We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very well appointed hotel with fantastically helpful staff who could not have been more helpful. the location was a very convenient 5 minute walk from Du Pont Circle Metro station and the hotel is surround by good places to eat and several supermarkets. The hotel restaurant was also excellent and the free wifi was useful. Highly recommend for a Washington visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Andrew D,

Thank you for your review. What an awesome stay. I can see you really took advantage of our location. In the heart of Dupont Circle, you can reach all cool neighborhoods in DC, not to mention the Metro being right within walking distance. Appreciate you sharing with the traveling community.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,703
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
913
1,576
271
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I are big fans of the Kimpton Palomar in Philadelphia so when we were headed to DC we decided give this location a try for two nights in late April. It was a pretty disappointing stay.

When we arrived, the valet area in front of the hotel was completely full of cars with one attendant working. We had to circle the block several times before there was a space to leave our car to valet. Unacceptable for a $65/n service.

We waited another 15 minutes to check in. And then we found out about the elevators. Ohhh, the elevators. Three small elevators with one down for maintenance is simply not enough to service this hotel. It sounds like a really small annoyance, but you would wait at least 10 minutes any time you wanted to take the elevator. And coming down from the 10th floor meant stopping at all the floors along the way, cramming as many people in as possible for fear it might be another 10 minutes before you had another chance. A note from the manager in the room explained the elevator situation - but it was dated from January! You can't tell me that it takes 3+ months to renovate elevators. Just crazy.

The room was big but not really an efficient use of space. A huge amount of space between the bed and the dresser, yet the bathroom door only opened 1/3rd of the way because it crashed into the toilet. Seems poorly planned. The walls were pretty thin, so you could definitely hear doors closing all around you.

Getting our car pulled up for valet upon our departure was a similarly chaotic experience. The valet card says to call 30 minutes before you need the car, but we ended up waiting an additional 40 minutes at the curb with no explanation of what was the source of the hold up.

We wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor so you can take the stairs and avoid the elevator disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gco87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello gco87,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your stay was disappointing. Sounds like a very rough time on the in and out with our Valet Operations Team. I will be sure to share this feedback with them. We are in a rather busy season, but normally handle the arrival experience very well. Additionally, our elevators are indeed being renovated, or more properly stated modernized. The modernization process does take approximately 3 months per lift. I agree, its rather slow, but it is a necessary process. Hopefully you will return to us after the project is completed.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel due to the location, the amenities, and the overwhelming positive reviews. Well, I have to say that I can see the allure, BUT this hotel seemed EXTREMELY packed, and as such it was completely unacceptable that they had elevators not running due to repairs (and the ones that ARE working are very small.) If I had known this, I wouldn't have booked a room there.

The non-functional elevators resulted in 15-minute waits for a single elevator trip, and situations with people forcing their way onto the elevators, overcrowding them and smashing each other into the walls... a fistfight almost broke out at one point.

Unacceptable, and I would advise staying against there until situation is resolved.

Also, the hotel seems in need of some maintenance/updating -- wallpaper warped and peeling from walls and other run-down appearances. Bed was comfy and room was clean, though.

Room Tip: The budget rooms are fairly small. The beds are reasonable (good size and comfy), but the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mediaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi mediaguru,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. The elevators are currently being modernized, which is also apart of a much larger renovation. I apologize it impacted your stay, but unfortunately the work is unavoidable. Once complete, we will move on to renovating the Hotel Guest Rooms and Corridors. Hopefully you can return to us after these updates are complete? I would love to personally arrange that future stay for you.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My flight got in really late and I hate to get up really early so I didn't really make the best of this. But it seemed like a great hotel and as good as any of the other Kimpton's I have stayed in over the years. I got a great deal through Hotel Tonight (about $150). The room was very comfy, stylish etc. The location good. parking sucks. That's about it really. Hopefully I will be back to savor it more fully one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Mactoki,

Thank you for your review. Glad you found a great deal on Hotel Tonight. We load only a few rooms at a time, last second, so it's great you got a room. Sorry you didn't get to enjoy our services, would have loved to see you at our Evening Hosted Wine Reception or Dining in Urbana. Next time?

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We agree with the below review from jakklein...after a 4 night stay we were a bit disappointed from our previous visit. 2 small elevators just don't handle the number of guests in a 10 floor hotel, and the waits were very disheartening. The manager posted a "mea culpa" in each room but it was not expected and made coming up and down for morning coffee (nice touch) or evening wine almost painful.
The Dupont Circle location is hands down the selling point for this Kimpton...there are great restaurants all around, it is 2 blocks from the metro, and the neighborhood feels so safe and busy without the downtown frenetics of some of their other locations. One more comment from our previous visit, some of the furnishings are starting to show their "age"...While we too are showing our age I expect Kimpton hotels to keep their rooms up to their 4 star standards. Sure hard to beat the large room size of the Executive kings...made our other destinations seem tiny.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are about 500 sq. ft.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good signage to encourage "green" practices (re-using towels etc)
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 145JulieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi 145JulieH,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with our elevators. They are the first phase of a multi-million dollar renovation that is occurring through the end of 2014. The renovation beyond the elevators will also address all the wear and tear issues you mentioned in the guestroom. Hopefully you will rejoin us after the renovations are complete and I would love to personally arrange this stay for you.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice hotel, unfortunately there was only two active lifts during are stay and they're were extremely slow which was a little annoying. Also, during the night every time someone shut a door on our floor our room door shook so we didn't sleep well. The room was a good size but doesn't really provide any views. A bit out of the hub of the city but very close to a metro station & I would recommend using this. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. The hotel restaurant, Urbana was a little disappointing. The reception staff booked it for our first night of our honeymoon & they told the restaurant this but they still sat us on probably the worst table in there & the food was ok but not amazing, preferred Scion across the road. Would look at other hotels if visiting Washington again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEL1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi CEL1232014,

Thanks so much for the review. I'm sorry about the mixed bag of experience at my Hotel. We're currently in the process of a major renovation, the first steps in this process include modernizing the elevators. as for the view, all of the buildings in DC are subjected to a height ordinance, so views are tough to come by in general. I'm also sorry to hear about your Restaurant experience. We will be sure to review this with our Management Team in that area.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just finished a five night stay at The Palomar. A Kimpton property that I used to love. It is going through a rough time right now. Our stay simply wasn't good, and we were not alone.

1. The hotel has 10 floors and a large number of nice rooms. However, it has 3 elevators, and they are upgrading the inside of one elevator at a time right now. So, with only two SMALL elevators, the waits to go up or down (we were on the 10th) floor were unacceptable. Sometimes we had to wait 10-15 minutes for an elevator.

Worse, I asked the maintenance engineer and they are not upgrading the speed of the elevators anyway, which are already remarkably slow. This is a serious problem.

2. They have a very finicky door key. Our keys would routinely stop working after each use - forcing us to trudge back down 10 flights (or wait 10 minutes for an elevator) to get a new key.

At first they told me it was just us - unlucky. Then I realized it couldn't be us - we had two rooms and all of us had the same problem. Apparently just having your key in your pocket, with a cellphone in ANOTHER pocket, leads to demagnetized keys. Furthermore (can you believe this?) they told me that they keys demagnetized when you visit a museum in DC (metal detectors). So, get ready to keep asking for new keys.

3. This is a VERY pet friendly hotel. I don't have a pet but find that Ok, unless, as was the case here, you have barking dogs all the time, as we did. I have no idea how they are supposed to deal with this, but I think they really want only dog owners.

The hotel is well located, just 2 ½ blocks from the Metro. It has a decent restaurant. But I would not stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi jakklein,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you compartmentalizing your experience. Sometimes if one issue occurs, there is a tendency to impact the entire stay negatively. Yes, we are in the midst of an elevator modernization. They will not be faster, but there are many things with the operation that will improve to make them more intuitive, therefore more efficient. I'm sorry to hear about the key issue, but glad to see it was addressed. Like all Kimpton Hotels, we are pet friendly. In the future, we can always setup a request to block your room on a pet free floor. I appreciate your loyalty and hope you will continue to choose us for your stays in DC. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay at, Abe.liao@hotelpalomar.com.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing