We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend escape for Art lovers.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“weekend escape for Art lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Palomar hotel off of Dupont Circle is a great place to stay for a weekend in Washington DC. Conveniently located near the subway, two blocks from the Phillips Gallery and amidst a wide variety of restaurants and shops catering to the elegant embassey neighborhood. The hotel was modern and up to date in decor. The service was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel was spotless and comfortable with the bonus of a very good restaurant on site. Wine tastings every day at 5 ! What could be nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgoldman60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,707
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
914
1,576
271
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is in a prime location just off of DuPont Circle. The neighborhood is safe and has a lot to offer. The Metro is very close as well.

The hotel staff was delightful and professional. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. I loved the decor. They have free bikes to rent for the day and the hotel is located near a lot of good places to eat and drink.

Great stay and a very reasonable price for what you get!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTravelSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of the area. We had stayed in the sister hotel in Philadelphia a few days earlier so our expectations were high. The hotel is very good and to the same high standard as the other one we had stayed in. It has a frew wine and nibbles hour from 5 til 6 which is good fun. It is in an ideal location with quick access to the Metro and some nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gricper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Palomar in September in a double room for two nights.

Throughout our stay we received friendly, professional service from the doormen, receptionist and housekeeping staff. We were informed about the wine reception on arrival and also given a $10 minibar voucher which was a nice touch.

The room was a good size and had nice little quirks like a yoga mat and animal print bath robes. The room also had a DVD player and an iPod dock although the sound quality from the dock wasn't great. The bathroom shower was very powerful and the Etro toiletries smelt good. The minibar was well stocked and decently priced.

The hotel was well located near to the subway on the red line but we mostly walked or took taxis late at night (average rate about 10 dollars from near the museums and Georgetown).

The only disappointment was the breakfast (which we paid for ourselves). I ordered steak and chips and the steak and eggs were both slightly overcooked. Otherwise a great stay and we'd happily come again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fenton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good location in Dupont Circle. This is the second Kimpton hotel we have stayed in and we were not disappointed. Room was large and overlooked the pool, very clean towels and bedding. The hotel was close to bars, restaurants and shops. It was close to the metro and stop for the hop on off bus. Complementary breakfast was included in our deal which was an added bonus. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the free wine tasting every evening was a good way to get to know the other guests staying in the hotel. We would stay here again if we visited DC again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
211 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were reccommended this hotel by our travel agent and we were not disappointed one bit. From the time we arrived it was perfect, the staff, the room, the location and the icing on the cake, the free wine tasting every evening,If you have a few days in Washington this is the perfect hotel to stay in

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Best place to stay in the district if you like the neighborhood feel of dupont circle. Lots of bars and restaurants are close by, as well as the metro. The bartenders and servers in Urbana are what made it for me. I was there 8 days and still didn't want to leave. I'm already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing