We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the Rouge while I was in DC on business. I happened to arrive during the governors' meeting with the White House, so my usual places were booked. I like smaller, boutique hotels, so I thought I'd give this one a shot. I was fairly unhappy with the service. For starters - while this may seem insignificant to come -- there was no coffee in the room. I've been in the backwater of Cambodia at a tiny hotel and they have Nescafe and hot water. When I inquired at the desk (at 3AM thanks to jet lag courtesy of my 26 hour flight from Asia), I was told "there is complimentary coffee in the lobby from 5AM to 11AM". That doesn't help me very much at 3AM when I'm jet lagged, does it? Furthermore, I don't always WANT to stumble down to the lobby in my PJs when I'm up at 5AM getting ready for the office.

Their room service menu was disappointing. Not a SINGLE item that could even be modified for a vegan. I try to stay flexible, but it was a bit absurd in Washington, DC.

Finally, the door to my room just refused to latch. I didn't realize this until the 3rd day when it just magically opened when I stumbled into it while trying to get the key card in. I asked to have someone come fix it because the room couldn't be secured, I nearly missed a meeting waiting for the engineer. Then it was still unable to latch.

On my first two days, no hot water. I think they thought I was crazy, but sincerely, it didn't work.

On the up side, the beds were comfortable.

Frankly, there are a lot of hotels in DC. I'd skip this one and aim for one with better amenities and service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear lawgeek77. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am so disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit and had a hard time getting the food items that you needed. Although coffee makers are not in the rooms, they are on request. I am sorry that this was not offered to you as an alternative. I will be sure that everyone is aware so that we don’t inconvenience more guests. We do offer vegetarian options but I will certainly take a look at adding one or two vegan options. I will also be sure to look into the door and hot water issues as I am unaware of any hotel wide problems that occurred during the dates of your visit. Either way, I am sorry that you were inconvenienced and hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    666
    207
    83
    36
See reviews for
399
593
155
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffdale, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoyed the Rouge. Great location, close to airport, wonderful staff. The complimentary wine and appetizers, were a great way to end our all day walks before dinner. Bed was comfy, room was older but nice, for the amount of time we were there. A great Whole Foods around the corner, if you want to bring wine and dinner back for the evening, which we did once. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IngsBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear IngsBayou Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Paris
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well situated for the convention centre for a business conference. Excellent touch wine and nibbles on coming back between 5-6pm…just hit the spot before settling down to more working in my room. Room was a great size and sofa was comfortable and big - I even fell asleep on it before waking up and going to the big bed which was also comfy. Staff are helpful, Darius in particular gave some good recommendations for restaurants and the front desk tell you of what's in the vicinity. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I need to be in DC again.

Room Tip: nothing in particular to add
See more room tips
Green Features: Note that you get a reduction in parking price for eco friendly cars
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchconnection01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear frenchconnection01. We are so excited that you chose the Rouge during your recent visit to DC and that you will return during your next visit! Looks like we are a perfect match and we are so pleased to have a new fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, couldn't fault the room and location, 10 minutes walk to the White House. Unfortunately the rest didn't match. No problem with hotel theme but decor needs serious refurb to continue this theme. Odd paint splashes on room doors seemed very strange. Our deal included continental breakfast, would not bother with this as I've seen a better choice in a cheap B&B. As for Bar Rouge, no draught beer available for the 3 nights of our stay and by the last night even bottle beers were of short supply. Good place if you are just looking for a nice room to put your head down after a long day sightseeing

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewj496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear andrewj496. Thank you for staying with us and for the valuable feedback. Fortunately, we are in the process of updating our hotel. The splash of paint on your door is part of the door project that is ongoing and precedes our corridor and elevator upgrade. I am sorry that it looked out of place, but we didn’t want to keep people from staying at our wonderful hotel just because of a splash of paint. I am sorry that the breakfast was not to your liking, we have enhanced the offerings recently to include more than just pastry and fruit for the continental and now include cereal, yogurt and a wider variety of breads. Although we don’t have draft beer, we do have a lot of great choices. That being said, there is always room for improvement and we will look into adding draft beer to our bar menu. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I came down from Philly by train last weekend for an overnight stay to see Frank Caliendo at the DC Improv. We wanted a clean, comfortable but inexpensive hotel in walking distance from the club and the metro. The Rouge delivered! For $120 (+ taxes), we got a spacious room (albeit with a tiny bathroom) appointed with Euro modern decor and a comfy King size bed. We received a complimentary glass of very good wine that evening, and for $1 extra, a good continental breakfast (fruit, muffins, cereal, and hard-boiled eggs, juice & coffee) the following morning. Plus, the location is great for sightseeing and less than a 15 minute walk from the Farragut North Metro stop. I would definitely recommend staying at the Rouge.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 807 which faces the street but traffic noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiranten11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear amiranten11. Thank you for recommending the Rouge to your friends and colleagues and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend getaway in DC! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family stayed just one night but the Rouge was what I've come to expect from Kimpton. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, well maintained rooms, and comfortable beds. The front desk staffer even drew us a map to guide us to the White House for our early morning tour.

Room Tip: We had a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DSM12. Thank you for choosing the Rouge for your recent visit to DC and for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scappoose, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our 9 day stay at the Hotel Rouge. We told the Reservation Desk that it was our 40th Anniversary trip and we were promptly updated to a perfect room... King size very comfortable bed facing the street (RM 705), sitting area, kitchenette, dressing area, a bottle of chilled champagne and strawberries. Thank you Chase for setting us up in such a nice comfortable room. You always saw to our needs and did so with such a warm, nice attitude. Darius, our bellman, took us under his wing on our very first night. My husband was suffering from back pain and Darius went to the drugstore on his brake to pick up some Epsom Salts for him to soak in and back rub cream. Talk about beyond the call of duty. He checked on us daily to make sure our stay was comfortable. The entire staff could not have been more helpful with any questions we had. This group knows how to treat guests!
We relied on the Metro to get around Washington. Be aware that it is a bit of a walk to get to Dupont Station from the hotel. Doable, but allow time if you are going to meet a tour bus. We found an affordable nice restaurant close to the hotel on 17th street called Trios. Fine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There are many restaurants in the area and the staff are very helpful with suggestions. We would return to the Hotel Rouge and recommend it to our family and friends! Thank you Hotel Rouge and staff for making us feel so special on our 40th Anniversary trip!

Room Tip: Room 705 is perfect, large, comfortable, and the kitchenette came in really handy when we had to lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Dan S. Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Hotel Rouge. I am so glad that the staff (Chase especially) made sure that you were well taken care of during your extended visit and anniversary celebration. Maybe this will become an annual treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,270 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,093 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,254 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing