We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great service. Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 November 2011

First time in DC with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway from Miami. We were lucky enough to score a deal for the Palomar on Jetsetter.com for $110 a night with an executive king upgrade. What a lovely hotel! Customer service was exceptional from all ends. Really enjoyed the free wine reception from 5-6 Friday and Saturday by the cozy fireplace as well as the free hot chocolate and coffee served every morning and afternoon. Most comfortable hotel bed ever slept in and really liked the Aveda products. Overall, great chic hotel in the heart of DC. I def recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristytinktink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,103 - 3,109 of 4,544 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We usually like to stay close to the centre of a city, but that's difficult in Washington. The Palomar is the next best thing - very close to the Dupont Circle, a short subway ride from all the central attractions, walkable if you're feeling energetic. The immediate area of the hotel is interesting in itself, with good restaurants, a totally unexpected, marvellous shop for wine and beer just across the road, and a Farmers' Market near the subway entrance one morning. The hotel room was 'superior' and had everything necessary, but... we had just come from a hotel with minute rooms in NYC, the dimensions of the Palomar room were much greater but somehow over-large furniture (in my opinion, not my husband's!) made it more awkward to get around. However, as with the New York hotel, who spends a lot of time in their room in these cities? Each evening there is a reception in the foyer for all guests, with surprisingly good wine and nibbles. It was very easy to chat to strangers if we wanted to, a brilliant idea that worked because the foyer is just the right size to encourage mingling - but not to enforce it - and the fire and decor make it a place you are happy to be in. Continental breakfast (minus ham and cheese) was included, and we ate in the hotel restaurant one evening; both breakfast and dinner were attractively served in the modern restaurant, by very friendly and helpful staff. One slight criticism - an extra lift would make a lot of difference, though having to wait a long time also helped sociability with other guests! We would certainly stay here if we visited Washington again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancastrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Lancastrienne,

I am sorry our elevators did not keep our guests moving about rapidly enough, although it seems you made the best of it by chatting with your fellow guests. I was pleased to note you enjoyed our hotel’s location off Dupont Circle as well as the manager hosted evening wine hour.

We hope you visit DC again, so we can welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here the weekend before Thanksgiving - so a busy time in DC, and the hotel but it did not diminish the service.
We had stayed here 2 years ago and wanted to return. The hotel is very comfortable. The beds are great and great pillows, the rooms are spacious, the closet is huge with plenty of hangers. The service is GREAT, the employees are happy to help. Phillip the Concierge was so helpful with tips and directions. The atmosphere is fun Metro or Modern. We have only had dessert and drinks in the bar of the Urbana restaurant, again top notch. The location is the other plus, 2 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro. There are also many restaurants within the surrounding blocks. We were able to get a good weekend price too. We will look at staying here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear sagamore73,

I am glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Hotel Palomar DC, and that you found your accommodations to be very comfortable and received excellent service from Philip our Concierge. Hopefully you will have the opportunity on your next visit to have dinner in Urbana.

We too look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

stayed in nov 2011 with husband and 2 kids in a very large double queen bed. All amenities are good, staff attentive and respond very quickly for requests like extra towels, conditioner etc. I guess it is made clear in the website but I wish the hotel had an indoor swimming pool. It has a decent fitness room with good variety of machines. We got a street view and nothing much to talk about. You definitely get what you paid for and some more. Concierge staff was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

After reading the reviews we chose to stay here for 3 nights and loved it. The location is great as if you are a walker you can walk to most of the attractions and if you are not the metro is nearby. The Hotel lobby is very nice and the rooms are large and beautifully decorated. The lobby does get crowded during the 'happy hour', but that is to be expected. There are so many great places to eat nearby you will have a difficult time choosing. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have always been a big fan of Kimpton Hotels but I especially like the Palomar in Washington DC. Cool, boutique hotel with a friendly, responsive staff. The location is convenient to METRO, dining and nightlife.

The staff on my recent stay was exceptional and went out of their way for us. I have stayed here before and will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Dear U G,

It was great to note you received excellent service from our friendly staff, and that you enjoyed our location which is close to the Metro transportation system and surrounding nightlife.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is my first review, but it will not be my last. I stay at a lot of places in a typical year, due to my work and because of vacations, so I have some definite requirements for a perfect hotel, a very nice hotel and just a place to sleep at night. Regardless...

The room we stayed in at the Palomar was huge and comfortable. The staff was excellent. The bathroom was nice. The bed was comfortable. The shower was NOT designed for the lollipop guild and had plenty of hot water. The Palomar is conveniently located close to a metro stop and is within easy walking distant to a lot of pretty good restaurants.

I really only had two little issues...

1) The elevators were slow and potentially insufficient for the amount of guests that may have at ay given time.

2) A personal pet peeve... If a hotel spends the money to get flat screen HD TV's, they should probably offer HD offerings. The Palomar did not. Again, this is a minor thing.

Bottom line, I would recommend this place to anybody visiting the D.C. area for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Dear stosboy,

I am delighted you enjoyed your huge guest room with the comfortable bed, and a visually appealing shower with ample hot water. I am sorry our elevators did not meet the demand of all the guests that were with us during your visit. Our HD programming will be available in the first quarter of next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back whether for your next business trip or vacation.

Cordially,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,420 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £121 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing