We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will go back when in DC area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We traveled to DC to take in the sites and see a baseball game (Phillies.) We had 6 adults and 6 children (ages 3 to 7) in our group. The hotel staff was beyond nice. Very kid friendly. Offered dvds for in-room viewing and complimentary cookies and milk for the kids. The room was HUGE and had a dvd player. Bed was super comfy. We used the outdoor pool twice and although the others guests may not have been happy with our entourage, the pool was great, cute landscape and heated.
Hotel staff was very eager to provide restaurant suggestions. With this group, we had to pick the right restaurant. The Front Page on Ct Avenue was recommended and did not dissapoint. We were able to have outdoor seating. They had a kids menu and good beers on tap. Food was good. Enjoyed our trip and would return to this hotel with the kids. Area is safe and nice to walk around. Park up the street. Price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkmurtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,441)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,160 - 3,166 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We (2 adults +8yr) stayed there for 4 nights ( 08/16 -08/20). Too many good things about it.
Super clean, beautiful decor (lobby\rm), Large room, wine tasting.... good location, walk to , metro\grocery\eatery, morning fruit.....
only wish pool has roof and hours a little longer and have a sauna.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tx_pearland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Great boutique hotel with helpful staff waiting to greet and check you in. Room was spacious and tastefully furnished.Despite facing a busy street very quiet and restful stay. Perhaps slightly pricey and for that could have provided more bathroom products - I'd forgotten mine so made do with Aveda products for hair but nothing of interest in shower gel department. Survived that ordeal though! Good location plenty to do around hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My family visited Washington DC last week and we stayed at the Palomar for two nights. We had a one bedroom suite which consisted of a bedroom with king bed and separate room with sofa bed. The suite worked quite well for the four of us, including an extra roll away bed which we requested. The room was comfortable and clean and had some nice touches. We were on the 2nd floor with a view of the back parking lot so that aspect of the stay that wasn't very special.

The location is good. It's a five block walk to the nearest Metro station which was no problem for us but something to be considered when booking. There are plenty of restaurants and small shops within the neighborhood. The hotel is situated nearby many of the foreign embassies. We didn't visit any of these but thought it was interesting, once we learned of their proximity. The location is not too far from Georgetown although frankly, that would be a very long walk, and it's quite a distance from DC attractions such as White House, Smithsonian, etc. But the Metro is an amazing transit system and once you find your way to the nearest station, you'll find that the city is wide open to you. And if you time it right, you'll return to the hotel just in time for a classy wine reception which is open to guests.

What was particularly nice about this place was its staff. The front desk personnel were all very friendly and personable and customer oriented. The valet, bell hops, and other members of the staff were all equally helpful. Waitstaff in the restaurant were also very welcoming. This type of service is what differentiates the Palomar from other hotels we've stayed at. The front lobby area is eye catching, the rooms were nice, and the location is good. But the extra touches really come from having a staff that will go the extra mile and the folks we encountered really seemed to "get it". We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 for our friends' wedding. My wife and I were traveling for the first time with our 19 month old son. Everyone at the hotel was very accomodating and extremely friendly. On short notice, they upgraded our room, so we would be better equipped to handle our son's napping and bedtime routines. A woman at the front desk even surprised our son one morning with a small stuffed animal - which he obviously loved. All of the concierges were extremely helpful with all of our questions - as this was our first trip to DC we had many questions. The doormen were incredibly helpful and friendly as well. It's a great place to stay and I highly recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent only 1 night at Palomar , but we had the nicest impresion among more than 10 hotels visited during our vacation in the US: The front desk was extremely nice and helpful at the check-in. The ratio quality / price is extremely high, even more than standard upper level chains (Hilton, Marriott) at least for what we have seen in DC. Very good shower products in the bathroom, extremely comfortable bed. Also few "plus" contribute to the very good impression of this hotel: complimentary in-room wi-fi, complimentary coffee service in the lobby, funny robes, and very spacious rooms. Totally Approved.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel just goes above and beyond. This was our second stay. This time we had our two dogs with us and it was such a pleasure to be able to stay in such a beautiful room with lots of space for my family of 4 and 2 dogs. The beds are comfortable and the perks of being a kimpton member are so nice. The staff is professional and friendly from house keeping, to valet, to front desk to the restaurant staff. I also am very impressed by the attention to detail the staff pays and accountablilty to comments (not that I have ever had a negative one). Just a pleasure, on the pricey side but they back up and make sure you get your money's worth. Will absolutely stay again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madonnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,191 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,122 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £113 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing