We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of the Kimpton Brand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthy of the Kimpton Brand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Palomar is the 3rd Kimpton hotel we've stayed at -- the first with our 6-year-old -- and the staff there provided an excellent experience.

The two-queen-bed room is plenty of space for 3, good for 4 if needed. The bathroom was cramped but clean and moderately well-appointed.

The famed wine hour was fun but a little claustrophobic in the Palomar's small lobby. I'm guessing folks who work in the Dupont Circle neighborhood would drop by after work, but who could blame them.

The only restaurant, Urbana, is really solid. We had a decent breakfast there (normal portions!) and a tapas dinner that included our daughter doing the prep on her own pizza before it was baked. Great idea. Too bad they're transitioning to more of an Italian-type menu because the wider Mediterranean offerings were excellent.

The pool is small, but really unique, wedged into the brick buildings on the street. A real city feel. Keep in mind there aren't many lounge chairs and just two larger cabana-type sitting areas. Choose your visiting times wisely at the pool (it'd be great if they kept it open past 8pm, but the pool attendants work hard keeping the area clean, so I get it.)

But, as with many Kimptons, what really does the trick is the superior service. Every staff member treated our kid like a VIP, and being a guest included her choice of DVD rentals, lemonade and crackers during wine hour, free room service milk and cookies, and plenty of pool toys. She barely wanted to tour around DC with goodies like that. We also requested the traditional Kimpton goldfish for our room, and they were happy to bring up some fish food so she could care for her new buddy.

Additional items:
Philip is a fine concierge, I believe he's available Tuesday through Saturday.
The Dupont Circle Metro stop is about 3 blocks away.

All in all, we had an early summer (short) vacation that was right for our tastes and needs. It'll be real tough for us not to stay at a Kimpton in the future...

Room Tip: Elevators can be slow, and the hotel is very clear about the fact that they're fixing that. Top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,707
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
914
1,576
271
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed several times when the nonprofit work budget allows. The cheapest rates have found me in rooms that were large and luxurious and more recently in tiny cramped but a still well appointed room. Know what you're getting so you won't be disappointed. Nice wine reception, comfortable meeting rooms and delicious catering.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights to see the sights of DC. Perfect location in Dupont, with easy access to plenty of shops, restaurants & bars (Beer/Ale lovers check out Bier Baron, and a visit to Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe is a must!) A five minute walk to the Metro makes all of DC accessible. A large CVS at the on the way to metro means picking up water/snacks/essentials for the day is easy. Dupont is a very nice area with a neighbourhood feel, very safe and not too busy.

Our room was large, clean and regularly serviced, with all the usual in-room facilities you expect from a large hotel like the Palomar. There was plenty of storage space, and plenty of hanging space in the large closet.

Hotel staff are friendly and genuinely seem to care. They acknowledge there is an issue with the elevators at the moment, but point out directions to the service elevator (actually much quicker than the others we found!) and the stairs. The complementary wine hour with snacks between 5 & 6 is heaven after a day of sightseeing and museum walking.

We were lucky enough to have free continental breakfast during our stay, the usual assortment of cereals/breads/pastries/pancakes, teas & coffee etc. You can also order something from the menu if you wish.

This wasn't our first stay at a Kimpton hotel and we already have travel plans to stay at another.

P.S: Sign up to the free loyalty program to get free WiFi in the hotel & a $10 mini-bar credit!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are twice the size for a small fee - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bp_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Super hotel. 4 nts in DC and glad we stayed here. Staff is wonderful, room was nice. Had a problem the first night with 1st room. No problem moved to another quickly. Great location with some super restaurants around and for seeing the sights. Great to get back by 5 for their happy hour. Lots of nice people to chat with or to simply watch. Stayed with Kimpton in other cities. They never fail us.

Green Features: Don't like the idea of having dogs there but unless you see them you wouldn't know.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi David G,

Thank you for your review and 5-Star Rating! I appreciate this return guest testimonial. Speaks volumes for first time guests, considering our Hotel as home while in DC. Our Evening Hosted Wine Reception is always a hit. Glad you took advantage!

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay in DC that would be near some nightlife (restaurants, bars etc.), be close to public transport and not too far from the sights if I wanted to walk. The Palomar turned out to be a great choice.

Located near Dupont Circle it has a myriad of restaurants nearby catering to any taste and was close to the metro line. I ended up not using the metro and instead used the Tripadvisor DC app to conduct a walking tour of the major monuments and logged 14 miles from the hotel and back - but the metro was always there just in case I had enough walking. It's not far to walk to the White House through a retail area and from there you can take in the wondrous sights of the capitol.

The hotel is also extremely well suited for exploring Georgetown and it's just a short walk through a nice park and some fantastic architecture to get to the main street.

The rooms are a decent size but I was in a room down a shorter, narrower corridor off the main corridor (X14). This meant there were three rooms whose doors were a couple of feet apart so there was some noise spilling from the rooms. They are also a dog friendly hotel, which is awesome.

The hotel bar and restaurant were very nice and the bar was open fairly late. Breakfast was good but the buffet was pretty limited in eggs and pancakes being the only hot food that was available.

Parking is outrageously expensive and it cost me more to park it than rent it at $45 per day. This may be the norm in the capitol but I found it to be a shock.

There's a nice pool area and a small gym with some cardio machines, weights and a small area to do some floor work.

I'm definitely heading back to DC and will definitely look to stay here again, this time sans the car!

Room Tip: Avoid X14,X15,X16 as they are in an offshoot of the main corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Si405,

Thank you for your extensive review about our Hotel. I can see you took away many positives from your experience. As for parking, yes, it can be rather pricey in any major metropolitan city. DC parking rates are in line with those in Chicago and New York City, so you can imagine how often we hear this. We don't have luxury of ample space given our location.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Every Palomar is great - what makes the Palomar in DC stand out is the staff and location.

The staff are among the best you'll ever meet - always there to lend a hand or offer great suggestions.

The location is perfect - just off the circle in the right direction - two refined quiet blocks with great food (Le Pain Quotidien, Scion, Paradiso) and a nice atmosphere.

Plenty to in the neighborhood - The Phillips Collection is around the corner and a great place from which to launch excursions to everything DC has to offer.

This was not my first stay, and it certainly won't be my last.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Swagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Will_Swagger,

Thank you for your review! I love the username by the way! So many positives with your stay, I appreciate you acknowledging our staff specifically. We go out of our way to hire genuinely good people that want to care about others. Makes me excited when they are acknowledged in this way.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Palomar for one night on business. The hotel is nice and clean. I was welcomed warmly during check in. My room was small, but standard size for the area. The hotel was quiet and is located in a nice area. There are lots of places to eat within a short walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Southerntraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Southerntraveler18,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like overall a great stay. We do offer varying categories of guestrooms with different square footage, exposures and features. My favorite is the Executive Category rooms. Check out our property, The Brice, in Savannah, Georgia. Your neck of the woods!

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing