We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet damaged my vehicle...still waiting for payment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valet damaged my vehicle...still waiting for payment”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed at Hotel Palomar on 1July 2012 and used valet parking. When my car was returned to me the next day, there was damage to the front passenger side door. I received my vehicle at the front of the hotel and drove to the gas station one block away. When I went to the passenger side of the car I saw the damage and immediately called the hotel. It had only been about 3 minutes between the time I got my vehicle and when I called about the damage. I filled out the proper paperwork to have the Hotel's Insurance pay for the damage. The desk manager assured me it would be taken care of. Six weeks later I received a response from the hotel's insurance company with regard to the damage caused while my vehicle was with Hotel Palomar Valet parking on July 1st. They informed me that the hotel is denying they caused the damage to my vehicle. I am gravely disappointed that the hotel has decided to handle the damage they caused to my vehicle in this manner. The Valet caused over 800$ of damage to my passenger side door. I know the damage was caused while my vehicle was with the hotel valet because I picked up my vehicle from the body shop earlier that week and it had no damage. I filed a complaint with Kimpton Hotel and was contacted by the Office Manager, Mr Chou. I have contacted Mr. Chou several times about the damage. He assured me that the Hotel would pay for the repairs to my vehicle. It has been 60 days and I have not been reimbursed for the repairs. I have sent estimates and contacted Mr. Chou several times but was unsuccessful in getting reimbursed.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear tara m,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am so sorry to read about the length of time it has taken to get the issue resolved. Please accept my sincere apologies. I am able to confirm that the check has been mailed to you at the end of last week and you should receive it any day. Please contact me if you need any further assistance; I will be happy to assist you personally. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,817
    1,095
    302
    114
    46
See reviews for
957
1,619
283
1,036
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

There is not a lot I can add to what has already been said about this hotel. We loved it. Staff are a credit to the management, they always greet you with a smile and provide the hotel with that feel good factor at all times. We were surprised when we were provided with breakfast vouchers as we thought we had booked room only and the breakfast was a good healthy start to the day. The wine reception held between 5pm and 6pm provided everyone an opportunity to meet other guests not to mention an opportunity to have a nice glass or two of wine after a day seeing the many sights DC has to offer. This is a nice touch by the hotel management. Our room was very comfortable and a very good size all round. The hotel location could not be better, it is next to the lovely area that is Dupont Circle with lots of lovely restaurants/bars and coffee shops. We used the metro stop there and the hotel is only a 2-3 min walk from the station. We walked most places and the White House for example is a good 15 - 20 min walk away as is Georgetown which is a lovely place to eat at night. If I was returning to DC in the future I would look no further than the Palomar.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear John181,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel while visiting DC. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere we create. Especially our hosted wine reception! We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My girlfriend and I live in DC and frequent the Dupont Circle nightlife. As fans of Kimpton hotels and of Urbana restaurant, we chose Palomar to celebrate our collective birthday weekend. We couldn't have made a better choice!

This chic hotel is beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The staff are extremely professional and treat guests as though there is nothing they want more than to put a smile on the guest's face. It's as if the designers and management looked at every furnishing and every aspect of service and asked themselves, "how can we exceed expectations with this?" I've stayed in enough high end hotels to know when the place is just putting on a show or riding on their fame. This hotel is the real deal.

Palomar made us feel transported to a new and exotic land so much that the feeling persisted outside the hotel, as well. We strolled familiar streets and shops and found new things to enjoy as though we were first-time visitors. We sat in the center of Dupont Circle just a couple blocks away and just soaked in the diversity and positivity of the neighborhood. Every type of shop, restaurant, or bar one could want is within a short walk, making Palomar ground zero for an excellent stay no matter where you are from.

Take it from a local: Palomar is the place to book for your next trip to (or within) DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Awhile back i wrote a review of the Palomar that was less than positive. Actually, that review was quite negative. Since that visit I've been back to the Palomar twice, and am pleased to say that I have done a 180 (or at least a 170) about the hotel. The rooms are generously sized, honestly priced (for DC), pleasantly quirky in that Kimpton way and as others have said, FREE WINE! As. For the staff, each person I met was gracious, helpful and generally first rate. In particular I'd like to give a shout out to the bald guy at the concierge/front desk who welcomed me upon arrival (around 1:30 pm on 10/17) and whose card I took but misplaced. He is an exemplar of what makes Kimptons special. When in DC, you can't do better than the Palomar!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear hll55,
Thank you so much for your loyalty and to return despite your poor experience back in February. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your review with Philip. He is an outstanding ambassador to our hotel and represents exactly what our Brand is all about. Please let me know next time you are in town. I would love to have the opportunity to meet you and thank you in person. Best Wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandering through Europe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have stayed in hundreds of hotels but were bowled over by this place. We got lucky and were upgraded to room 439 and what a lovely room.
The staff are all friendly, the free wine is actually pretty good and the fact they don't really have a restaurant ( Aruga the adjacent restaurant is not worth the bother with so many fine eateries nearby) is a plus as you are incentivised to go look elsewhere and explore.

Room Tip: Go for room 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenthereanddunnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maesmom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We found ourselves stuck in a less than lovely hotel, and my husband used trip advisor to find an alternative nearby. Wow, did the hotel Palomar provide a needed rescue. At a lesser price point, we found more square footage, a quieter environment, lovely in room perks like extra pillows and lush bath mats. The hotel is in a great spot for access to DuPont circle. The staff are attentive and professional. We enjoyed the lobby, which appears small but is actually perfect for coffee by the fireplace in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear maesmom,
Thank you so much for choosing us! So glad that we could come to your rescue and make your visit in DC a success. Please come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I was astounded when I saw hotel prices for Washington DC--ouch! But Palomar had one of the least expensive in a great location (DuPont Circle) and I had stayed several times at Palomar/Westwood/UCLA and thought it was very nice. But this is better! My room is huge. The wifi is free (if you give them your email). They brought me (very good) white wine free of charge (that's never happened in my life!). I'm very satisfied. Stay here!

Room Tip: I usu ask for a quiet room, but held back. They assigned me Room 305, facing P Street NW, and its as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank weedpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear weedpatch,
Thank you very much for a great review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel and found it to be of great value. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,063 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing