We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab hotel!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night in August 2013 before flying back home the next day. We arrived late at night and the young man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely huge and the bed was so comfortable, just what we needed after being in Las Vegas for 4 days! Our flight wasn't until the following evening so we checked out in the morning and they kept our baggage for us while we went sightseeing. We had dinner in the hotel which was lovely. They have a wine reception in the evening and even though we had checked out, the lovely lady at reception said we could still of course have some wine. Really really great hotel and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Elaine B,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like just an awesome experience. I appreciate you acknowledging my front desk as well. We've got some good folks up there. Be sure to sign up for Kimpton InTouch, our guest loyalty program, to receive last minute specials and other deals that would bring you back our way.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    1,077
    296
    111
    43
See reviews for
938
1,598
274
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I've been staying in Kimpton hotels for years and have the Palomar at the top of my list for the chain. Kimpton's positions on social and environmental issues are a great draw, but none of this matters quite as much to me at the end of a long day as do the comfort, convenience and friendliness of the hotel. This is where the Palomar really scores...from the helpfulness of the front door and reception desk staff, to the room size and amenities, and on to the restaurant food. Oh, and a very comfortable bed! And all this for a very reasonable price. Easy location on P Street, not far from the Metro and lots of nearby restaurants and shops. And an easy exit from town if you're driving.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank longjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi longjch,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your continued loyalty through the years. Sounds like you are a real Kimptonite! While Kimpton has many awesome programs and initiatives, its our people that make all the difference in the world. Our awesome location helps out too.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel has a very modern, cool vibe. Loved the wine hour each night. Would definately recommend this hotel and will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Tracey G,

Thank you for your review and pointing out our Evening Hosted Manager's Reception. It's super popular and a hit with all of our guests. I appreciate you passing along the good word about your stay. We thrive off first hand testimonials.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here the weekend of the European Open House tours. It was absolutely perfect location. The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and quite. At 5pm, there is free wine bar for an hour. Valet parking is $45, so make sure you think about that before renting a car, might be cheaper to take a cab to/from Dulles. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi delmov,

Thank you for for your review. I loved that you visited during the European Open House tours. It's a great event that a lot of people don't take advantage of. Not to mention Palomar is the perfectly situated Hotel. Parking can be a tad pricey in DC, but pretty much on par with any other major metropolitan parking environment. Cabbing it is a great option, especially considering the world class Metro Transit system, once you are in DC.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a couple of days in DC to attend a meeting and stayed at the Palomar. Nice boutique hotel - very friendly staff. Elevators were being worked on so they let us know that up front - I didn't experience any problems but service elevators and of course the stairs were there if you were in a hurry. Clean, spacious comfortable room - loved the decor - very cool lighing and bathroom fixtures. The hotel had complimentary robes and umbrellas which came in handy during the two days of rain! Very nice bar and lobby with fireplaces and complimentary wine happy hour. WiFI is free when you join as a Kimpton member. Very close to Dupont Circle and much to do within walking distance. First time I had been there and I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi cafja,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the positive review about our Hotel. Sounds like a lot to like. Sorry about the Elevator situation. Apart of maintaining a great guest experience for our guests requires a lot of work. Sometimes maintenance and upgrades are needed. We're projecting October for the full modernization project to be completed, leaving us with super efficient elevators for your next visit.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Palomar on Easter weekend and had a fabulous time! We initially had some difficulty settling down in a room (the first had a loud dog next door and there was a funny odor in the hallway of the second), but the front desk staff happily moved us twice until we were satisfied. Our reservation also included free breakfast, which was a bargain. The breakfast is a decent buffet with eggs, pancakes, toast and bagels, fresh fruit, tea, and coffee; nothing fancy, but definitely better than most continentals! The Palomar also offers complimentary wine for guests in the lobby between 5 and 6pm daily and this was a real treat. Not only was the free wine great, but we always met interesting people in the lobby and really enjoyed this socialization. The hotel's location is excellent (just a short walk to Dupont Circle metro) and they have 2 bikes that any hotel guest can borrow for the day! Definitely take advantage of these free bikes instead of paying for the ones around DC.

The staff at the Palomar were outstanding (especially Colleen!) and made our experience SO wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone while in Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Borrow the hotel's 2 bikes for a fun day around DC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruser_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi kruser_11,

Thank you for your review. Wow, what a great experience! I loved the entire review, but I particularly like the shout out for Colleen. Not a coincidence that she's moved up in the world and taken on a new role with our Sales Team. Awesome right?! Either way, we look forward to your next stay.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very convenient to DuPont Circle Metro, Rock Creek Parkway (walking, running, cycling track that will take you to the memorials or the smithsonian Zoo) and nice restaurants / cafes. Free wifi on unlimited devices was appreciated, as was presence of a bar fridge (doesn't seem a standard inclusion in US). Room was relatively basic and fairly dark, with interesting animal print dressing gown and faux animal skin blanket!
One lift was closed for maintenance so lift queues were tiresome.

Green Features: Presence of two bins - recycling and rubbish - is rare and was appreciated!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harrison-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Harrison-act,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. Sounds like a great stay. So happy you got to take advantage of all the things DC has to offer. My favorite of course, the Smithsonian Institutions, all of which are free. Sorry about the elevator wait time. Apart of running a great Hotel, requires use to perform periodic upgrades and maintenance. Once the modernization is complete, you can count on a very efficient and timely elevator experience.

Please return to us again,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing