfast (fruit, muffins, cereal, and hard-boiled eggs, juice & coffee) the following morning. Plus, the location is great for sightseeing and less than a 15 minute walk from the Farragut North Metro stop. I would definitely recommend staying at the Rouge.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 807 which faces the street but traffic noise was not an issue.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amiranten11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear amiranten11. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend getaway in DC! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family stayed just one night but the Rouge was what I've come to expect from Kimpton. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, well maintained rooms, and comfortable beds. The front desk staffer even drew us a map to guide us to the White House for our early morning tour.

Room Tip: We had a street facing room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear DSM12. Thank you for choosing the Rouge for your recent visit to DC and for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our 9 day stay at the Hotel Rouge. We told the Reservation Desk that it was our 40th Anniversary trip and we were promptly updated to a perfect room... King size very comfortable bed facing the street (RM 705), sitting area, kitchenette, dressing area, a bottle of chilled champagne and strawberries. Thank you Chase for setting us up in such a nice comfortable room. You always saw to our needs and did so with such a warm, nice attitude. Darius, our bellman, took us under his wing on our very first night. My husband was suffering from back pain and Darius went to the drugstore on his brake to pick up some Epsom Salts for him to soak in and back rub cream. Talk about beyond the call of duty. He checked on us daily to make sure our stay was comfortable. The entire staff could not have been more helpful with any questions we had. This group knows how to treat guests!
We relied on the Metro to get around Washington. Be aware that it is a bit of a walk to get to Dupont Station from the hotel. Doable, but allow time if you are going to meet a tour bus. We found an affordable nice restaurant close to the hotel on 17th street called Trios. Fine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There are many restaurants in the area and the staff are very helpful with suggestions. We would return to the Hotel Rouge and recommend it to our family and friends! Thank you Hotel Rouge and staff for making us feel so special on our 40th Anniversary trip!

Room Tip: Room 705 is perfect, large, comfortable, and the kitchenette came in really handy when we had to lea...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Dan S. Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am so glad that the staff (Chase especially) made sure that you were well taken care of during your extended visit and anniversary celebration. Maybe this will become an annual treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I'm normally a Starwood guy, but as every starwood hotel was either booked out or $600+ a night I ended up here. I stayed here 4 nights and I must say I enjoyed my stay. The room was huge, the bed was comfortable (I even had a second queen size, should I decide to mix it up a bit) the bar staff are really friendly and it reminded me of an oversized Le Chat Noir (in Paris). The only issues I had were: an over cooked steak (MR was MW, but I was taken off the bill and I was given a free cocktail, so I was happy) my door lock broke so I was locked out (green led but wouldn't release) but it was resolved and another charge I didn't remember, but was promptly removed. The free wine from 5-6pm is also a great feature. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GeorgT_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear GeorgeT-82. It’s great to win over a fan of the competition and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. I’m sorry for some of the SNAFU’s but we appreciate the feedback so that we can stay on top of it!! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 142 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,125 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £99 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing