We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #31 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were in DC for a college visit and selected this hotel because it was near GW and we could get a rollaway bed. The hotel is very modern and our room was quite spacious. Even with the extra bed in the room we had plenty of space. The bathroom door was a bit odd. It slid on a track outside the bath which was tough to maneuver. Wine reception is very nice but crowded. We did not realize rollaway was extra charge and management was kind enough to remove the fee. Great restaurants nearby. Not as close to GW as we would have liked, though.

Room Tip: rooms at end of hall are larger
See more room tips
Green Features: Liquid body soap should be replaced by bar soap to eliminate waste of product tube.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,754
    1,077
    295
    110
    43
See reviews for
937
1,595
274
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on holiday/vacation. We arrived via Dulles Airport and took a Shuttle bus from there to the hotel. Just under $40 dollars total for the 2 of us. Far cheaper than a taxi.

Great location for a tourist as most of the places you would want to see are within walking distance - 30 mins to the White House, 15 mins to George Town......

Staff at the hotel are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were on the 9th floor in a room with a king size bed - very comfortable. All the usual facilities you would expect of a hotel of this standard. One key tip is to join their In Touch club. This can be done easily and for free online. By doing this you get free internet access plus a $10 voucher you can spend in your room mini bar or at the bar downstairs. A nice touch.

At 5pm each evening for 1 hour there is free wine/soft drinks and nibbles in the reception area. Another nice touch.

we didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but used the bagel shop straight across the street. A couple of bagels and 2 drinks cost about $10.

Ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food and service were of a high standard. However, as with most hotels, prices were on the high side compared to restaurants close by. If you want to eat elsewhere try Scion just across from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for the great review Wilton2. The Palomar is truly in a great central location and pretty much a short walk to all the main attractions in the city. I am also pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy the wine reception, it is a great opportunity to meet other guest of the hotel and share stories of your experience in the city. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and please come see us again when you return to Washington- Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The room was very large and well-appointed, front desk staff very accommodating, bath products very luxurious and offbeat -- Etro. Just like most Kimptons, the feeling of the hotel was hip and new, so it's a great hotel for people who enjoy relaxing. However, for us, room service is an important part of that equation; it's helpful for us to order food and do our work before enjoying a day of stress-free activity. Each time we ordered room service, they forgot something. One time, they even forgot to deliver the order at all! We literally fell asleep while waiting. Additionally, if you happen to call a few minutes after a specified meal time has ended, forget about trying to get anything remotely related to that menu. We couldn't even get toast after 11:30. That seemed like a reasonable item to order at any hour! Anyway, I don't want to discourage you from staying here. Just keep in mind that you're here for the room, not the room service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here one night for our first visit to the city. The hotel is lovely and welcoming from the start. Porters are very good as soon as you pull up in the car. We were given drinks vouchers as we had missed their daily happy hour. Room was very well presented and a great deal of design thought and interior design has been used to great effect, from rooms to public areas. We didn’t have breakfast included in our rate. We would definitely think to stay at this chain again if we were travelling to a US city which has one of their hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodhouse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review Woodhouse35. We pride ourselves on the services we provide and i love it when people appreciate the detail and hard work we put into this property. Please make sure to come and see is again when you come back to the states.-Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pell City, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is my second stay in the Palomar. The first was a few years ago and it is still a fun, comfortable, clean hotel. Staff were great and the rooms very comfortable. Loved the animal print bathrobes in the rooms. Kinda funky but super convenient to restaurants in DuPont Circle and two blocks form Metro station. Only complaint is that parking was very high- +$50 with tax a night.

Green Features: Loved the ability to recycle in room. Enjoyed the Land and People Magazine. Great reading.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atl30309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the great review Atl30309. We are glad to have you back for a return stay and I am very happy to hear that it was just as good as your first stay. We are truly very blessed to be in such a great location right in the middle of all the attractions in the city. Thank you for your patronage and make sure to come see us again when you return to town- Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I love this hotel. Upon arrival the bellman makes you feel right at home. I have stayed there a number of times and the staff remembers me and goes out of their way to make me feel right at home. A great location: near downtown and Georgetown. The rooms are quite large, beautifully appointed and quiet. Few hotels can boast of an outstanding restaurant...Hotel Palomar's restaurant is fabulous! The hotel has great energy with a lively crowd, but always appropriate. Friendly staff and friendly guests make this an especially fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Join their Global Business Plan for better rates and upgrades. If there are upgrades available, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Palomar was a great place for my husband and teenager to spend a few days in DC. We were looking at colleges and it was pouring the rain, but the staff offered umbrellas and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We were 'stranded' at American University and it was raining like cats and dogs and we could not find a cab. I finally called the Palomar and they haggled with a taxi driver to come pick us up. Phillip, the concierge, even paid the guy to come get us. That was customer service beyond my expectations and we could not have been more appreciative. Way to go Palomar. We will be back.

Green Features: I love the fact that the Palomar is environmentally friendly. More should be like them.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing