We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I'm a huge fan of Kimpton hotels and the Palomar only confirmed what I already knew about this brand. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful- Gordon went above and beyond to assure that our stay was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The bar is well stocked and the restaurant is intimate with a impressive menu. The hotel is conveniently located near shops and restaurant and the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Beware there are only 2 elevators working right now so something on a lower level may be better if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi nonebetter,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like an excellent stay! I really appreciate you acknowledging my friend Gordon, he is an excellent example of the kind of self-leadership and guest dedication culture that we encourage with all of our team members. We look forward to your next stay.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,808
    1,091
    302
    114
    46
See reviews for
956
1,613
283
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

When we reached the hotel, the keys were not provided as the systems were down. However, the keys were provided after 2 hours. The wi-fi was included in the tariff, but the Wi-fi was also made available only next day evening. The worst part was that my room was allotted to another person and keys were provided to him. Luckily at that time, I was just in the corridor of my room waiting for my sister and I saw that gentleman trying to open my room. He told me that he has been allotted the same room. I showed him the working of my key which worked. Then he apologised. To the surprise of that gentleman and myself, we met again in the lift after abt 5 mins when he was getting of the lift and I was going to my room. He said that they allotted him another room and the same problem again happened. The other room was already occupied by some other persons. These were the biggest drawbacks of the hotel.

Another fallacy in service was that on the phone when I asked them that if the dinner was available late in the night, they told me that dinner is available only in the restaurant at that time. So, I went to the restaurant but there I was told that no dinner is available. Only drinks were available. So, the oral informations by the personnel of the Hotel and the reality do not match with each other.

However, the behaviour of personnel is very good and helping. Rooms are neat and tidy. No comments on the food as we did not had any.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhigya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Abhigya,

Thanks for your review.

I'm sorry to hear about your experiences at my Hotel. During your stay, the Hotel suffered a catastrophic loss in guest and admin internet. This threw a huge wrench into our plans, really impacting your stay. It caused all the Wi-Fi and Guest Key issues. Unfortunately, this was completely out of our control and happened with the Internet Service Provider. We have experienced no issues since this last situation was resolved. Sorry about miscommunication with dinner service, I'll pass that feedback on.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

It was less than I expected, but better than average, especially when you take price into account. Some things are just basic though. Some stains on sheet in noticeable places, dirty chair, and bathrooms, while a good size, could use a little upgrade. Never really interacted with staff so don't have much input there. OH, elevators take forever. One is down for maintenance so it makes it that much more noticeable. Free snail wifi, but have to pay to use the business center...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperEasyToPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi SuperEasyToPlease,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review.

Oh boy, tough feedback, but I do appreciate your honesty. Sorry to hear about the stained sheet, I'll be sure to pass this on to our laundry and housekeeping teams. This is not something I've seen as an issue trend. We did recently make a very large linen purchase. We are also in the middle of renovating our elevators. They'll be great when it's complete, but we're looking at October, later this year.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I'm still at the hotel and can't wait to leave. I've just stayed so far because I didn't have time to move to another hotel. I'm considering moving tomorrow.
Location is great, and staff very nice. Breakfast expensive but very good.
However, half of the room overlook a wall... and are extremely dark all day long. Wifi didn't work well in my room (I had to spend time with a customer hotline). Room was not cleaned when I cam back. I received no apologies for this. Carpet in the bedroom is very old (like the deco in the rooms in general) and smells dust. If you're allergic, avoid Palomar. I'm not and feel like sneezing each time I'm in the bedroom. Heating (forced air) is extremely loud and doesn't work well. Be prepare to feel cold each time it shuts off. I had to ask for a portable radiator. Don't come for the pool either, it's not accessible.
So by far, apart for the stylish attitude and features in the hall (deco, wine, music), Palomar is a very average hotel.

Room Tip: avoid spa rooms (bath are huge but whirlpool average) and these rooms have absolutely no natural lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello john b,

Thanks for your review.

Gosh, I am so sorry to hear about your experience at my Hotel. I am certain the room cleaning issue was a one off situation. However, I am embarrassed as to how the situation was handled. Would you be so kind to contact me at Abe.liao@hotelpalomar.com to discuss further? I hope to make this situation right.

Look forward to chatting,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We arrived at the Palomar having travelled by train from NYC. The door staff and reception desk staff were very friendly and we got checked in without any problems. I had emailed the previous week to see if I could get some cocktails waiting for us in our room, to surprise my wife. Lukas replied to my email and was very helpful. When we reached our room, the cocktails were there, but unfortunately we had to phone the front desk and get our room changed due to the smell of cigarette smoke. Even the porter commented on it. We were switched very quickly (and managed to take our cocktails with us) and our new room was as fresh as we'd have expected. I'm not sure what had happened in our original room, but it's a shame that the cleaning staff hadn't highlighted it to the manager, as it shouldn't have been made available to guests until it had been thoroughly cleaned.

On our first night, we were awakened by our "neighbour" shouting and swearing down his phone, so the soundproofing isn't brilliant. My wife phoned down to the front desk and complained, asking if someone could go and talk to the guest in the adjacent room. We're not sure what happened, as the noise continued for some time afterwards. The next night, however, we had a note and some chocolates in our room from the hotel, apologising for our sleepless night. After that, we had no further issues during our stay.

There is a gym in the hotel but, unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to try it out. Washington is a brilliant city for walking around, so we burned our gym calories out on the streets. :)

There is complimentary coffee downstairs each morning until 10am and, during the week, there is a "wine hour" where you can get a complimentary glass of wine and some nibbles. Very nice touches.

Despite our couple of small problems, I'd definitely consider the Palomar again if we ever go back to Washington.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi gbomatic,

Thanks for completing a review on TripAdvisor.

Sounds like a great stay, minus some unruliness from a neighboring room. Not much we can do, besides tell them to quiet down, but sorry still. So excited you got a chance to meet Lukas. He's a gem.

See you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is definitely one of my favorite Kimpton hotels in Washington DC. The staff is always incredibly friendly, the location is perfect, and the rooms are gorgeous. Definitely check out the wine hour since they tend to have seasonal drinks that are always delicious. Also, it's definitely a good idea to join the Kimpton rewards program; you get a raid the bar credit, room preference, and special rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krcbneu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi neuhart2,

Thanks for your review!

Seems like you had a great stay. A love affair even! Thanks for pointing out our Guest Loyalty Program, Kimpton InTouch. Great benefits including my favorite, special "KIT" only deals and a nice $10 "Raid the Bar" credit.

See you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Washington - the hotel was well located between Dupont Circle and Georgetown, so it was convenient for sightseeing and restaurants. You can walk to the White House but if ou are going mich further, bikes or a cab into town are recommended. The social hour at the bar was great too - hot toddy when it was freezing outside! Staff were super friendly. Rooms were large and stylishly put together.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_and_H_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telmanager10, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for positive review A_and_H_away. I am glad you chosen to stay with us for your stay in Washington and enjoyed your experience. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk or quick cab ride from most of the city’s main attractions. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. I will be sure to share with them and I know it will be greatly appreciated. Make sure to reach out and let me know when you return, I would love to know what we can do to make it a 5 star experience.—Jerry Chou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,060 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,080 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,241 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,152 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing