We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms, excellent location, friendly and fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Big rooms, excellent location, friendly and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for our family of 6. The views were awesome! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel free happy hour is a treat. Local wines and a handcrafted cocktail were on the house from 5-6 pm every afternoon.
The location was excellent- DuPont Circle.
We are always happy with the Kimpton hotels. We will definitely come back to the Palomar!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,733
    1,067
    294
    108
    43
See reviews for
930
1,585
272
995
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

From the in-house restaurant to the luxe and perfectly appointed rooms to the incredibly welcoming and friendly staff, the Palomar Washington D.C. really stands out even amongst its crowded Kimpton competition in Washington D.C.

Rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed. Very nice toiletries, plenty of space and of course those fantastic Kimpton animal-print robes! The pool was busy with vacationing families when I visited, but the staff had been keeping the towels flowing and when I came out I found an inviting chaise lounge with a towel already rolled up and placed on it waiting for me.

Restaurant is large enough to spread out in. After giving the patio a shot, I let the mosquitos drive me indoors and found a quiet space inside. A great variety of seating options, including large booths and small tables. Food is delicious! My only (minor) gripe is that the mushroom pizza mushroom pieces were a bit too large to be easily eaten in a bit requiring some knife-work.

Highly recommended, one of my new favorites in D.C. Easily matches the Mandarin for customer service and delivers style and comfort while still being super-welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I returned to this hotel for the first time since 2010, and while I was pleased with the room size (superior king), I was disappointed in the fact that I was unable to sleep well. Room was located at the back of the hotel, and there was apparently a party out back that was quite loud (we were on the 5th floor). Guest noise from the hallway was also loud and woke me thrice, despite being located at an end of a hallway.

Staff at the desk was friendly and helpful, and they are making an effort to improve by working on the elevators that have received complaints - and the wine happy hour is always nice - but I'm disappointed that I wasn't able to sleep well on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away.

Perhaps request a quiet room - if there is one. And skip the restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior kings are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
Green Features: Honestly, I didn't see any evidence of this, but I only stayed one night. Any hotel that uses tiny plastic bottles of shampoo and plastic cups for water in the lobby isn't very environmentally friendly, in my opinion.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_fr0m_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel in June 14 and found it to be comfortable, friendly and modern. The wine tasting each night was a good way to meet other guest or just relax after a days sightseeing, before going out for dinner. The pool area was very relaxing and having a swim on a hot sunny day in the centre of town is a definite plus. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and the bathroom was superb, great shower and lots of toiletries, hair dryers fantastic, so no need to carry this with you ladies. The staff were very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the hotel and Washington. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked via Hotwired and didn't know anything about the Kimpton chain. We found out just before arriving that it is a pet-friendly hotel. The front desk was very warm and helpful, and gladly switched our room to a pet-free floor (due to allergy). The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Dupont Circle metro station, making it really easy to get around without a car. The neighbourhood is great, with lots of dining and shopping choices. The room is of a good size with a large closet. Everything is very clean. People mingle in the lobby after 6pm for a glass of free wine. The food in the attached restaurant (Urbana) is reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Despite the pet-friendly nature, I did not see any dogs inside the hotel during our three day stay.

Room Tip: People with allergy should ask for a pet-free floor (there are only two such floors out of 9).
See more room tips
Green Features: Our room has a recycling bin. Bathroom could use more towel hooks to allow guests to re-use towels
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have just spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay . A boutique hotel sums it up very well. The wine reception each evening was great as you had the opportunity to have a glass (or two) relax and talk to other guests (if you wanted to). Our room was very modern, large, and comfortable. The hotel were also offering the loan of some bikes to guests if they wanted to borrow them. The restaurant, called URBANA, provided excellent food and in my opinion was not expensive. The restaurant provides European sized meals but the food was delicious. I have no hesitation in saying that I would stay there again if I come back to Washington.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENC663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Palomar is the 3rd Kimpton hotel we've stayed at -- the first with our 6-year-old -- and the staff there provided an excellent experience.

The two-queen-bed room is plenty of space for 3, good for 4 if needed. The bathroom was cramped but clean and moderately well-appointed.

The famed wine hour was fun but a little claustrophobic in the Palomar's small lobby. I'm guessing folks who work in the Dupont Circle neighborhood would drop by after work, but who could blame them.

The only restaurant, Urbana, is really solid. We had a decent breakfast there (normal portions!) and a tapas dinner that included our daughter doing the prep on her own pizza before it was baked. Great idea. Too bad they're transitioning to more of an Italian-type menu because the wider Mediterranean offerings were excellent.

The pool is small, but really unique, wedged into the brick buildings on the street. A real city feel. Keep in mind there aren't many lounge chairs and just two larger cabana-type sitting areas. Choose your visiting times wisely at the pool (it'd be great if they kept it open past 8pm, but the pool attendants work hard keeping the area clean, so I get it.)

But, as with many Kimptons, what really does the trick is the superior service. Every staff member treated our kid like a VIP, and being a guest included her choice of DVD rentals, lemonade and crackers during wine hour, free room service milk and cookies, and plenty of pool toys. She barely wanted to tour around DC with goodies like that. We also requested the traditional Kimpton goldfish for our room, and they were happy to bring up some fish food so she could care for her new buddy.

Additional items:
Philip is a fine concierge, I believe he's available Tuesday through Saturday.
The Dupont Circle Metro stop is about 3 blocks away.

All in all, we had an early summer (short) vacation that was right for our tastes and needs. It'll be real tough for us not to stay at a Kimpton in the future...

Room Tip: Elevators can be slow, and the hotel is very clear about the fact that they're fixing that. Top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing