We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First Class Service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were in town for an event, so someone else chose this location. What an excellent choice they made. All of the employees were attentive, polite, and seemed truly pleased to have us there.During our stay, I asked several questions about directions, where to buy certain items etc, and they went out of their way to get me correct answers. A couple of times the doormen hailed us cabs, which is not something we are used to doing so we appreciated that. We also were within a 5-10 minute walk to the Metro station, which is an adventure in itself.

They had no king rooms left when we made our reservation, so we were in a two-queen room.--comfortable bed and linens. There was still plenty of floor space to move around. We got a corner room just as we prefer. It was far from the elevator and felt very private and quiet. Everything was clean and fresh.

Thankfully there was an umbrella in the closet because I had forgotten mine. Yes, it is purple and says Palomar on it, but such thoughtfulness can be rewarded with a little advertising.

We also requested a coffee maker in our room, and it was delivered on a tray with mugs, coffee, and condiments.

As others have mentioned, the wine hour in the early evening is a welcome amenity. They served the wines at proper temperatures, which greatly enhances the flavor and enjoyment. They also were serving sake in honor of the Cherry Blossom Festival- delicious.

The elevator was usually slow to arrive, plus one of them was temporarily out of service. But that just gave us something to joke about with other guests.

The event price did not go over to another night, so we were happy to have experienced this level of service while we could.

Room Tip: Join the In Touch program so that they know your room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SapphireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi SapphireVoyager,

Thanks for your review.

What a great stay. Thanks for sharing this first hand testimonial with the traveling community. Sounds like all went very well. I did want to share that the elevators are being renovated, thus the delays in service. They will be all done at year's end.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,782
    1,082
    298
    113
    45
See reviews for
945
1,604
279
1,019
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 15th March for 5 days. Its a lovely hotel, large clean room and bathroom and we found all the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is on to a winner with the wine tasting hour between 5 - 6pm in the lobby, we visited each evening of our stay a great way to meet people and enjoy some good wine. With being a In Touch member we received free Wi-Fi and a $10 voucher for the room mini bar or drinks in the bar.
On our checkout we were informed that we could keep our room until 2pm, which was very helpful. Would recommend this hotel as its just off DuPont Circle and within walking distance to the White House, monuments, museums ect. would stay here again if visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Traveling Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi The Traveling Couple,

Thanks for your review.

What a wonderful stay and testimonial. Thank you for sharing with the TripAdvisor community. I can see the staff went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. I hope you will return to us soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Smart hotel with a high service level and friendly atmosphere.
In fair walking distance of center Washington but right next to embassey area.
Basic breakfast is a little too "cheap" so prepare to pay extra for omelet or other.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi leon-lau (Fyn),

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like a good stay overall. I'll be sure to pass your feedback along about breakfast. We do offer an advanced continental breakfast with Hot Options. We are working on doing a full buffet in the coming months. Stay tuned.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The rooms are actually fun - not your typical anonymous hotel room. And I specifically go there for the restaurant (Urbana) and bar. There's even a "wine hour" (which I missed last time and they gave me a voucher for the bar). It's just a fun place all around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine111aaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Jasmine111aaa,

Thanks for your review.

Not your cookie cutter Hotel experience. We love just being a little different than the rest. Our Evening Manager's Hosted Wine Reception is great feature. A little party to welcome you back every evening.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Decor not as quirky as some Kimptons - but a completely enjoyable experience. Friendly staff, large rooms, nice size workout facility, great Dupont Circle location. The restaurant - Urban - is great. Breakfast was quick, delicious - just need slightly better lighting for reading! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a larger room -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi marles83,

Thanks for your review.

Like you mentioned, another great Kimpton property. I appreciate the note about Urbana! Our new Executive Chef Ethan Mckee is shaking things up on the menu. RAVE reviews so far. Please check us out again soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a very classy, elegant hotel right off Dupont Circle; it does not have the quirky character I normally associate (and love) with Kimpton hotels, but rather has a posh modern feel. The rooms are huge and very clean. The front desk staff is terrific, very efficient and friendly. I love the wine hour. There are a lot of restaurants and a metro within a couple of minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank long4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi long4travel,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like just an awesome stay. Thanks for pointing out our location, it's in one of the best in all of DC. The Executive Category rooms are some of the largest "standard" size rooms in the city, for all Hotel brands.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

It is really nice - buy stuff from the supermarket across the street because when I woke up at 4 due to jet lag I couldn't get coffee and had to wait until 6 am when they start serving coffee at the lobby. Gym is 24 hours. I would come again. Overall, it's sufficient to what you pay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CluelessRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi CluelessRiyadh,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

Sounds like a pretty good stay. For future reference, you may request a coffee maker in advance of your stay and we will proactively place it in your room. Our gym is huge, thanks for pointing this out.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,031 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing