We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in many ways, but abysmal room service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great in many ways, but abysmal room service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was very large and well-appointed, front desk staff very accommodating, bath products very luxurious and offbeat -- Etro. Just like most Kimptons, the feeling of the hotel was hip and new, so it's a great hotel for people who enjoy relaxing. However, for us, room service is an important part of that equation; it's helpful for us to order food and do our work before enjoying a day of stress-free activity. Each time we ordered room service, they forgot something. One time, they even forgot to deliver the order at all! We literally fell asleep while waiting. Additionally, if you happen to call a few minutes after a specified meal time has ended, forget about trying to get anything remotely related to that menu. We couldn't even get toast after 11:30. That seemed like a reasonable item to order at any hour! Anyway, I don't want to discourage you from staying here. Just keep in mind that you're here for the room, not the room service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,830
    1,109
    305
    116
    46
See reviews for
969
1,629
285
1,040
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilston
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here one night for our first visit to the city. The hotel is lovely and welcoming from the start. Porters are very good as soon as you pull up in the car. We were given drinks vouchers as we had missed their daily happy hour. Room was very well presented and a great deal of design thought and interior design has been used to great effect, from rooms to public areas. We didn’t have breakfast included in our rate. We would definitely think to stay at this chain again if we were travelling to a US city which has one of their hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodhouse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review Woodhouse35. We pride ourselves on the services we provide and i love it when people appreciate the detail and hard work we put into this property. Please make sure to come and see is again when you come back to the states.-Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pell City, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is my second stay in the Palomar. The first was a few years ago and it is still a fun, comfortable, clean hotel. Staff were great and the rooms very comfortable. Loved the animal print bathrobes in the rooms. Kinda funky but super convenient to restaurants in DuPont Circle and two blocks form Metro station. Only complaint is that parking was very high- +$50 with tax a night.

Green Features: Loved the ability to recycle in room. Enjoyed the Land and People Magazine. Great reading.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atl30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the great review Atl30309. We are glad to have you back for a return stay and I am very happy to hear that it was just as good as your first stay. We are truly very blessed to be in such a great location right in the middle of all the attractions in the city. Thank you for your patronage and make sure to come see us again when you return to town- Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I love this hotel. Upon arrival the bellman makes you feel right at home. I have stayed there a number of times and the staff remembers me and goes out of their way to make me feel right at home. A great location: near downtown and Georgetown. The rooms are quite large, beautifully appointed and quiet. Few hotels can boast of an outstanding restaurant...Hotel Palomar's restaurant is fabulous! The hotel has great energy with a lively crowd, but always appropriate. Friendly staff and friendly guests make this an especially fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Join their Global Business Plan for better rates and upgrades. If there are upgrades available, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Palomar was a great place for my husband and teenager to spend a few days in DC. We were looking at colleges and it was pouring the rain, but the staff offered umbrellas and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We were 'stranded' at American University and it was raining like cats and dogs and we could not find a cab. I finally called the Palomar and they haggled with a taxi driver to come pick us up. Phillip, the concierge, even paid the guy to come get us. That was customer service beyond my expectations and we could not have been more appreciative. Way to go Palomar. We will be back.

Green Features: I love the fact that the Palomar is environmentally friendly. More should be like them.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great hotel, location perfect, being close to bars and restaurants. Staff helpful and friendly even sorted out a limo to take us back to the airport. They had a happy hour 5-6 each evening and gave out free wine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Washington and I am sure they would not be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadders1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel. Friendly & helpful staff. Dog Friendly. Great location. I would definitely return.

Only a couple of negatives... First, the complimentary breakfast is nothing special. It is in the connected Restaurat called Urbana. It is the same thing everyday. Pancakes, cereals & a very low end fruit salad (98% melon). No real protein to be found.

The second demerit is for the quality of the Room Service food (from the same restaurant that provides breakfast, Urbana). It was pricey and just plain bad.

Not a fan of the Urbana connection. On day 3, just out of curiosity, I asked the host if I could see if the food happened to be different for breakfast, he said OK. I went to look... He followed me like I was a suspected breakfast thief. I saw it was no different. So I thought "No thanks, Buster. It's the same bad spread as yesterday." I promptly left with the suspicious host hot on my tail.

Aside from the food, which there are many great options in the area, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neotone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,654 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,257 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing