We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room & location but can't deal with high occupancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We chose the Palomar because of the great location and the fabulous things I always hear about Kimpton. In fact the hotel was booked when I first tried to reserve and we had reserved at the Sofitel but my persistence to stay found us a room last minute. We were excited by our motion spa room. Plenty spacious. An elliptical in a separate nook. Lots of room for our little guy to run around. And the location right of dupont can't be beat. But that's where the good stuff ends. The hotel was busy busy and pretty much full occupancy but neither the staff nor facilities could keep up with it. The elevators are a complete hassle. We found ourselves waiting up to 10 minutes for an elevator. And then one broke! So imagine that. The $1 breakfast upgrade is worth about $1. A bowl of fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and some pastries. $5 extra for eggs. The high chairs are broken. I had asked whether the hotel had cribs, we ended up with a pack n play. We got one bar of soap for our whole stay...apparently they didn't think to replenish toiletries. Our sheets were not changed during our three night stay. Thoroughly disappointing. Next time I will be sure to check the occupancy rates at a Kimpton before being so hot to stay. Clearly their service promise can't scale up.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Jezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi Jezzabel,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the all angles approach to your feedback. While some good, some also not so good. I apologize about the elevators. We are a rather busy Hotel, but unfortunately we do have to keep up with the maintenance and facilities. That's why our elevators are undergoing a full modernization. The work is scheduled to be complete in October of this year. After this process, we are looking forward to presenting an extremely efficient elevator experience. I'll be sure to pass along feedback about our Breakfast Buffet to the restaurant team. We provide pack and plays for all crib requests as we find they are most user friendly and consistently adhere to manufacturer safety regulations. I also apologize for the amenity replenishment issue. Maybe you could contact me for a future stay, one that I can commit to being a more positive one.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,441)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

we loved our stay at this hotel, it is in a great location and the rooms are spacious.
I was pleased when I asked for a room on a lower floor and the 2nd floor was available. they have wine hour every night - that was nice.
Friends told me that breakfast wasn't open till 8 am on saturday which didn't work for them as we had an event to attend in the morning.
They have a pool but it was closed in May

Room Tip: if you want to avoid using the elevator ask for a low floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisafromMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi lisafromMaynard,

Thank you for review on TripAdvisor. We do our best to honor all guest requests and it sounds like we were able to get you taken care of. Sorry to hear about breakfast hours, we typically open later on weekends to accommodate a later waking crowd. Like most outdoor pools in DC, we follow the Memorial Day to Labor Day rule. We're just a few days away from opening the pool! Hope you can join us.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night in August 2013 before flying back home the next day. We arrived late at night and the young man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was absolutely huge and the bed was so comfortable, just what we needed after being in Las Vegas for 4 days! Our flight wasn't until the following evening so we checked out in the morning and they kept our baggage for us while we went sightseeing. We had dinner in the hotel which was lovely. They have a wine reception in the evening and even though we had checked out, the lovely lady at reception said we could still of course have some wine. Really really great hotel and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello Elaine B,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like just an awesome experience. I appreciate you acknowledging my front desk as well. We've got some good folks up there. Be sure to sign up for Kimpton InTouch, our guest loyalty program, to receive last minute specials and other deals that would bring you back our way.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've been staying in Kimpton hotels for years and have the Palomar at the top of my list for the chain. Kimpton's positions on social and environmental issues are a great draw, but none of this matters quite as much to me at the end of a long day as do the comfort, convenience and friendliness of the hotel. This is where the Palomar really scores...from the helpfulness of the front door and reception desk staff, to the room size and amenities, and on to the restaurant food. Oh, and a very comfortable bed! And all this for a very reasonable price. Easy location on P Street, not far from the Metro and lots of nearby restaurants and shops. And an easy exit from town if you're driving.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank longjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi longjch,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your continued loyalty through the years. Sounds like you are a real Kimptonite! While Kimpton has many awesome programs and initiatives, its our people that make all the difference in the world. Our awesome location helps out too.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel has a very modern, cool vibe. Loved the wine hour each night. Would definately recommend this hotel and will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello Tracey G,

Thank you for your review and pointing out our Evening Hosted Manager's Reception. It's super popular and a hit with all of our guests. I appreciate you passing along the good word about your stay. We thrive off first hand testimonials.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here the weekend of the European Open House tours. It was absolutely perfect location. The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and quite. At 5pm, there is free wine bar for an hour. Valet parking is $45, so make sure you think about that before renting a car, might be cheaper to take a cab to/from Dulles. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi delmov,

Thank you for for your review. I loved that you visited during the European Open House tours. It's a great event that a lot of people don't take advantage of. Not to mention Palomar is the perfectly situated Hotel. Parking can be a tad pricey in DC, but pretty much on par with any other major metropolitan parking environment. Cabbing it is a great option, especially considering the world class Metro Transit system, once you are in DC.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a couple of days in DC to attend a meeting and stayed at the Palomar. Nice boutique hotel - very friendly staff. Elevators were being worked on so they let us know that up front - I didn't experience any problems but service elevators and of course the stairs were there if you were in a hurry. Clean, spacious comfortable room - loved the decor - very cool lighing and bathroom fixtures. The hotel had complimentary robes and umbrellas which came in handy during the two days of rain! Very nice bar and lobby with fireplaces and complimentary wine happy hour. WiFI is free when you join as a Kimpton member. Very close to Dupont Circle and much to do within walking distance. First time I had been there and I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi cafja,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the positive review about our Hotel. Sounds like a lot to like. Sorry about the Elevator situation. Apart of maintaining a great guest experience for our guests requires a lot of work. Sometimes maintenance and upgrades are needed. We're projecting October for the full modernization project to be completed, leaving us with super efficient elevators for your next visit.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,191 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
2,122 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
488 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £113 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing