We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angels at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Angels at front desk”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had booked for 3 nights but made mistake in our dates
Arrived from New York at 7 pm in Middle of Microsoft convention and both hotel front desk staff ( sorry didn't get your names) went way beyond and called round every hotel in dc to try and find us a room
Even gave us some local websites to try and arranged transport when we finally got a room
Thanks from a very stressed dad whose kids were even more grateful than I was

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Rossco53. It’s horrible when there is a SNAFU with travel plans but I am glad to hear that our awesome front desk went above and beyond to get you situated. Thanks for telling your story and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    645
    204
    82
    36
See reviews for
386
583
153
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved the red decor throughout. And the service was great. It was very clean. And the beds were very comfy. One thing though was that room service was not on many nights and started late and ended early. Otherwise great hotel will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lovetravel777777. I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday in DC and thank you for choosing the Rouge! We hope that you will come back to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

An extremely well placed Hotel just a ten minute walk to the White House and in a fairly quiet corner of DC. Large and clean room with everything needed. Staff were courteous and always ready to help if needed. The free buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and just enough to start the day. Complimentary tea and coffee was available in the lobby in the mornings and there was a free wine tasting and soft drinks each night. Good value for money and would definitely stay again when I return to DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Andy L. A perfect stay is what we strive for! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Rouge and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in DC. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at The Rouge with our girls for 1 night. Convenient location less than a mile from the White House. Trendy red decor throughout. Very friendly service staff willing to answer questions from transportation to restaurant recommendations. Large comfortable rooms. On site valet parking. Complimentary morning coffee in lobby.

Room Tip: No self parking option. Valet parking is $43 per night plus tax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alejana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear alegana. Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed our location, style and service! Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at Rouge over the 4th of July. The hotel is nice, the staff very helpful and we had a good stay. I left a beautiful sun hat behind in my room, and the Director of Housekeeping, Ms. Tina P. Nguyen, packaged it up and took it to UPS and I had it the next day. It arrived in perfect shape and she was so considerate and easy to work with. I really appreciate the staff there and will definitely be staying there the next time I am in Washington, D.C.

Green Features: They only replaced the towels we left on the floor, and there was a recycling bin in the room for plastic and paper.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Robin W. Thank you very much for reviewing your visit to the Rouge and for giving the fabulous Tina a shout out! We love to hear stories of how our employees go above and beyond – thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great location and great staff this boutique hotel is a lovely place to stay in if you are visiting Washington as a Tourist like me. A little bit of confusion at check in as fellow attending to me couldn't decide whether my deposit could be in cash or on a card in good time. Either ways was fine by me so there was no hassle. We were allocated a room high up enough to get a good view of the street and enjoyed the heights. For me a good hotel must have fresh tapestry and the luxury must be seen in furniture. The bed was very comfortable but the carpets to me were really an eyesore. I complained about this via email, calls and visits but I guess the entire hotel is that rugged! The rugby as old and therefore downplayed whatever enjoyment of the breakfast we had. The door was also not painted like other doors and I felt little touches like this make a difference. There was ice on the 9th floor where I stayed and that was very cool and convenient. I had higher expectations but I won't rate this hotel, no matter how good their services are beyond 2 stars for bad rugs and old curtains in the room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wallzbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Wallzbaba. Thank you very much for reviewing your visit to the Rouge and for the useful feedback about the carpets. They are quite new and we don’t hear many negative reviews about them, but we always appreciate our guest’s opinions. I am pleased that your experience, otherwise, was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are very different indeed. I personally haven't stayed in a hotel with this sort of a theme. I quite liked it though!

The rooms were very spacious, at the cost of the bathroom i guess which is quite cramped. The room doesn't have a balcony and the view is just that of the road outside. Nothing spectacular. The bedding was cozy and comfortable. It had a well stocked minibar too.

The best part is it's proximity to most landmarks. While not extremely close, it is walkable though it will be a long one. At it's price, i would say it is value for money for all that it offers. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdityaVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi AdityaVankat. Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Rouge and that you found us to be unique, friendly and comfortable at the same time. That’s exactly what we’re going for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing