We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always great.”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My family and I like to stay here when visiting DC. They cater to kids so perfectly: movies, cookies and milk delivered to te room free - the kids must call to request. Very cute. Just a clean, hip, modern hotel that's cool with kids - and pets!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imike808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    1,077
    295
    111
    43
See reviews for
938
1,598
274
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel was excellent in all details. The rooms were clean and a large size. The buffet was adequate to start the day. The staff were efficient and very helpful especially Nick Dorsey the manager on duty. We stayed for 3 nights and the hotel is in a very nice area and all the major sites are easily accessible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank war47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We recently spent three nights at the Palomar and had a fantastic stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from the doormen, receptionists and restaurant staff etc., to the brilliant concierge Philip, who was more than helpful and went the extra mile to offer excellent customer service. The hotel was in a superbly convenient location for access to what Washington DC has to offer. There with plenty of good restaurants in the immediate area. We had executive king rooms which were large, well furnished and stylish, with an extremely comfortable bed. The hotel had wine, fruit and a selection of meats and crackers sent to our room as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The wine reception each evening was great, it was good to mingle with other guests and pick up tips on what to do in Washington. Overall a most enjoyable experience, I would definitely recommend the hotel and would book a Kimpton hotel for future holidays.

Room Tip: We had a room opposite the lift, would suggest asking for one a little further away. Although the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great hotel for the location - can't beat that. Very close to the circle, great staff, lively lobby, free happy hour, hotel in great condition. My only complaint is that it's quite loud - paper thin walls and when folks are in the hall, they sound like they're in your room. But unless you plan to stay in your room the whole trip, probably not a problem. I'll return

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoPoMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We based our DC hotel selection on other trip advisor reviews, which proved to be really useful.

We loved the area where the hotel was located, that is, just off Dupont Circle with a wide choice of restaurants and bars on our doorstep.

The hotel gave us a further room upgrade (we'd already paid for one) and we were provided with a massive room, which was great, though the view wasn't all that (the main road outside of the hotel). The room was however, somewhat functional for us as we'd come to Washington DC to see the sights. We didn't take advantage of any of the range of facilities that were on offer, even the complimentary wine tasting that was available each evening, which appeared to be very popular.

That said, the hotel staff were very helpful, the room was spotless, we liked the somewhat quirky vibe of the place and the breakfast/cocktail option for an additional $1.00 per night was a really good offer.

We had a really fun night out at what used to be the Brickskeller (can't remember the new name) just round the corner from the hotel. It's in need of a little tlc (which is ongoing), but the staff, Tim and Jeff were great and there was a brilliant atmosphere in there, plus they did a decent cottage pie. What was originally planned as a quick drink turned out as a full night out.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hotel Palomar is a very nice, almost funky hotel in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of DC. The rooms are rather large, very comfortable beds and a nice workstation for business travelers. Really enjoyed the free wireless internet (be sure to register for Kimpton InRewards to receive this ammenity).

My stay was centered around a conference my company organized. I did not have a chance to visit the hotel before the event and my interactions with the hotel conference planning team was a bit frustrating at times. Our general session was in one of their larger ballrooms which had two large columns in the middle of the room, making it very hard for some participants to see the speaker. Our breakout room was much to small for the contracted number of participants and had to be arranged in a theater set-up which was hard for discussion purposes. The food was good, but the menu was challenging, bordering on pretentious in an odd sort of way. All the hotel staff was very warm and helpful from the banquet staff to the front desk.

The hotel is in nice neighborhood and it s very close to Reagan National Airport. Many restaurants and things to do within walking distance. Metro station very close by and easy to navigate around the Dupont Circle area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a delightful stay! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room, a basic King, was spacious and spotless; the bed was very comfortable. We loved the extras, especially the cold water with fruit slices available in the lobby all day -- what a nice touch! There was also free wine each day at 5 pm and coffee and tea in the morning. The location was very convenient to the Metro, sightseeing, and shopping. There are many restaurants and cafes within walking distance, as well as a lovely residential neighborhood to walk through. We look forward to staying at this lovely hotel anytime we return to DC, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing