We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,736)
Filter reviews
4,736 results
Traveller rating
2,985
1,203
357
132
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,985
1,203
357
132
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dupont circle wine hour wine reception executive king complimentary wine yoga mat phillips collection huge room each evening outdoor pool front desk staff mini bar spacious rooms embassy row metro station white house few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
3,281 - 3,286 of 4,736 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We usually like to stay close to the centre of a city, but that's difficult in Washington. The Palomar is the next best thing - very close to the Dupont Circle, a short subway ride from all the central attractions, walkable if you're feeling energetic. The immediate area of the hotel is interesting in itself, with good restaurants, a totally unexpected, marvellous shop for wine and beer just across the road, and a Farmers' Market near the subway entrance one morning. The hotel room was 'superior' and had everything necessary, but... we had just come from a hotel with minute rooms in NYC, the dimensions of the Palomar room were much greater but somehow over-large furniture (in my opinion, not my husband's!) made it more awkward to get around. However, as with the New York hotel, who spends a lot of time in their room in these cities? Each evening there is a reception in the foyer for all guests, with surprisingly good wine and nibbles. It was very easy to chat to strangers if we wanted to, a brilliant idea that worked because the foyer is just the right size to encourage mingling - but not to enforce it - and the fire and decor make it a place you are happy to be in. Continental breakfast (minus ham and cheese) was included, and we ate in the hotel restaurant one evening; both breakfast and dinner were attractively served in the modern restaurant, by very friendly and helpful staff. One slight criticism - an extra lift would make a lot of difference, though having to wait a long time also helped sociability with other guests! We would certainly stay here if we visited Washington again.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancastrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Lancastrienne,

I am sorry our elevators did not keep our guests moving about rapidly enough, although it seems you made the best of it by chatting with your fellow guests. I was pleased to note you enjoyed our hotel’s location off Dupont Circle as well as the manager hosted evening wine hour.

We hope you visit DC again, so we can welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here the weekend before Thanksgiving - so a busy time in DC, and the hotel but it did not diminish the service.
We had stayed here 2 years ago and wanted to return. The hotel is very comfortable. The beds are great and great pillows, the rooms are spacious, the closet is huge with plenty of hangers. The service is GREAT, the employees are happy to help. Phillip the Concierge was so helpful with tips and directions. The atmosphere is fun Metro or Modern. We have only had dessert and drinks in the bar of the Urbana restaurant, again top notch. The location is the other plus, 2 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro. There are also many restaurants within the surrounding blocks. We were able to get a good weekend price too. We will look at staying here on our next visit.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear sagamore73,

I am glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Hotel Palomar DC, and that you found your accommodations to be very comfortable and received excellent service from Philip our Concierge. Hopefully you will have the opportunity on your next visit to have dinner in Urbana.

We too look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

stayed in nov 2011 with husband and 2 kids in a very large double queen bed. All amenities are good, staff attentive and respond very quickly for requests like extra towels, conditioner etc. I guess it is made clear in the website but I wish the hotel had an indoor swimming pool. It has a decent fitness room with good variety of machines. We got a street view and nothing much to talk about. You definitely get what you paid for and some more. Concierge staff was very helpful and professional.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

After reading the reviews we chose to stay here for 3 nights and loved it. The location is great as if you are a walker you can walk to most of the attractions and if you are not the metro is nearby. The Hotel lobby is very nice and the rooms are large and beautifully decorated. The lobby does get crowded during the 'happy hour', but that is to be expected. There are so many great places to eat nearby you will have a difficult time choosing. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have always been a big fan of Kimpton Hotels but I especially like the Palomar in Washington DC. Cool, boutique hotel with a friendly, responsive staff. The location is convenient to METRO, dining and nightlife.

The staff on my recent stay was exceptional and went out of their way for us. I have stayed here before and will most certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Fraher, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Dear U G,

It was great to note you received excellent service from our friendly staff, and that you enjoyed our location which is close to the Metro transportation system and surrounding nightlife.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews