We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and comfortable stay in heart of Dupont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #38 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here one night for a wedding in town and was very pleased (yet again) with Kimptom's service and quality. We wee given a free upgrade from a deluxe queen room to an executive king, though no one actually informed us of this so we were at first just very impressed with how large the room was. We were on the 7th floor near the elevator but didn't hear any noise from the hallways. Bed and pillows were very comfortable, and bathroom was nice and modern.

We didn't have time to enjoy the amenities we usually do (like coffee service, wine reception, or raiding the minibar) and wish we had one extra night. Express checkout was a breeze and the luggage check was run very efficiently. Elevators are pretty slow, and there aren't any fans in the bathrooms, but this is to be expected in an urban property. Note that the decor and vibe is very modern, so if you want a more traditional experience in the Capital, you might want to look elsewhere.

Location is convenient to Dupont, Logan circle, and Georgetown, and it's about a 15 min drive to national airport. You will have a wealth of things to do in walking distance, like the farmers market on Sunday morning about a block away.

Overall a fantastic stay, and would be excited to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsRCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear MsRCY,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am so happy that you enjoyed the Executive King room you were upgraded to. It is truly a fantastic room. I will make sure to share your review with the team and hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,545 - 2,551 of 4,488 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great location for walking/metro. Very comfortable rooms, excellent beds and friendly, attentive service. Plus a wine reception each night - I couldn't have asked for more. I stayed on two separate occasions and was impressed both times.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are good at the back of the property but you compromise with a view of the parking lot r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlottedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear CharlottedT,
Thank you so much for your great review! So happy to read that you had fun and enjoyed our daily wine reception. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, location is great to visit Washington DC, very friendly and efficient staff, good restaurants in the area, room was clean and well equipped, albeit a little small, walked down to all sights as well as georgetown, did not participate in the wine reception, but it was very well attended by other guests, elevators can be a wait

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear o s,
Thank you so much for a great review. I am glad you have enjoyed your visit and the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel! Our first stay in DC and the Dupont Circle area where the hotel is located, is a wonderful area and pretty much central to everything. Nick and Clayton at the front desk went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. We stayed in a spa suite...cozy bed, huge room, everything crisp, clean and modern. Everyone is attentive and friendly...great hospitality. Couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs-marthasvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I'm actually still here but loving it so much I had to write a review.
We booked connecting rooms with our 2 kids. The rooms are extremely large and very clean.
Comfortable beds and bedding.
The service has been fantastic. We made some deliveries to the hotel before we arrived. They were waiting in our room when we checked in.
The location is fantastic. Right in Dupont Circle. Lots of restaurants and stores all around. The Phillips Collection is around the corner.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Eon53,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel while visiting DC. So happy to read that you are enjoying your stay! I will share your review with team. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is one of the most beautiful and well run hotels we have stayed in over the last 20 years (and that includes very fine hotels from Japan to Europe, and all over North America). The hotel is beautiful inside - see pictures http://www.hotelpalomar-dc.com/index.html
There is, as others have noted, a free wine hour each evening.

The superb facility is exceeded in only 1 way - the extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Typical was "Rick" at the front desk, who patiently and skillfully answered questions for 10 minutes about a variety of area restaurants. He pointed us to several terrific restaurants, starting with Scion (see separate review).

There are, within 1 block, more than 15 (really) restaurants, including several that are award winning. The DuPont metro is a 5 minute walk (although be sure to get directions because one of the station is closed as of early Oct, 2012)

In some beautiful hotels, the staff is impressed with the hotel and themselves. In this hotel, the leadership has picked and trained people very, very well. They are committed to the highest levels of service, done in a very friendly manner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Seniordad,
Thank you so much for a glowing review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your review with the team. Let me know when you are back in town. I would love to say hi and thank you in person. Best wishes, Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for a week and found the location and interior very good. The restaurant was a big let down so we did not use it. However with plenty of great places to eat it did not matter.
Nice touch with the evening free wine sessions and morning coffee. Excellent front desk staff, very helpful. Business centre was useful too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,173 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,280 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,725 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £104 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing