We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel in great location”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay and I have to say it was fabulous. Everything from the greeting we received on arrival (at 11pm) I might add, to the friendly and helpful staff was fantastic. This boutique hotel is a jem. Great location, lovely rooms and the beds are to die for.. I was travelling
with 2 other girls, first time for all 3 of us in Washington and our stay was made all the sweeter
by our choice of this hotel.. I would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review Gingerh68. We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. We just recently placed brand new beds into all of our rooms so I am glad you we got your seal of approval for the comfort of the beds. Make sure to come and stay with us again when you return to Washington, we will be sure to make it another fantastic stay. - Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    1,077
    296
    111
    43
See reviews for
938
1,598
274
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Six nights for business. Everything went great: room, conference room, breakfast, lunch, dinner. Two minutes to DuPont Circle, walking distance to other places in DC. They even have a happy hour 5PM every day, serving great wine and crackers. Definitely a place to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel-Buh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent one night at the Palomar Dupont Circle as we were going to the Kennedy Center. We had an absolutely beautiful suite for which we paid a hefty price (we stay at Kimpton Hotels often, so I know when the hotel is reasonably priced and when it is expensive. This room was way actually more expensive than the lovely suite we had just came from in NYC). But it was worth the price as it was fabulously decorated. The room was not ready upon arrival, which was fine because we got to see a great Van Gogh exhibit at the nearby Phillips Collection (very worthwhile no matter how many Van Gogh shows you have seen). The real problem was that the suite had an adjoining room (hate those) with a dog that barked non-stop from 8:15 am until we checked out at 11:00 am. Horrible. When I mentioned it at check-out, the clerk was only sorry for the dog. Me too actually. I understand this is a hotel chain that caters to animal owners...but I get to sleep-in so seldom that this was a huge disappointment. The breakfast the following morning just out and out bad. The dining room needs a major renovation..very worse for wear. So my advice is to avoid the beautiful, expensive suites with adjoining rooms and barking dogs. And good luck with that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback eastcoastvoyager. We take comments from people like you very seriously. It’s upsetting to hear the not so good stuff but it is an opportunity for us to learn from our mistakes and improve. So sorry about the experience you had with the barking dog. This situation you encountered at our hotel is pretty rare but still does not make it acceptable. I am sorry to hear that it disturbed your night of rest. Please keep my contact and let me know when you return to Washington, I will be sure to make it a flawless stay for you. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Palomar. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Palomar while attending a conference in Washington DC. The hotel is well situated on P street, just minutes from Dupont Circle, some nice restaurants and cafes and a short walk to the conference site at the Washington Hilton. As Kimpton member, I was well treated at check in and "upgraded" to a corner room. The room itself was nicely laid out and had comfortable beds and good amenities. However, I did have a few problems here: first, the room was incredibly stuffy. There was no way to open a window and the air vents noisily blow warm and cooler air into the room. The bathroom is not well vented and so there was always a kind of damp and stuffy feel to the room. Also, the customer service was mixed - when we wanted to extend our stay by one night, they told us categorically that they were sold out but I was actually able to see on line that there were rooms available at $20 cheaper than what we were paying. So, I asked the front desk to extend our stay given that they had rooms. Once she heard that I found a room online, she did extend the stay and let us in the same room...but the next day at 1pm they called me to ask why I was not checking out!! When I said that we had extended our stay, the woman told me they were sold out. I repeated the info about finding a room online and suddenly, miraculously, the reservation was extended. I just do not understand this - why say you are sold out when you have rooms? They did not give us the lower rate either.

Won't stay here again - the musty rooms and the confusing service added up to enough of an annoyance that I will look elsewhere for a room for $200 a night...

Room Tip: Corner rooms higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay Jack9003. We take guest feedback very seriously and I am sorry for the service issues you experienced. The issue you experienced with the staff inquiring about you checking out after extending your stay certainly should not have happened. Clearly we were off our A game that morning and I sincerely apologize. We really want to win our guest over, so I have reviewed your feedback with our staff to ensure this kind of incident is not repeated. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again and show you what the service at the Palomar DC is truly all about. Please call me for any future reservation and I will make sure your stay with us goes flawlessly. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Palomar –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect, just off DuPont Circle and a short walk to Georgetown. All staff were gracious and helpful. The room was large and very comfortable. Great stay and my travel time coincided with a Kimpton promotion......so even better. I will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richard960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback richard960. The Palomar is located truly in a central location either a short stroll or quick cab ride away from most of the major attractions in the city. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us. Make sure to come and see us again when you return to the Nation’s Capital, we will be sure to make it another wonderful experience- Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, Inverness-shire
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a lovely hotel with a great location. Very stylish hotel with enormous rooms. Great staff who were incredibly kind. I arrived here after a very stressful day and was a bit tetchy but they bent over backwards to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review foodfan2. The Palomar is truly in a great central location close to most of the city’s main attractions and have some of the largest rooms in the city. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel and had a great time. Make sure to come and see us again when you return to Washington. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had come from another Kimpton hotel (Nine Zero in Boston) so we had high expectations. It was very nearly as nice. Lovely big room with big bed. Huge bathroom. Not much of a view but we didn't mind the view as we were sightseeing around Washington so got to see lovely views all day. Stayed for 5 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. The buffet breakfast was very generous range for its continental style. Complimentary wine between 5-6 was a really nice touch and very popular. Very busy hotel with functions but felt it could cope very well.
The gym was very well equipped with treadmills (plural) and a selection of weights machines so it suited our longer stay.
We ate one night in the hotel restaurant Urbana which was delicious. Would also recommend Afterwords Cafe and then also Shakes for ice cream (frozen custard). It was quite a foody trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review enicol. We are glad to hear that you are staying at Kimpton hotels while traveling and enjoyed your stay both here and at Nine Zero. I am happy to see that you found our hotel to be of good value. Make sure to come see us again when you return to the Nation’s Capital.–Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing