We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Convenient location however I wouldn't say attractions are walkable from the hotel especially in winter. But subway is right around the corner and taxi is easy to get and considering the central location of DuPont point, it is easy to go everywhere.

The hotel room is very very spacious, one of the biggest room that a hotel could offer for standard room, everything is very comfortable and clean with big comfortable beds. The hotel also offers free beverage in the lobby in the afternoon which is a nice welcome if your return to the hotel in the late afternoon from the cold winter.

However the heater in our room was making a lot of noise when we turned it off and we had to call the hotel technician to come have a look. He spent a long time and I saw the inside of the massive heater vent and it looked like a mess inside with falling boards and tubes going everywhere. He tried to leak the water out and after a wile the problem seemed to have disappeared but it looked like it took some trial and error. Also there is a card in the room that offers the free yoga kit with Pilates ring and all, however when I called front desk, they told me only the yoga mat in the closet is available, I read the card to front desk and the lady told me they weren't offering it anymore and it's as a company outside that I have to pay for that comes nod provides the equipment. I was very confused about this misleading advertising.

I only stayed two nights but it was definitely a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your honest review Julie C. We take honest comments from people like you very seriously. The situation you encountered at our hotel is not the norm but that does not make it any more right. We always try to do our best and hope you will let us prove this to you on your next stay. Please let me know when you are returning to Washington and I will personally ensure your stay with us goes flawlessly.—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
913
1,575
271
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Pros:
Helpful and accommodating staff
Excellent Location
Romantic low key bar, restaurant and sitting area
Funky decor and fixtures in hallways and bathroom
Comfortable bed!
Up the street from Krispy Kreme(Yum)
Snacks and drinks available in mini fridge in room( for a fee)
Nice free wine reception every night

Cons:
Vallet Parking was very pricey
100 dollar deposit for each night you stay (You get it back in a few days after you check out, but it's my money and I need it now! lol)
Soft headboards in the bedrooms appeared to have "love" scratches on them.
Some of the drinks were pricey

We were there to celebrate my birthday and New Years Eve. Any getaway is definitely what you make it. When planning to go anywhere, keep this in mind. You'll have a great time here if you don't sweat the small stuff!

Room Tip: Get a king room. The rooms are double the size of others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for the honest review Nakia J. I am glad you chose to stay with us for your Birthday/ New Years Eve celebration and found our hotel to be of good value. Make sure to come and see us again when you return to Washington for your next getaway, we will be sure to make it another wonderful experience.—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Palomar last week and I will definitely be back. For starters I am not sure who would rate this hotel negatively. I can understand a few things here and there not being perfect but you are staying at a nice hotel in Washington DC and not the White House. So simmer down.

The check-in was a fast process and we were able to check in within 5 minutes of our arrival. After settling in the room I usually open every drawer, closet, and cabinet I could find just to get a sense of what this place has to offer. The bathroom was clean and modern with many offerings that the hotel can provide if you forgot something like a toothbrush or even a USB charger. The closet was stocked with one umbrella, two robes, and an ironing board. The umbrella was pink but I believe that there was their color. Since I staying with another guy friend you can imagine two guys with pink umbrellas walking around DC. The minibar was stocked with wine and snacks and of course you can get the items cheaper across the street at the market but you are paying for the convenience. Better believe after returning from a night of partying that I could have drank a lake of water and paying 6 dollars for a liter bottle was the best investment. The wireless is not "free" but you can sign up for their loyalty program and get free wifi. Otherwise it's 12 dollars I believe.

They do have a wine social downstairs in the lobby from 5-6 for the adults and from 4-5 they have hot chocolate for the kids (I could be wrong on the time but check with the front desk). During the wine social we met other guests and they even brought out pizza for us to share. It was a really welcoming experience that a lot of other hotels did not offer. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was one to remember. I'll be back to this hotel, for certain!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review Nick S. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel and had a great experience. Providing the best possible service is what we at the Palomar DC pride ourselves on and I am happy to hear about the great customer service you experienced. I will be sure to share your review with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, having just missed the nightly wine hour, and being given 2 passes for free wine from the hotel bar, until the minute we left when the front desk gentleman grabbed our luggage to put in the cab while insisting we take a few newspapers, we were treated like royalty.

Conveniently located in Dupont Circle, mere steps from some great restaurants, bookstores and the Phillips Museum. So location is terrific.

Free wine every night with some lovely appetizers, cannot argue with that.
Had a minor problem with the television, an engineer was sent up immediately.

Add a comfy bed, great shower head and
quite nice bath products, and you have another Kimpton gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review lefty713. The Hotel Palomar is in a great location just a quick walk or short cab ride away from a majority of the city’s attractions. I am glad to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy our wine hour. It is the perfect place where one can kick back with a glass of wine or hot toddy and interact with travelers such as yourself to share stories about your trip in Washington. Make sure to contact me the next time you are in Washington, I will be sure to make it another wonderful stay for you. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Every year we meet friends here for a 4 day stay to celebrate birthdays and New Year's. The staff is always exceptionally friendly, rooms are lovely and spacious, prices are reasonable (except for parking), and public areas are inviting. Complimentary happy hour, coffee in A M., and cider/hit chocolate in PM are welcome additions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review skardm. I am glad to hear that you and your friends have chosen to stay with us every your annual Birthday and New Year celebration. Sounds like you all have a really good time. Please let me know the next time you are returning to stay with us, I would like to know what we can do to make it a perfect stay for you and get the 5 star rating. I look forward to welcoming you back soon --Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I live 2 blocks from this hotel.

One Friday afternoon last September, I walked into my condo and discovered that a pipe had burst in my bedroom. The result was water leaking everywhere. After calling my contractor and totally stressing out, I walked up to the Palomar with the vague idea of trying to get a room for the night. The lobby was packed but I just patiently waited my turn. Once I spoke to the person at the front desk ( I think his name was Conrad) and explained my situation, I was immediately given a room at a very reasonable price. I was quite shocked, in a very good way, at the very high level of customer service. Additionally, once I arrived in my room, I found a bottle of wine and a lovely tray of fruit and cheeses.

Look, I travel frequently and have stayed in many of the best hotels in the world. However, I have rarely found the level of customer service that I found on this Friday afternoon at The Palomar. Conrad took care of me and made my unpleasant situation much more pleasurable. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dc ( or not). Also, the restaurant and bar are quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for the great review Paul V. Providing the best possible service at the Palomar DC is what we pride ourselves on. Thank you so much for the praise about our staff and their customer service, we will be sure to share and celebrate your experience. Even though you live down the street, make sure to come and see us for any special occasions, I will be sure to extend you the best possible rate and ensure you a wonderful getaway. – Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here in September for a work conference in Crystal City. I preferred to stay in DC and commute out rather than walk to the conference but be stuck out there when not working. I chose the Palomar based on price provided by our corporate travel agent and was very happy with it. The location is great – right off of Dupont Circle, and an easy and pleasant stroll to Georgetown. Great happy hour during week nights, $10 coupon on the minibar, generally excellent service. My room was vey comfortable, not tiny. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerinbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review travelerinbklyn. Glad to hear that you found us while attending a conference in Crystal City. Alike you, I would also prefer spending my after work time near DuPont Circle rather than Crystal City. DuPont Circle is a vibrant artsy neighborhood with lots to do and see. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, it is greatly appreciated. Please contact me when you are returning to the DC area, I would love to make it another fantastic stay for you. –Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing